Home Mail Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > World Champion Royals Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2007, 03:37 PM  
ChiefsFanatic ChiefsFanatic is offline
One more step.................
 
ChiefsFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Blue Springs, MO. 64014
Casino cash: $9305
Ethical question for Planet Golfers

Alright, here is the question. If you normally start off by hitting a bucket of balls before a round, but instead of hitting a bucket of balls, you decide to play 27 [the front, the back, and the front again] can you take your back nine and your second front nine score together? What if you stipulated before the round that the first front nine was your warm-up session? [which I did not do]

I am trying to justify my first "round" in the 70's. I shot 46 on the front, and 38 on the back. I followed that up with a 40 on the front. Normally I would warm up, but it was raining a little, and I wanted to start before it had a chance to get bad. But it became beautiful, and I played 27.

84 would still be my best round ever, but I would love to tell people I shot a 78.
Posts: 3,313
ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 03:42 PM   #2
Phobia Phobia is offline
Together is Powerful
 
Phobia's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $6969
As far as I'm concerned you can mix either the first two or the last two nines. If you had shot a 38 on the first nine and a 38 on the last nine you couldn't put those scores together for a 76. I would have a problem with that.
Posts: 55,850
Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 03:57 PM   #3
Stewie Stewie is offline
Supporter
 
Stewie's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West of the Equator
Casino cash: $7076
Your first 18 is your score.

Last edited by Stewie; 06-11-2007 at 07:08 AM..
Posts: 11,546
Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.Stewie is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 04:27 PM   #4
Cochise Cochise is offline
Legend
 
Cochise's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Minneapolis
Casino cash: $3309
I would say the first 18 too.
Posts: 51,598
Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.Cochise is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 04:43 PM   #5
ChiefsFanatic ChiefsFanatic is offline
One more step.................
 
ChiefsFanatic's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Blue Springs, MO. 64014
Casino cash: $9305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia
As far as I'm concerned you can mix either the first two or the last two nines. If you had shot a 38 on the first nine and a 38 on the last nine you couldn't put those scores together for a 76. I would have a problem with that.
So, as long as the 18 are consecutive?
Posts: 3,313
ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ChiefsFanatic must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:02 PM   #6
Phobia Phobia is offline
Together is Powerful
 
Phobia's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $6969
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiefsFanatic
So, as long as the 18 are consecutive?
IMO, but then what do I know?

I don't know everything about golf, but I do play my ball where it lies. I mark my penalty strokes. I don't carry 18 clubs. I don't walk on my playing partners' lines. I replace my divots and repair my ball marks.

I could be mistaken about the etiquette for scoring your 18 when you played 27. It's entirely possible but I don't have an ethical problem with it.
Posts: 55,850
Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:04 PM   #7
crazycoffey crazycoffey is offline
..........
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Casino cash: $28001
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiefsFanatic
So, as long as the 18 are consecutive?

yup, I would say that's ok, you are not a scratch player, not a professional - you are a "weekend" golfer (like many of us).

I say, because of this, it's not your occupation, that it is ok to bend the rules slightly, as long as it's not to win money from others.... you should be able to say the best round of 18 holes was a 78.

good job....


my best round ever was a 79, about 10 years ago, I hit the bucket of balls first then played 18, ate lunch and played 18 more, the second 18 was the 78. I played that course all summer long, it was Heidelberg Germany.
Posts: 26,829
crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.crazycoffey is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:24 PM   #8
OnTheWarpath58 OnTheWarpath58 is offline
37 FOREVER
 
OnTheWarpath58's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $1215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia
IMO, but then what do I know?

I don't know everything about golf, but I do play my ball where it lies. I mark my penalty strokes. I don't carry 18 clubs. I don't walk on my playing partners' lines. I replace my divots and repair my ball marks.

I could be mistaken about the etiquette for scoring your 18 when you played 27. It's entirely possible but I don't have an ethical problem with it.
I would agree.

As long as it's 18 consecutive holes, I personally don't see a problem.

Are you wanting to use the score towards your handicap? I'd check the USGA website.

