Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Ed & Dave Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2005, 05:43 PM  
Dartgod Dartgod is online now
Wasted away again...
 
Dartgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $387892607
Internet connection problem

I hope someone knows what's causing this.

I have Road Runner cable internet that runs to a Motorola wireless router. All the proper lights are lit on my cable modem and my home PC is connected via a LAN cable. After the computer sits idle for a long period (couple of hours or so) I lose my internet connection. Any web site I go to returns a DNS error. If I reboot, everything works fine. I'm pretty sure the problem is in the PC, but I can't figure it out.

Any of you fellow geeks have any ideas?
Posts: 32,815
Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 05:58 PM   #2
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $446162
sounds like a firewall of some kind with a automatic time lock of some kind.



you zone alarm or something running?
Posts: 81,682
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 06:12 PM   #3
Dartgod Dartgod is online now
Wasted away again...
 
Dartgod's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $387892607
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazarus
sounds like a firewall of some kind with a automatic time lock of some kind.



you zone alarm or something running?
Yes, on the Zone Alarm. I've never had a problem before. Now that I think about it, it might have started when I added the wireless router a couple of months ago. I'm looking at the configuration now.

Firewall on router was enabled. I've disabled it. Maybe that was it?
__________________
.
.


<a href=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=275537 target=_blank><img src=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/signaturepics/sigpic126_7.gif border=0 alt= /></a>
Posts: 32,815
Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 06:42 PM   #4
Count Zarth Count Zarth is online now
Emperor of the Universe
 
Count Zarth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Casino cash: $10244114
If you have your wireless router set up correctly, you can ditch Zone Alarm. That's like having a wood door behind a wall of steel 6 inches thick.
Posts: 165,876
Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 10:06 AM   #5
Dartgod Dartgod is online now
Wasted away again...
 
Dartgod's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $387892607
Still having the problem. I left my computer on all night and this morning could not browse the internet, get email, etc. If I try to ping a web site it comes back host not found. I recycleed my router and no help. I should have recycled the modem but didn't. I'll try that next time. Anyone else have any thoughts?
__________________
.
.


<a href=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=275537 target=_blank><img src=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/signaturepics/sigpic126_7.gif border=0 alt= /></a>
Posts: 32,815
Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 10:11 AM   #6
nmt1 nmt1 is offline
Veteran
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Casino cash: $1025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartgod
Still having the problem. I left my computer on all night and this morning could not browse the internet, get email, etc. If I try to ping a web site it comes back host not found. I recycleed my router and no help. I should have recycled the modem but didn't. I'll try that next time. Anyone else have any thoughts?
I would guess you could probably get away with just power cycling the router. Go to Motorola's site and see if they have a firmware update for the router. Also, check their support knowledgebase to see if anyone else is experiencing the problem. One other thing to try is unplug the router and plug the PC directly into the modem. You'll have to get the mac address re-registered with your ISP but it'll help you see if it's the router or modem. Probably not the PC.
Posts: 1,735
nmt1 is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.nmt1 is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 11:23 AM   #7
Dartgod Dartgod is online now
Wasted away again...
 
Dartgod's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $387892607
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmt1
I would guess you could probably get away with just power cycling the router. Go to Motorola's site and see if they have a firmware update for the router. Also, check their support knowledgebase to see if anyone else is experiencing the problem. One other thing to try is unplug the router and plug the PC directly into the modem. You'll have to get the mac address re-registered with your ISP but it'll help you see if it's the router or modem. Probably not the PC.
Yeah, I'll have to try that stuff. I already thought about bypassing the router, but I didn't have enough time this morning. One problem is after moving the cable over, I have to power recycle the modem to clear the MAC address and reboot the PC , but rebooting fixes my problem. Then I have to wait another few hours for the problem to re-appear.

Oh, and I already tried power recycling the router. It didn't help. I wish to hell I would have tried recycling the modem this morning.
__________________
.
.


<a href=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=275537 target=_blank><img src=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/signaturepics/sigpic126_7.gif border=0 alt= /></a>
Posts: 32,815
Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 11:55 AM   #8
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $446162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartgod
Yeah, I'll have to try that stuff. I already thought about bypassing the router, but I didn't have enough time this morning. One problem is after moving the cable over, I have to power recycle the modem to clear the MAC address and reboot the PC , but rebooting fixes my problem. Then I have to wait another few hours for the problem to re-appear.

Oh, and I already tried power recycling the router. It didn't help. I wish to hell I would have tried recycling the modem this morning.
i suggest isolating the problem first


can you take the router outa of the loop and see if it still does it

uninstall zone alarm firewall program from you computer and see if it does it

did you install SP2? does the service pack firewall have a "timer" on it?



if all those things don't effect it, i would think it might be a bad modem



(imo still sounds like time lock firewall some place)
Posts: 81,682
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 12:15 PM   #9
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $593794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartgod
I hope someone knows what's causing this.

