Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Ed & Dave Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2009, 08:57 PM  
Demonpenz Demonpenz is offline
Royals Hall Of Fame
 
Demonpenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Apartment "G UNIT!"
Casino cash: $5260
Daily Royals Embarrassing moment

esterday, I scored the Twin/Royals game at Kauffman stadium for mlb.com when a play occurred which I (and everyone else in the press box) had never seen.

The situation was this. Bottom of the 5th inning, 1 out, bases loaded (Relaford on third, Berroa on second, and Beltran on first). Mike Sweeney is the hitter. Sweeney hit a pop fly behind first base. First baseman Doug Mientkiewicz, second baseman Michael Cuddyer and right fielder Jacque Jones all converge while the first base umpire Jeff Kellogg signals an infield fly. The ball hits Mientkiewicz's glove and then falls to the ground. The first base umpire signals that the batter is still out because of the infield fly. Meanwhile Beltran on first has gone half way to second and seeing the ball drop continues to second. Berroa on second hasn't moved and so Beltran and Berroa are now standing on second. Relaford on third speeds toward home as soon as the ball hits the ground.

Mientkiewicz picks up the ball, whirls, and throws it in the direction of first base, which of course no one is covering since they're all out in the outfield and the pitcher is standing on the mound. The throw however, hits Mike Sweeney square in the back as he stands near first base. Sweeney hits the ground in pain as the ball rolls over towards the Royals dugout. By this time Berroa is waving Beltran to get back to first and he starts heading that way. Catcher Henry Blanco retrieves the ball over by the Royals dugout and throws it to first where right fielder Jacque Jones catches the ball and just beats a sliding Beltran, tagging him and touching the base for the second out of the play and the third of the inning. The home plate umpire signals the press box to indicate that Relaford's run counts and the Twins trot off the field.

Immediately, the press box erupts in a frenzy of chatter, confused looks, and media trying to find their rule books to divine the correct scoring of the play. The questions that immediately arise are these?

1. Does Sweeney get a sacrifice fly since Relaford scored?
2. Can a sacrifice fly be credited on an infield fly?
3. Does Mientkiewicz get an error?
4. Does Sweeney get an RBI?
5. Do the Twins get credited with a double play?
6. Did Beltran have to go back to first since the ball was dropped?

As far as I could tell no one knew exactly what should be done. Meanwhile, the game continues on and I can't keep entering pitch by pitch data until I enter something for that play. So I score on paper. By the end of the next half inning there is a tentative decision, which I enter, so that I can catch up and continue to score. However, in the subsequent innings the official scorer changes the decision several times and so I back edit the play in the software. By the time the game is over I think the correct decision has been made, which falls out as follows in answer to the questions above.

1. Sweeney does not get a sacrifice fly since an infield fly was called. This is because Sweeney was out as soon as the ball was in the air. I'm not exactly clear on why but this was the reasoning given in the press box.
2. Apparently not.
3. Mientkiewicz does not get credited with an error since the batter is still out.
4. Yes, and I assume this is the case since the Twins did not get credited with a double play. So the play is analogous to a ground out which scores a run.
5. No. The official rules state that a double play cannot be credited when the defensive team makes an "error or misplay" on the play. Mientkiewicz dropping the ball is ruled a misplay so no double play.
6. Yes. Beltran had to return to first per the rule on the infield fly which states:
"The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball." So if the ball had not been touched then Beltran would not have had to return. So his put out goes 3-2-9.

The software we use for scoring also had some difficulty with the play and I had to manually adjust the putout, assist, and play by play printouts after the game that get faxed to the Elias Sports Bureau. After the game the first base umpire had the following quote:

"An infield fly was called. So I go up (hand signal) with an infield fly. He drops the ball. He's still out. And I let everyone know behind me that he was out because it was an infield fly. No, it was not a catch."

I'm not sure it would have made any difference had the umpire ruled that the ball was caught and only then dropped being taken out of the glove.
Posts: 44,565
Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 09:03 PM   #2
Deberg_1990 Deberg_1990 is offline
MVP
 
Deberg_1990's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Antonio Tx.
Casino cash: $5500
huh? Demon scored the Royals game? There was a game at the K today??
__________________
Originally Posted by Cassel's Reckoning:

Matt once made a very nice play in Seattle where he spun away from a pass rusher and hit Bowe off his back foot for a first down.

