Originally Posted by jd1020
I suggest you watch the play over and over again. He doesn't signal for infield fly until Kosmos is bailing back to the IF.
You found the 1 guy on earth who agrees with the call and call it gospel.
The rule was put in place to protect the offensive team from the defensive team purposely dropping the ball and turning a double/triple play.
No way was that an infield fly rule. Even the Castro one shouldn't have been called IF fly. It's a flawedly written rule. That doesn't make it a right call. Both of those plays were the OFers ball. How the **** is it possible for that to be an IF fly?
Because that's what the rule says.
If you want to argue that the rule is written poorly (it is), fine. But as written
that's the way that call goes. Infield fly is called on the outfield all the time because the rule is written to allow it (in fact, it mandates
He doesn't get his arm all the way up before Kozma starts forward, but he clearly starts his call right when Kozma sets his feet. Just how quickly do you need him punching at the air when that call is made?