Home Mail Chat Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2008, 12:24 AM  
irishjayhawk irishjayhawk is offline
Feelin' Alright
 
irishjayhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Casino cash: $5000
UCLA Game

I just watched the Sportcenter recap of the game. Holy shit that's the worst officiating ever.

The out of bounds call was ridiculous in and of itself but then the rule book says:

"It shall be ruled out of bounds [if ball is shot over backboard from behind]"


Yet conference official said that since it was the CORNER of the backboard it counts. That's not what the rule says.

Damn what a screw job in a season of officials winning games for teams.
Posts: 16,887
irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.irishjayhawk is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 06:23 AM   #16
chief52 chief52 is offline
Veteran
 
chief52's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NoCal
Casino cash: $5360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Muntz View Post
Well here's another example for you. Lets say the Chiefs are leading by 34 points in a Super Bowl at the start of the fourth quarter and give up 4 touchdowns in that fourth quarter leading up to this play with 1 minute left. Croyle steps back to throw and before the ball gets to the reciever, a db clearly levels the reciever while the safety picks the ball off and returns it for a touchdown, but theres no penalty called. I agree the Chiefs should have never been in that position, but is it their fault the officials missed a blatant PI call?
The way I look at it, it would be the part of the Chiefs for letting the lead slip away. You have to take responsibility for blowing the lead. There is an entire game. Taking one call, even if it is late, and blaming it for a loss is not right. There are thousands of events/calls in a game. Blaming the officials is lame. They are a part of the game.
Posts: 3,116
chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 11:49 AM   #17
epitome1170 epitome1170 is offline
CP's Resident S.E.
 
epitome1170's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Olathe, KS
Casino cash: $12560
Quote:
Originally Posted by chief52 View Post
The way I look at it, it would be the part of the Chiefs for letting the lead slip away. You have to take responsibility for blowing the lead. There is an entire game. Taking one call, even if it is late, and blaming it for a loss is not right. There are thousands of events/calls in a game. Blaming the officials is lame. They are a part of the game.
In a game you had a big lead, I would agree with you. However, in this particular game decided by the smallest margin, I will disagree. There were three blown calls all in favor of UCLA within a matter of 15 seconds. In a hard fought game it is a shame that the officials ruin it. We have seen it too many times this year.

This game just made me realize though that the PAC 10 has the worst officiating in all of the NCAA in both football and basketball.
Posts: 865
epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.epitome1170 is not part of the Right 53.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 12:47 PM   #18
BigRock BigRock is offline
Pritay Pritay Pritay Good
 
BigRock's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The State of Euphoria
Casino cash: $15512
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Muntz View Post
Well here's another example for you. Lets say the Chiefs are leading by 34 points in a Super Bowl at the start of the fourth quarter and give up 4 touchdowns in that fourth quarter leading up to this play with 1 minute left. Croyle steps back to throw and before the ball gets to the reciever, a db clearly levels the reciever while the safety picks the ball off and returns it for a touchdown, but theres no penalty called. I agree the Chiefs should have never been in that position, but is it their fault the officials missed a blatant PI call?
You know what's sad is that's actually happened. I don't remember the exact circumstances, but Amy Trask of the Raiders once raised that issue with Paul Tagliabue, complaining about a poor referee's call that cost Oakland a game.

And Tags was like "Well, if your team hadn't turned it over three times, blah blah blah", basically taking the refs off the hook for blowing a game-deciding call.

And that logic sucks. Even if a team hadn't made a single mistake all game long, someone could just as easily say "Well, if they would have scored more points, the ref's bad call wouldn't have mattered". Or "if they hadn't let the other team score as many points, it wouldn't have mattered".

The "if" defense is BS. All that should matter is what's happening at the moment the referee makes the call.
Posts: 6,110
BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 02:25 PM   #19
RockChalk RockChalk is offline
Dirty Bit
 
RockChalk's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lake of the Woods
Casino cash: $13054
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelson Muntz View Post
Well here's another example for you. Lets say the Chiefs are leading by 34 points in a Super Bowl at the start of the fourth quarter and give up 4 touchdowns in that fourth quarter leading up to this play with 1 minute left. Croyle steps back to throw and before the ball gets to the reciever, a db clearly levels the reciever while the safety picks the ball off and returns it for a touchdown, but theres no penalty called. I agree the Chiefs should have never been in that position, but is it their fault the officials missed a blatant PI call?
this is flawed...i can't foresee the chiefs ever being up 34 points with herm as coach, let alone in the super bowl
Posts: 5,708
RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.RockChalk is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 05:05 PM   #20
Boyceofsummer Boyceofsummer is offline
That Doyle, he's a mean-un
 
Boyceofsummer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Salina, Kansas
Casino cash: $5000
I agree, if shoot from inbounds on court...................

Quote:
Originally Posted by chief52 View Post
I do not know why they put that rule in anyway. Why not let them throw it over from behind... It is not like it is an easy shot to make.
regardless of the back-board. The shot should count.
__________________
ALL YOU GIMPS & RETARDS..........GET THE **** OUT!
Posts: 970
Boyceofsummer Loves all of Deberg's threads.Boyceofsummer Loves all of Deberg's threads.Boyceofsummer Loves all of Deberg's threads.Boyceofsummer Loves all of Deberg's threads.Boyceofsummer Loves all of Deberg's threads.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
Fort Worth Texas Process Servers
Covering Arlington, Fort Worth, Grand Prairie and surrounding communities.
Tarrant County, Texas and Johnson County, Texas.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.