Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Ed & Dave Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 07:25 PM  
CaliforniaChief CaliforniaChief is online now
The Franchise
 
CaliforniaChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: So Cal
Casino cash: $7467
Transfering Applications from Mac-Mac

I've had a Mac Book for a long time, and it's crapping out. My employer got me a refurbished Mac Book with more capability (and now I can put Mavericks, etc on it and have.)

My question is this...is there any way I can transfer my 2008 Microsoft Office applications (Word, Excel, PP, and Entourage) from the old one to the new? I tried using bluetooth and seemed to do it but when I tried to open it got an error message.

Any help in doing this is greatly appreciated.
Posts: 12,511
CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.CaliforniaChief has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 04:35 PM   #16
Ace Gunner Ace Gunner is offline
First Overall
 
Ace Gunner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kcmo
Casino cash: $5097
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
FAT32 filesystems can't support individual files over 4GiB. Doesn't have anything to do with the file transfer.
I use a ton of FAT32 drives to archive because they are much less expensive and I do xfer files larger than 4gb all the time. you can't simply drag files into a FAT32 drive, but you can use ditto -av command in terminal to get around it.
__________________
The Greatest
Posts: 10,388
Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 04:40 PM   #17
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Gunner View Post
I use a ton of FAT32 drives to archive because they are much less expensive and I do xfer files larger than 4gb all the time. you can't simply drag files into a FAT32 drive, but you can use ditto -av command in terminal to get around it.
First of all, magnetic drives themselves don't have a specific filesystem.

A FAT32 drive can be reformatted to NTFS, EXT3/4, XFS, or whatever hell else you want.

A pre-formatted Seagate with NTFS isn't anymore expensive than a Seagate pre-formatted with FAT32.

If you're talking about solid state stuff like USB thumb drives, you shouldn't be formatting them FAT32, you should be formatting them EXFAT, if you're using them with Windows, because it's far more efficient at keeping the drive alive.

Finally, FAT32 cannot store files larger than 4GiB. It is mathematically impossible.

The maximum possible size for a file on a FAT32 volume is 4 GiB minus 1 byte or 4,294,967,295 (232 − 1) bytes. This limit is a consequence of the file length entry in the directory table and would also affect huge FAT16 partitions with a sufficient sector size.[1] Video applications, DVD images, large databases, and some other software easily exceed this limit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Al...on_Table#FAT32
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 06:04 PM   #18
Ace Gunner Ace Gunner is offline
First Overall
 
Ace Gunner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kcmo
Casino cash: $5097
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
First of all, magnetic drives themselves don't have a specific filesystem.

A FAT32 drive can be reformatted to NTFS, EXT3/4, XFS, or whatever hell else you want.

A pre-formatted Seagate with NTFS isn't anymore expensive than a Seagate pre-formatted with FAT32.

If you're talking about solid state stuff like USB thumb drives, you shouldn't be formatting them FAT32, you should be formatting them EXFAT, if you're using them with Windows, because it's far more efficient at keeping the drive alive.

Finally, FAT32 cannot store files larger than 4GiB. It is mathematically impossible.

The maximum possible size for a file on a FAT32 volume is 4 GiB minus 1 byte or 4,294,967,295 (232 − 1) bytes. This limit is a consequence of the file length entry in the directory table and would also affect huge FAT16 partitions with a sufficient sector size.[1] Video applications, DVD images, large databases, and some other software easily exceed this limit.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_Al...on_Table#FAT32
dude, this a mac/unix thread. you're talking windows/dos.
__________________
The Greatest
Posts: 10,388
Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 06:16 PM   #19
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Gunner View Post
dude, this a mac/unix thread. you're talking windows/dos.
FAT stands for "File Allocation Table".

That table is an index that exists in the filesystem itself, regardless of whether you mount it in Windows, Unix, OS X, or anywhere else. All operating systems use FAT32 in exactly the same way. Pointers to files and folders are stored in clusters and those clusters are indexed in the file allocation table.

The file and directory length entries in the index have a limited size and therefore the index cannot accommodate files larger than 4GiB.

You cannot write files larger than 4GiB to a FAT32 filesystem on Windows, OSX, Linux, or any other operating system. It's a limitation of the filesystem itself.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 06:20 PM   #20
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Here's a thread from a person who swore their Lacie external HDD, formatted FAT32, could store a 30GB virtual machine image.

The problem is that a VM image is not a "file", it's actually a folder or bundle.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=477728
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 06:42 PM   #21
Ace Gunner Ace Gunner is offline
First Overall
 
Ace Gunner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kcmo
Casino cash: $5097
hmm, well, I recall figuring a way through terminal to get larger files copied to drive without reformatting. I have somebody else doing this now, but I'll look for my notes on it.
__________________
The Greatest
Posts: 10,388
Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 06:47 PM   #22
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Gunner View Post
hmm, well, I recall figuring a way through terminal to get larger files copied to drive without reformatting. I have somebody else doing this now, but I'll look for my notes on it.
Well, you did say you were "archiving" or doing backups, right?

It's entirely possible that your archive looks like a file but is actually a bundle of files in a wrapper. I'm guessing that's the case. Similar to the guy on that Mac rumors post.

At any rate, it doesn't really matter. I'm not trying to bust your chops or anything. Just making sure the information is out there.

You shouldn't be using FAT32, it's gross.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:01 PM   #23
Pitt Gorilla Pitt Gorilla is offline
Banned!
 
Pitt Gorilla's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: NOT Columbia, MO 65201
Casino cash: $6828
Can't you use a time machine backup and restore?
__________________

That rabbit is crazy; I'm Brian Waters!

Kotter: "You are lucky I'm truly not the vindictive or psycho type...I'd be careful from now on, and I'd just back the hell off if I were you....otherwise, the Mizzou "extension office" life might get exciting"

Kotter: "You're just gay. G-A-Y. Gay."
Posts: 21,339
Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.Pitt Gorilla is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 09:13 PM   #24
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitt Gorilla View Post
Can't you use a time machine backup and restore?
You can but there are things to consider. I backup to NAS for everything. The way time machine works the preset size limit of the sparse bundle is equal to the size of the volume. So Time Machine will eventually fill up whatever drive you put it on. Not a big deal for a single purpose drive but absolutely sucks if you use a NAS, have multiple user directories on the drive, or use the drive to store media or other files.

There's a ton of tweaks you can do but in the end I opted for a FireWire 800 enclosure and a 200GB drive. Trying to backup directly to NAS and limit the size of the sparsebundle was just too problematic. It got over 400GB at one point. Now I run Time Machine on the local FireWire drive and then make an image of the entire disk once a month and copy it to NAS.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.