One of the best plays Matt has ever made.
Posts: 49,444
Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Deberg_1990 has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 09:47 PM   #3
KCFalcon59 KCFalcon59 is offline
Supporter
 
KCFalcon59's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Casino cash: $15565
I think he's drunk.
Posts: 5,762
KCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliKCFalcon59 's adopt a chief was Sabby Piscitelli
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 10:29 PM   #4
keg in kc keg in kc is offline
oxymoron
 
keg in kc's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: OP/KC/Whatever
Casino cash: $5025
That makes my head hurt.
Posts: 51,368
keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.keg in kc is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 11:50 PM   #5
Jayhawkerman2001 Jayhawkerman2001 is offline
09-2008, metallica returns
 
Jayhawkerman2001's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cocaine; Columbia, MO
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonpenz View Post

1. Sweeney does not get a sacrifice fly since an infield fly was called. This is because Sweeney was out as soon as the ball was in the air. I'm not exactly clear on why but this was the reasoning given in the press box.
infield fly rule is called so that the team on the field won't purposely drop the ball to get a double play. im prety sure its only called if somebody is on first and or second. thats always been my understanding
__________________
Going to be a Jayhawk in the form of an MU Student... :-(
Posts: 2,385
Jayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutJayhawkerman2001 is the dumbass Milkman is always talking about
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 11:52 PM   #6
alnorth alnorth is offline
MVP
 
alnorth's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Iowania
Casino cash: $5745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayhawkerman2001 View Post
infield fly rule is called so that the team on the field won't purposely drop the ball to get a double play. im prety sure its only called if somebody is on first and or second. thats always been my understanding
yeah, and bases loaded would qualify. In case you didnt follow, there were two outs in the play, Sweeney (IFR) and Beltran (caught at first without tagging up). Question was, is that a double play?

The point in that part is the defense did absolutely nothing to earn that out. Sweeney got himself out, so there can not be a double play awarded to the defense.
__________________
<WarMoose> Think about how stupid the average person is. Now realize that half of them are dumber than that.
<Chunda> Why half?
Posts: 26,157
alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.alnorth 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:28 AM   #7
Old Dog Old Dog is offline
Supporter
 
Old Dog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Central Kansas
Casino cash: $5605
The easiest way to remember if the infield fly is in effect is both of these must apply:
1 - Less than 2 outs
2 - there is a possible force out at third
Posts: 9,091
Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:30 AM   #8
Shag Shag is offline
Factory of Sadness
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Casino cash: $5075
Quote:
Originally Posted by Demonpenz View Post
6. Yes. Beltran had to return to first per the rule on the infield fly which states:
"The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball." So if the ball had not been touched then Beltran would not have had to return. So his put out goes 3-2-9.
I'm not sure that's correct - I think Beltran only has to return if the ball is caught. The rule seems a bit contradictory, in that the middle of the sentence opposes the beginning and end. It seems to me that the word "touched" should be "caught".

I could be wrong here, but I believe the play is exactly the same as any other fly ball, with the exception of the batter being automatically out.
Posts: 3,913
Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Shag must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:42 AM   #9
Skip Towne Skip Towne is offline
Supporter
 
Skip Towne's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: T-Town
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCFalcon59 View Post
I think he's drunk.
No, he acts like that all the time.
Posts: 69,672
Skip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < CasselSkip Towne < Cassel
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:49 AM   #10
'Hamas' Jenkins 'Hamas' Jenkins is offline
Emptying the Trash
 
'Hamas' Jenkins's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Casino cash: $5340
So it's 2003 again?
__________________
A great shot is when you pull it off. A smart shot is when you don't have the guts to try.
Posts: 57,495
'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 08:09 AM   #11
BigRock BigRock is offline
Pritay Pritay Pritay Good
 
BigRock's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The State of Euphoria
Casino cash: $5145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shag View Post
I'm not sure that's correct - I think Beltran only has to return if the ball is caught. The rule seems a bit contradictory, in that the middle of the sentence opposes the beginning and end. It seems to me that the word "touched" should be "caught".

I could be wrong here, but I believe the play is exactly the same as any other fly ball, with the exception of the batter being automatically out.
The explaination it gave has to be wrong. I refuse to believe that Berroa knew the rules better than Beltran.
Posts: 5,921
BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRock Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 09:55 AM   #12
Demonpenz Demonpenz is offline
Royals Hall Of Fame
 
Demonpenz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Apartment "G UNIT!"
Casino cash: $5260
I just copied and pasted someone else's blog because I wanted to remind people the way Sweeney looked when he got drilled in the back like ace ventura NEEEE NEWWW NEEE NEWWW and I am going to post an embarrassing moment now and then..for this embarrassing moment in royals baseball. I'm Bob Barberson
Posts: 44,565
Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Demonpenz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.