Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2006, 07:02 AM  
Bob Dole Bob Dole is offline
King Shit of **** Mountain
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Casino cash: $93586
Advice: DirecTV problems

Got the second Tivo installed last week and now both it and the original Tivo claim to be "searching for signal" when Bob Dole tries to view any of the local channels.

Oval 3 LNB dish has 4 lines coming out to a 4 into 8 multiswitch. 2 out to one Tivo, 2 out to another Tivo, 5th out to a regular DTV receiver, other 3 outs are vacant.

Been back through the guided setup multiple times and cannot resolve the problem. Seems like whichever Tivo is set up first will find signal on all three birds, but the second one will fail on one of them. A, B and C are also listed in different order on each box.

Is the multiswitch crap, or is there another issue? To be honest, Bob Dole still is not sure why there are 4 cables coming out of a 3 LNB dish...
Posts: 31,202
Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 10:46 AM   #2
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $443255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Dole
To be honest, Bob Dole still is not sure why there are 4 cables coming out of a 3 LNB dish...
prolly cause your tivo has 2 tuners

should have 2 coax inputs on the back of your tivo so each tuner has it's own signal and you can record/watch separately
Posts: 81,242
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 10:47 AM   #3
Bob Dole Bob Dole is offline
King Shit of **** Mountain
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Casino cash: $93586
Bob Dole is going to be pissed if he can't record Boston Legal...
Posts: 31,202
Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 10:50 AM   #4
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $443255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Dole
Bob Dole is going to be pissed if he can't record Boston Legal...
sounds like they don't like that switch to me


you have to call and activate a new unit as well
Posts: 81,242
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 10:57 AM   #5
Simply Red Simply Red is offline
SNR's battery back-up
 
Simply Red's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N Dem Skinz
Casino cash: $1068701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Dole
Got the second Tivo installed last week and now both it and the original Tivo claim to be "searching for signal" when Bob Dole tries to view any of the local channels.

Oval 3 LNB dish has 4 lines coming out to a 4 into 8 multiswitch. 2 out to one Tivo, 2 out to another Tivo, 5th out to a regular DTV receiver, other 3 outs are vacant.

Been back through the guided setup multiple times and cannot resolve the problem. Seems like whichever Tivo is set up first will find signal on all three birds, but the second one will fail on one of them. A, B and C are also listed in different order on each box.

Is the multiswitch crap, or is there another issue? To be honest, Bob Dole still is not sure why there are 4 cables coming out of a 3 LNB dish...
Well, uhh. You could call DTV if you have like, uhh... 2-hours to hold.
Posts: 39,990
Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.Simply Red is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:16 AM   #6
Bacon Cheeseburger Bacon Cheeseburger is offline
With no ****ing ketchup
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $407307
And some of you people laugh at those of us who are still hanging on to our VCRs.
Posts: 52,171
Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.Bacon Cheeseburger 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:23 AM   #7
greg63 greg63 is offline
Homer go crazy!!!
 
greg63's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SE Kansas
Casino cash: $15270
Calling Skiptowne!
__________________
Posts: 17,083
greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.greg63 has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:24 AM   #8
jidar jidar is offline
MVP
 
jidar's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: a
Casino cash: $25256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugeater
And some of you people laugh at those of us who are still hanging on to our VCRs.
Tivo is great. If you had one, you'd laugh at vcrs too.
Posts: 5,502
jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.jidar is not part of the Right 53.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:31 AM   #9
go bowe go bowe is offline
bye bye bo...
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $592909
Quote:
Originally Posted by jidar
Tivo is great. If you had one, you'd laugh at vcrs too.
even old dogs agree - dvr's are da bomb...
Posts: 29,906
go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.go bowe 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:52 AM   #10
Joe Seahawk Joe Seahawk is offline
This place entertains..
 
Joe Seahawk's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Seattle
Casino cash: $56755
Just an fyi. I had a bad 4X8 switch that was causing the same problem.. Try plugging your inputs into different ports on the switch to troubleshoot it.. Good luck.
Posts: 5,197
Joe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliJoe Seahawk 's adopt a chief was Sabby Piscitelli
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:23 PM   #11
Bob Dole Bob Dole is offline
King Shit of **** Mountain
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Casino cash: $93586
The new card was activated.

Haven't called precisely because Bob Dole doesn't want the 2-hour hold aggravation.

Still not sure how 3 comes out 4.

Going to try different output ports.

Last edited by Bob Dole; 03-07-2006 at 12:31 PM..
Posts: 31,202
Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:39 PM   #12
Bob Dole Bob Dole is offline
King Shit of **** Mountain
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Casino cash: $93586
Just piddling around with the non-Tivo unit and discovered signal problems (none) with the odd numbered transponders on the bird at 119 degrees, weak signal on 110 (66-73) and 92+ on 101.

Bob Dole thinks maybe it's a bad switch all the way around.
Posts: 31,202
Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 12:55 PM   #13
Skip Towne Skip Towne is offline
Supporter
 
Skip Towne's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: T-Town
Casino cash: $1109186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Dole
Just piddling around with the non-Tivo unit and discovered signal problems (none) with the odd numbered transponders on the bird at 119 degrees, weak signal on 110 (66-73) and 92+ on 101.

Bob Dole thinks maybe it's a bad switch all the way around.
It sounds like an incompatible multi switch to me. You have to use a cascadable multi switch since there is already a multiswitch in the LNB head. The fact that the triple LNB "sees" three birds has nothing to do with how many cables are hooked to it. All the muliswitch does is allow you more outlets. You can keep cascading multiswitches and wire up a hotel if you want to.
Posts: 69,672
Skip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < Cassel
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 01:04 PM   #14
Bob Dole Bob Dole is offline
King Shit of **** Mountain
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Casino cash: $93586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip Towne
It sounds like an incompatible multi switch to me. You have to use a cascadable multi switch since there is already a multiswitch in the LNB head. The fact that the triple LNB "sees" three birds has nothing to do with how many cables are hooked to it. All the muliswitch does is allow you more outlets. You can keep cascading multiswitches and wire up a hotel if you want to.
Zinwell SAM-4803 4x8 multiswitch labelled "compatible with DIRECTV dish antenna, 18"x24" and 18"x20" multi-satellite dish antenna" and supplied and installed by a DirecTV tech.

The thing worked fine for the first 6 hours or so, then things have been flaky ever since.
Posts: 31,202
Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Bob Dole is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 01:11 PM   #15
Skip Towne Skip Towne is offline
Supporter
 
Skip Towne's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: T-Town
Casino cash: $1109186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Dole
Zinwell SAM-4803 4x8 multiswitch labelled "compatible with DIRECTV dish antenna, 18"x24" and 18"x20" multi-satellite dish antenna" and supplied and installed by a DirecTV tech.

The thing worked fine for the first 6 hours or so, then things have been flaky ever since.
That is the correct multiswitch. It could have gone bad or the LNB head could have gone bad. I'd try the other ports first but it sounds like one switch or the other is bad.
Posts: 69,672
Skip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < Cassel
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.