Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The GET IN MAH BELLY! Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2005, 02:27 PM  
theultimatekcchiefsfan theultimatekcchiefsfan is offline
I am currently playing this
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Arrowhead,USA
Casino cash: $2831
usr 8054 router LAN LIGHT Question

I have my main computer connected to LAN Port 1 by ethernet.

I have my second computer connected to Lan Port 2 by ethernet.

My Laptop is using the wireless connection.


My Lan Port 1 light remains green even after the main desktop computer is shutdown. Lan Port 2 green light goes off when I shut down computer # 2. (like I think they are supposed to)

I thought this should shut off, when the computer is off. I do not have my computers networked where they can share. They are just individual connections.

Should I be worried. Is someone connected on my connection or what?

Thanks Ultimate
Posts: 1,257
theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 02:33 PM   #2
Count Zarth Count Zarth is offline
Emperor of the Universe
 
Count Zarth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Casino cash: $10239410
Check your router logs, that should tell you.

The router status page should show all the IPs connected to your wireless router as well.

Is your wireless network encrypted? It needs to be.
Posts: 165,225
Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.Count Zarth is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 04:21 PM   #3
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
The light stays on because the LAN connection is on standby.

Go into the BIOS for main computer and turn off the "Wake on LAN" feature.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 09:47 PM   #4
theultimatekcchiefsfan theultimatekcchiefsfan is offline
I am currently playing this
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Arrowhead,USA
Casino cash: $2831
All I can find in BIOS is ACPI/Wake on PCIME. This was set to Power on, I changed to "Stay Off".

didnt fix problem.

Went to device manager and disabled "wake on settings" still no change. I set both these values back to normal now.

I believe we are on the right track, but it still isnt fixed.
__________________
Posts: 1,257
theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 09:55 PM   #5
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by theultimatekcchiefsfan
All I can find in BIOS is ACPI/Wake on PCIME. This was set to Power on, I changed to "Stay Off".

didnt fix problem.

Went to device manager and disabled "wake on settings" still no change. I set both these values back to normal now.

I believe we are on the right track, but it still isnt fixed.
Don't know what to tell you man. It sounds like your Wake on LAN is on.

Other than it being annoying, why are you worried about it? If your PC is off, and you have that stuff disabled, your PC isn't at any risk.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 10:02 PM   #6
KCWolfman KCWolfman is offline
Fall down 7 times, get up 8
 
KCWolfman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $9182
format c:

It is the only thing that will work. Do it to every PC in your home before they all become infected.
__________________
How strangely will the Tools of a Tyrant pervert the plain Meaning of Words!
Samuel Adams
Posts: 15,465
KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 06:39 AM   #7
Dartgod Dartgod is offline
Wasted away again...
 
Dartgod's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: in Margaritaville
Casino cash: $387890472
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCWolfman
format c:

It is the only thing that will work. Do it to every PC in your home before they all become infected.
Send me all your pr0n first.
__________________
.
.


<a href=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/showthread.php?t=275537 target=_blank><img src=http://www.chiefsplanet.com/BB/signaturepics/sigpic126_7.gif border=0 alt= /></a>
Posts: 32,596
Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.Dartgod is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:18 PM   #8
XXXshogunXXX XXXshogunXXX is offline
Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Diego
Casino cash: $13655
When you unplug the port from LAN 1, does the light turn off? and...you dont have to worry about wireless connecting through that port. Wireless doesnt effect any of the LAN ports. If the LAN port stays lit when it is disconnected..then the router is ****ed up.
Posts: 651
XXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < Cassel
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 06:23 PM   #9
Lzen Lzen is offline
MVP
 
Lzen's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Topeka
Casino cash: $140157
Quote:
Originally Posted by XXXshogunXXX
When you unplug the port from LAN 1, does the light turn off? and...you dont have to worry about wireless connecting through that port. Wireless doesnt effect any of the LAN ports. If the LAN port stays lit when it is disconnected..then the router is ****ed up.
I'm pretty sure a wireless could access other computers on the LAN if they were set to share. Although he said his LAN isn't setup that way.
__________________
I haven't seen a beatin' like that since somebody stuck a banana in my pants and turned a monkey loose.
Posts: 30,116
Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Lzen is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 07:23 PM   #10
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by XXXshogunXXX
When you unplug the port from LAN 1, does the light turn off? and...you dont have to worry about wireless connecting through that port. Wireless doesnt effect any of the LAN ports. If the LAN port stays lit when it is disconnected..then the router is ****ed up.
It's possible that the router/switch has the ability to "hard set" autonegotiate.

With some enterprise workgroup switches (Cisco and Nortel) if you hard set the ports to 100/full, the light will stay on all the time, even if there's nothing connected to the port.

And like I said before, if the computer attached to that port is powered off, there's zero vulnerability/risk...
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 10:56 PM   #11
XXXshogunXXX XXXshogunXXX is offline
Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Diego
Casino cash: $13655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lzen
I'm pretty sure a wireless could access other computers on the LAN if they were set to share. Although he said his LAN isn't setup that way.
But the wireless connection wouldnt affect the lights on the LAN ports. They are stricly for wired connections.
Posts: 651
XXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < Cassel
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 11:00 PM   #12
XXXshogunXXX XXXshogunXXX is offline
Starter
 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Diego
Casino cash: $13655
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe
It's possible that the router/switch has the ability to "hard set" autonegotiate.

With some enterprise workgroup switches (Cisco and Nortel) if you hard set the ports to 100/full, the light will stay on all the time, even if there's nothing connected to the port.

And like I said before, if the computer attached to that port is powered off, there's zero vulnerability/risk...
Ive never herad of that with a home router. if the light stays on when its unplugged, then its probably just a bad light on the router. The computer looks like its working with the light on or off, so its just a small issue. Why fix it if its not broken. Id just leave it alone.
Posts: 651
XXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < CasselXXXshogunXXX < Cassel
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2005, 05:19 AM   #13
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by XXXshogunXXX
Ive never herad of that with a home router. if the light stays on when its unplugged, then its probably just a bad light on the router. The computer looks like its working with the light on or off, so its just a small issue. Why fix it if its not broken. Id just leave it alone.
I've never heard of it with a home router either, but I'm running out of ideas of what it might be.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 09:13 PM   #14
theultimatekcchiefsfan theultimatekcchiefsfan is offline
I am currently playing this
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Arrowhead,USA
Casino cash: $2831
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCWolfman
format c:

It is the only thing that will work. Do it to every PC in your home before they all become infected.

Believe it or not reformatted and fixed that problem. Also I fixed that damn usb 2.0 problem too............
__________________
Posts: 1,257
theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.theultimatekcchiefsfan is a favorite in the douche of the year contest.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 05:50 PM   #15
KCWolfman KCWolfman is offline
Fall down 7 times, get up 8
 
KCWolfman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $9182
Quote:
Originally Posted by theultimatekcchiefsfan
Believe it or not reformatted and fixed that problem. Also I fixed that damn usb 2.0 problem too............
DAMN YOU!!!! Damn your backups all to hell!!!



Seriously, I wipe my drive about once every 2 years. Does it help? I don't know, but in conjunction with other precautions I take, I usually don't have issues.
__________________
How strangely will the Tools of a Tyrant pervert the plain Meaning of Words!
Samuel Adams
Posts: 15,465
KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.KCWolfman would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.