Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2014, 12:42 PM   Topic Starter
KC Jones KC Jones is offline
Genious
 
KC Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Colorado
Casino cash: $54254
any wireless router recommendations?

My netgear r6300 is out of warranty and has recently been very flaky. Wireless clients are losing internet regularly and a few times I had to reflash the firmware after it was corrupted. I love the functionality of it and overall speed, but if I spend another $200 for the same model and it gets flaky after 1.5 years I'll be pissed.

my desired features:
  • bandwidth & throughput: Household of 4 that streams HD video and plays online games simultaneously. We have PCs, laptops, ipads, ipods, smartphones, etc. on the home network. I'm paying for Comcast's highest speed tier (oh please google fiber come to Denver!)
  • access to change settings & read detailed logs:I've found numerous problems after reviewing security logs and I do like being able to configure various network settings.
  • OpenDNS Need to be able to use this to keep the kids from finding magazines in the woods.
  • scheduling: I like the ability to have the kids devices unavailable for network access throughout the night. Best yet if I can set different schedules for different devices.
  • lan ports: Got 3 devices I like to have wired instead of wireless.
Posts: 5,322
KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 12:51 PM   #2
Detoxing Detoxing is offline
Dyslexic Speed Reader
 
Detoxing's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego
Casino cash: $449758450
Wireless routers are so hit and miss. I use to use a $30 unit and i would be able to play at around 25-30MS, but it would drop the signal more frequently than i'd like. I upgraded to some $175 router with all the bells and whistles. Now i play it at 75-80MS but it rarely drops the signal.

So weird.
__________________
Don't half ass two things. Whole ass one thing.
Posts: 18,751
Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:44 PM   #3
jiveturkey jiveturkey is offline
Captain Kick Ass
 
jiveturkey's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas
Casino cash: $64461
Current wifi technology sucks balls!!!!

I tried a couple of different routers and settled on....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's OK but the signal strength is what's pissing me off. I decided to just use a powerline option to get a signal to my main floor. I also run a 75' cable to my PS4 now.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The other router that I tried was this one....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Signal strength wasn't nearly as good.

**** WIFI!!!!
Posts: 5,415
jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:53 PM   #4
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1105868
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiveturkey View Post
Current wifi technology sucks balls!!!!

I tried a couple of different routers and settled on....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It's OK but the signal strength is what's pissing me off. I decided to just use a powerline option to get a signal to my main floor. I also run a 75' cable to my PS4 now.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The other router that I tried was this one....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Signal strength wasn't nearly as good.

**** WIFI!!!!
N600 really isn't "current" wifi technology. I bought my first N600 router in 2010.
Posts: 60,548
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:01 PM   #5
Just Passin' By Just Passin' By is offline
MVP
 
Just Passin' By's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Casino cash: $4486101
Great question. I'd love to know the opinion on this for someone who uses multiple OSs (Windows, Mac and Linux) of differing versions.
Posts: 8,905
Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Just Passin' By is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:56 PM   #6
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1105868
KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.
Posts: 60,548
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:19 PM   #7
jiveturkey jiveturkey is offline
Captain Kick Ass
 
jiveturkey's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas
Casino cash: $64461
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.
Do you have any suggestions that are stable with stock firmware?
Posts: 5,415
jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 10:03 AM   #8
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1105868
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiveturkey View Post
Do you have any suggestions that are stable with stock firmware?
Not in the AC1900 tier. None of them are perfectly stable with stock firmware.

The RMerlin 3rd party firmware for the AC68U is built off of Asus stock firmware so it has the same look and feel but it isn't stock firmware by any means. It's pretty stable.

On my Linksys WRT1900AC, it's rock solid stable unless I need to change a setting. Doing stuff in the GUI causes it to reboot on occasion but if you leave it alone, it runs just fine.
Posts: 60,548
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:23 AM   #9
jiveturkey jiveturkey is offline
Captain Kick Ass
 
jiveturkey's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas
Casino cash: $64461
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
Not in the AC1900 tier. None of them are perfectly stable with stock firmware.

The RMerlin 3rd party firmware for the AC68U is built off of Asus stock firmware so it has the same look and feel but it isn't stock firmware by any means. It's pretty stable.

On my Linksys WRT1900AC, it's rock solid stable unless I need to change a setting. Doing stuff in the GUI causes it to reboot on occasion but if you leave it alone, it runs just fine.
Thanks

I don't typically mess with them. I set them up and run them until I buy a new one. Range and throughput is all I'm concerned about.
Posts: 5,415
jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.jiveturkey would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 09:34 AM   #10
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1105868
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiveturkey View Post
Thanks

I don't typically mess with them. I set them up and run them until I buy a new one. Range and throughput is all I'm concerned about.
If that's the case, I'd probably recommend the Linksys WRT1900AC. I really like it outside of the problems with the GUI. I'm now at 9 days stable without accessing the GUI which is 4 times longer than what I could normally get with the R7000.
Posts: 60,548
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:59 PM   #11
Pablo Pablo is offline
Howard knows best.
 
Pablo's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Snakebite Nightclub
Casino cash: $49798
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.
Thanks. I'm getting sick of the piece of shit I have and will purchasing a new router within the next month.

Last edited by Pablo; 06-06-2014 at 03:07 PM..
Posts: 17,945
Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Pablo 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 04:03 AM   #12
KC Jones KC Jones is offline
Genious
 
KC Jones's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Colorado
Casino cash: $54254
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
KC Jones,

If you're interested in bleeding edge performance, you can read my reviews of various AC1900 routers here: http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=283889

Be warned, none of them are particularly stable with stock firmware.

If you want detailed logs, you may want to look at the Netgear R7000 with DD-WRT.
Thanks. Looks like DD-WRT doesn't support client access scheduling. Now that I've had that (and been able to prevent my teen & pre-teen from staying up all night on the net), I really don't want to lose it.
__________________
re-sign: to sign again
resign: to withdraw from employment
Posts: 5,322
KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 07:27 AM   #13
unlurking unlurking is offline
Venator
 
unlurking's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Casino cash: $34903
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC Jones View Post
Thanks. Looks like DD-WRT doesn't support client access scheduling. Now that I've had that (and been able to prevent my teen & pre-teen from staying up all night on the net), I really don't want to lose it.
Yes it does. Access Restrictions tab. You can create up to 10 different policies blocking by URL, keyword in the URL, service/app, or blocking WAN access completely. Standard date/time/MAC/IP configuration. It is actually very robust.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...s_Restrictions
__________________

Posts: 7,966
unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.unlurking has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 03:27 PM   #14
KC Jones KC Jones is offline
Genious
 
KC Jones's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Colorado
Casino cash: $54254
Quote:
Originally Posted by unlurking View Post
Yes it does. Access Restrictions tab. You can create up to 10 different policies blocking by URL, keyword in the URL, service/app, or blocking WAN access completely. Standard date/time/MAC/IP configuration. It is actually very robust.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php...s_Restrictions
Awesome! - I spent over an hour pouring through documentation and searching the wiki and could not find it. Must be like when I'm holding my sunglasses and yelling at my kids to see if they have seen them.
__________________
re-sign: to sign again
resign: to withdraw from employment
Posts: 5,322
KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.KC Jones must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 10:04 AM   #15
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1105868
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC Jones View Post
Thanks. Looks like DD-WRT doesn't support client access scheduling. Now that I've had that (and been able to prevent my teen & pre-teen from staying up all night on the net), I really don't want to lose it.
As unlurking mentioned, it DD-WRT supports client scheduling and a whole lot more. Very configurable.
Posts: 60,548
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.