Originally Posted by cosmo20002
I thought it was relevant that after the ball was blocked, it was recovered in the field of play by Kansas State who then ran the ball into the end zoner his own power and tossed the ball to a teammate, who was tackled in the end zone.
Its not clear, but I assume the "safety" part only came into effect because the recovering team took the ball into EZ and was then tackled. If the recovery and tackle were both in the EZ, I don't think its a safety.
This is true. The orginal post with the rule is only a partial rule. The deciding factor in a safety/touchback situation is the "force" which put the ball in to the endzone. If the "force" is the kick it is a touchback as is most common. ( Blocked kick rolls in to the endzone and is recovered or goes out of bounds.) In the K-state game, K-state gained possesion in the field of play and then took the ball into the endzone. They were the force that put the ball into the endzone therefore it is a safety. If you are the force that puts the ball into your own endzone you must either advance it out or it is a safety. This is the same parameters that are used throughout the game to determine a safety/touchback. "What is the force that put the ball in to the endzone?"