Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2013, 12:15 PM  
Frankie Frankie is offline
Banned
 
Frankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Casino cash: $163018
Recommend HDMI-to-SVIdeo convertor

My projector is set up for S-Video as its best means of video connection. My new Bluray/DVD player does not have a S-Video port. But it has an HDMI one. Sine that port is being used on the HDTV on the wall I need to buy the next two items to make my projector operational again:

1- An HDMI splitter that will allow me a second HDMI port for the projector.

2- An HDMI-to-SVideo convertor for the projector.

Please advise on the pitfalls to avoid in ordering them online. I have found a range of prices and want to get the best for the buck. I hate going cheap and finding my projection quality suffer. On the other hand I don't want to spend more than I should to get good results. Do you have any brands/models to recommend? If the quality and the price are direct functions of each other what's the price range I should expect?

Thanks
Posts: 27,013
Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:35 AM   #16
KChiefer KChiefer is offline
Fantastic Planeteer
 
KChiefer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Casino cash: $999199
Heh yeah, if that's a dvi port, get a hdmi-to-dvi cord.
Posts: 4,750
KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:03 AM   #17
loochy loochy is offline
That's what she said.
 
loochy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: TECKSIS
Casino cash: $440834079
Quote:
Originally Posted by KChiefer View Post
Heh yeah, if that's a dvi port, get a hdmi-to-dvi cord.
won't he still have HDCP issues if hes playing a blu ray?

also, will going from the HDMI disable the other sound output from the blu ray? If so, how will he get sound?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by big nasty kcnut View Post
yeah i may be a retard but I'll be the one banging your girlfriend when you're out with your friends.
Posts: 17,870
loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:07 AM   #18
Frankie Frankie is offline
Banned
 
Frankie's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Casino cash: $163018
Quote:
Originally Posted by loochy View Post
Just use the RCA. It's simple and I bet you already have the necessary cables. I never noticed a difference between that and RCA and component on low definition devices anyway.
Here's how I look at it. At the movie theater you actually don't get the sharpest resolution. I always detect some graininess or fuzziness on the screen. All I want is a projected picture like in a movie theater. Buying a new projector is not an option for the next few years. After remodeling my house we have too many upgraded/new furniture and appliances on payment. Plus the new 55" LG Cinema 3D HDTV and the corresponding Blu-Ray/DVD player.

SO, if RCA will do the job enough for a real theater quality picture I will do it. I suppose the RCA cables differ in gauge and I should perhaps get the best. Right?

Additionally, I just wanted to ****ing avoid the fishing the RCA cable up a wall and across the attic. Looks like I now have to do that.

Thanks for all the advice. If more comes to your mind please post them.
Posts: 27,013
Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:10 AM   #19
Frankie Frankie is offline
Banned
 
Frankie's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Casino cash: $163018
Quote:
Originally Posted by loochy View Post
won't he still have HDCP issues if hes playing a blu ray?

also, will going from the HDMI disable the other sound output from the blu ray? If so, how will he get sound?
The sound will not be through the projector. It'll be through the connection between the DVD player and the surround receiver.
Posts: 27,013
Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:11 AM   #20
KChiefer KChiefer is offline
Fantastic Planeteer
 
KChiefer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Casino cash: $999199
Quote:
Originally Posted by loochy View Post
won't he still have HDCP issues if hes playing a blu ray?

also, will going from the HDMI disable the other sound output from the blu ray? If so, how will he get sound?
I doubt he'll have a HDCP issue. Hell I barely know what HDCP is as I've never had it be a problem. FWIW, DVI is listed on the HDCP wiki.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High-ba...ent_Protection

As far as the sound, I'd hope that some other type of audio out would still work. Don't know until you try it I guess.
Posts: 4,750
KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:13 AM   #21
DaFace DaFace is offline
Version 3.0
 
DaFace's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Donkey Land
Casino cash: $657493
Quote:
Originally Posted by loochy View Post
won't he still have HDCP issues if hes playing a blu ray?

also, will going from the HDMI disable the other sound output from the blu ray? If so, how will he get sound?
I know nothing of the HDCP issues, so I can't speak to that. I'd bet he can run sound through the RCA connections, though. That's typically the way it's set up in my experience.
Posts: 27,743
DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:15 AM   #22
Chazno Chazno is offline
Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: asdf
Casino cash: $29699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie View Post
Here's how I look at it. At the movie theater you actually don't get the sharpest resolution. I always detect some graininess or fuzziness on the screen. All I want is a projected picture like in a movie theater. Buying a new projector is not an option for the next few years. After remodeling my house we have too many upgraded/new furniture and appliances on payment. Plus the new 55" LG Cinema 3D HDTV and the corresponding Blu-Ray/DVD player.

SO, if RCA will do the job enough for a real theater quality picture I will do it. I suppose the RCA cables differ in gauge and I should perhaps get the best. Right?

Additionally, I just wanted to ****ing avoid the fishing the RCA cable up a wall and across the attic. Looks like I now have to do that.

Thanks for all the advice. If more comes to your mind please post them.
You should consider running HDMI or cat 6 for down the road at the same time
Posts: 348
Chazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutChazno is the dumbass Milkman is always talking about
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:18 AM   #23
KChiefer KChiefer is offline
Fantastic Planeteer
 
KChiefer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Casino cash: $999199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chazno View Post
You should consider running HDMI or cat 6 for down the road at the same time
Yeah, he could actually run a normal hdmi cable and buy a hdmi-to-dvi converter and then just remove the converter later if he gets an hdmi projector.

Like this, just make sure to get the right male/female combo.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2



Doing a quick search of HDCP, it seems like it's only an issue if one of the devices isn't HDCP compliant, which would likely be the projector which means it would be an outdated POS.

Last edited by KChiefer; 02-11-2013 at 09:32 AM..
Posts: 4,750
KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:44 AM   #24
Frankie Frankie is offline
Banned
 
Frankie's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Casino cash: $163018
Quote:
Originally Posted by KChiefer View Post
Doing a quick search of HDCP, it seems like it's only an issue if one of the devices isn't HDCP compliant, which would likely be the projector which means it would be an outdated POS.
How can I check that? Is there a website that would tell me this if typed in the make and the model of my projector?

Or maybe call InFocus (the projector brand) and ask them?

BTW, many thanks for the link.
Posts: 27,013
Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.Frankie is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:51 AM   #25
KChiefer KChiefer is offline
Fantastic Planeteer
 
KChiefer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Champaign, IL
Casino cash: $999199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie View Post
How can I check that? Is there a website that would tell me this if typed in the make and the model of my projector?

Or maybe call InFocus (the projector brand) and ask them?

BTW, many thanks for the link.
Yeah, look for the model # on the unit and you should be able to find specs online. Or google "model # + HDCP" and someone will likely have asked this question on some av forum. Or if you can find the manufacture date, you'd likely be able to rule out that it's not HDCP compliant if it's made after "X" date. HDCP really only seems like an issue for products made when digital media was coming of age. Or sure giving them a call couldn't hurt.

PS: Also best to buy your HDMI cable from monoprice or an online equivalent. If you've never heard, hdmi cable prices at places like Worst Buy are a rip off.

Last edited by KChiefer; 02-11-2013 at 09:58 AM..
Posts: 4,750
KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.KChiefer wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.