I have Road Runner cable internet that runs to a Motorola wireless router. All the proper lights are lit on my cable modem and my home PC is connected via a LAN cable. After the computer sits idle for a long period (couple of hours or so) I lose my internet connection. Any web site I go to returns a DNS error. If I reboot, everything works fine. I'm pretty sure the problem is in the PC, but I can't figure it out.

Any of you fellow geeks have any ideas?
a really big hammer...
Posts: 30,001
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 05:55 PM   #10
nmt1 nmt1 is offline
Veteran
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Casino cash: $1025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartgod
Yeah, I'll have to try that stuff. I already thought about bypassing the router, but I didn't have enough time this morning. One problem is after moving the cable over, I have to power recycle the modem to clear the MAC address and reboot the PC , but rebooting fixes my problem. Then I have to wait another few hours for the problem to re-appear.

Oh, and I already tried power recycling the router. It didn't help. I wish to hell I would have tried recycling the modem this morning.
Well, I have to power cycle my cable modem every once in a while. My brother has to power cycle his almost every day. It's a pain for sure. I never had that problem when I had DSL.
If the problem comes back after you take the router out of the loop then I suggest trying another cable modem. If you're renting your modem from the cable company, call them and tell them to send you another one. If not, you'll have to plunk down some bucks I guess.
You could try a different NIC card in your PC but I really doubt that's the problem.
Posts: 1,735
nmt1 is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.nmt1 is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 08:32 PM   #11
Dartgod Dartgod is online now
Wasted away again...
 
Dartgod's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $387892607
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmt1
Well, I have to power cycle my cable modem every once in a while. My brother has to power cycle his almost every day. It's a pain for sure. I never had that problem when I had DSL.
If the problem comes back after you take the router out of the loop then I suggest trying another cable modem. If you're renting your modem from the cable company, call them and tell them to send you another one. If not, you'll have to plunk down some bucks I guess.
You could try a different NIC card in your PC but I really doubt that's the problem.
Well, the router is out of the loop now. I'll know tomorrow morning if it that's it.
__________________
.
.


<a href=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=275537 target=_blank><img src=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/signaturepics/sigpic126_7.gif border=0 alt= /></a>
Posts: 32,815
Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 09:24 PM   #12
jspchief jspchief is offline
BAMF
 
jspchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Your Face
Casino cash: $60771
I have the same problem with my DSL router. At least once a day I have to restart my computer to get it to work again. I used to just be able to cycle the power on the unit, but that doesn't work anymore. This is the second one I've gotten from the company. It pisses me off, but I've learned to accept it as a part of life because I refuse to give my business to the alternate source for high speed.
__________________
Courage is not the absence of fear but rather the judgment that something is more important than fear.
The brave may not live forever but the cautious do not live at all.
Posts: 24,001
jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2005, 09:40 PM   #13
Miles Miles is offline
MVP
 
Miles's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Casino cash: $4934
I have the exact same problem and i havent found a solution yet. It started after i added a wireless router. I have check all of the setting numerous time and cant find something that prevents it. I end up rebooting my computer once or twice a day. Definitly a pain in the ass.
Posts: 12,269
Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 05:25 AM   #14
Dartgod Dartgod is online now
Wasted away again...
 
Dartgod's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $387892607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miles
I have the exact same problem and i havent found a solution yet. It started after i added a wireless router. I have check all of the setting numerous time and cant find something that prevents it. I end up rebooting my computer once or twice a day. Definitly a pain in the ass.
Apparently it's the wireless router. I ran straight from the cable modem to the PC and left it on all night and its still working this morning.

Thanks for all the tips. Now I've just got to find out why the router is doing this. Firmware upgrade or configuration settings I suupose.
__________________
.
.


<a href=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=275537 target=_blank><img src=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/signaturepics/sigpic126_7.gif border=0 alt= /></a>
Posts: 32,815
Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2005, 06:01 AM   #15
nmt1 nmt1 is offline
Veteran
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Casino cash: $1025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dartgod
Apparently it's the wireless router. I ran straight from the cable modem to the PC and left it on all night and its still working this morning.

Thanks for all the tips. Now I've just got to find out why the router is doing this. Firmware upgrade or configuration settings I suupose.
Check to see if it's under warranty. If so, get them to send you a new one. If not, upgrade firmware. Send their tech support an email about the problem. It may take them a while to get back to you but they usually do eventually.
Posts: 1,735
nmt1 is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.nmt1 is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.