Originally Posted by MagicHef
The receiver caught the ball with one hand, landed with both feet in bounds, stretched the ball over the goal line, and when the ball touched the ground it came out of his hand. The ruling on the field was a TD. The official looked at the replay and confirmed the TD, saying that stretching the ball over the goal line was the "football act" necessary to establish possession. By my eyes, he didn't so much intentionally stretch over the goal line as fall during the process of the catch, which should mean that he needs to retain control through contact with the ground.
There's a video on NFL.com.
That was a poor call. He didn't complete the act of catching through the ground, and breaking the plane has NOTHING to do with that. If you haven't established possession, which you need to do to score the TD, then you haven't broken the plane at all.
I wonder what Perreira (sp?) said about it. Seemed like a poor call to me.