Phil, you and I need to hit the links next time I'm in town.....
Posts: 52,656
OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.OnTheWarpath58 is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:27 PM   #9
Simplex3 Simplex3 is offline
MVP
 
Simplex3's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Casino cash: $5000
Congrats on the 78 and screw anyone that says otherwise.
Posts: 28,527
Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.Simplex3 would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:28 PM   #10
Predarat Predarat is offline
Run Chiefs fans, run!!
 
Predarat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Nashville, TN
Casino cash: $13963
I say count your lowest 18 and let that be your score even if they are not back to back. Heck count your best 9, times it by 2 and say thats it. Anything more than that is taking it wayyyyyyyyyy too far. But this is also coming from someone who has kicked the ball into the fairway a time or two and teed up on second shots.
Posts: 10,155
Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.Predarat is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:28 PM   #11
Bob Dole Bob Dole is offline
King Shit of **** Mountain
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Casino cash: $34597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia
IMO, but then what do I know?

I don't know everything about golf, but I do play my ball where it lies. I mark my penalty strokes. I don't carry 18 clubs. I don't walk on my playing partners' lines. I replace my divots and repair my ball marks.

I could be mistaken about the etiquette for scoring your 18 when you played 27. It's entirely possible but I don't have an ethical problem with it.
You also moon people.

But Bob Dole digresses... Bob Dole would agree that any consecutive 18 is acceptable.
Posts: 36,697
Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Bob Dole has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:30 PM   #12
BWillie BWillie is online now
Cansays Schitty WS Champs
 
BWillie's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Harpooning Whales
Casino cash: $41341
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiefsFanatic
Alright, here is the question. If you normally start off by hitting a bucket of balls before a round, but instead of hitting a bucket of balls, you decide to play 27 [the front, the back, and the front again] can you take your back nine and your second front nine score together? What if you stipulated before the round that the first front nine was your warm-up session? [which I did not do]

I am trying to justify my first "round" in the 70's. I shot 46 on the front, and 38 on the back. I followed that up with a 40 on the front. Normally I would warm up, but it was raining a little, and I wanted to start before it had a chance to get bad. But it became beautiful, and I played 27.

84 would still be my best round ever, but I would love to tell people I shot a 78.
The first 18 should be your score, unless the people you were playing with and you both acknowledged the first nine was for fun and a warm up, and that your back and front nine score was going to count for your 18 hole score no matter what. I don't think you can pick and chose what nine's you should be able to use. But if you are playing for fun, and you can justify it to yourself without any guilt..who cares.

I used to play nine holes all the time when I was younger and really into golf. I never had time, nor wanted to spent 5 hours in a day on golf for 18 so I would just play nine holes. I few times I would of shot in the 60's or low 70's if you based consecutive nine holes. The best score I've ever shot was a 69, but it was on a 58000 yard joke par 70 track. But I've shot 34 on nine holes before on consecutive days but alas I could not get myself to count it for 18 holes,...and none of my golfer friends would recognize my 68 either as a real 18 hole score.
__________________
Posts: 18,775
BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BWillie Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:35 PM   #13
Miles Miles is offline
MVP
 
Miles's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Casino cash: $20063
I have always felt the first 18 is your score.
Posts: 12,920
Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.Miles would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:41 PM   #14
Phobia Phobia is offline
Together is Powerful
 
Phobia's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $6969
Quote:
Originally Posted by OnTheWarpath58

Phil, you and I need to hit the links next time I'm in town.....
You don't want to play with me. I played 9 today before calling it a day due to overcrowding on the course. I'm sure I shot a 50. First time I've played since a scramble last fall. I'm as bad at golf right now as I was the first day I fell in love with the game.
Posts: 55,850
Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.Phobia is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2007, 05:46 PM   #15
chief52 chief52 is offline
Veteran
 
chief52's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NoCal
Casino cash: $5360
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stewie
You're first 18 is your score.
Your first 18...no doubt with me or the guys I play with how we would handle that. Nice round no matter how you stack it,though.

Using your preference, a guy could always go back out on the front 9 if he had a good back 9 in an attempt to better his score for the day. I can not see how that would be ethical.

P.S. As far as your handicap is concerned, you would have to record all 27 holes anyway.
Posts: 3,112
chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.chief52 is not part of the Right 53.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 AM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.