Originally Posted by DaFace
For those of you who didn't watch the Fiesta Bowl, this happened:
Here's the rule:
That's really all I've got. I've just never heard of such a thing, and it's kind of fascinating. Here's a more thorough discussion:
I thought it was relevant that after the ball was blocked, it was recovered in the field of play
by Kansas State who then ran the ball into the end zoner his own power
and tossed the ball to a teammate, who was tackled in the end zone.
Its not clear, but I assume the "safety" part only came into effect because the recovering team took the ball into EZ and was then tackled. If the recovery and tackle were both in the EZ, I don't think its a safety.