Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2010, 07:26 PM  
Mosbonian Mosbonian is offline
On Hiatus
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $940
My new ASUS Computer....

Well, I broke down and bought a new computer....an ASUS.

So far it seems pretty nice...anyone ever bought an ASUS and can give me any pointers?

Also installed a new Wireless N Dual-Band Router....

mmaddog
********
Posts: 8,525
Mosbonian has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:32 PM   #2
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $443230
ASUS is a good brand


honestly i think any pointers would be more about the operating system moreso that the brand.

windows 7 will take some getting used to i imagine.
Posts: 81,242
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:50 PM   #3
Mosbonian Mosbonian is offline
On Hiatus
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laz View Post
ASUS is a good brand


honestly i think any pointers would be more about the operating system moreso that the brand.

windows 7 will take some getting used to i imagine.
Yeah....the first thing I am having to adjust to is the screen resolution.

I have a 23 inch monitor (using HDMI) and unfortunately when i right-click to bring up the Screen Resolution and Control Panel boxes they are off screen and I can't tell how to bring them to the middle of my screen.

mmaddog
********
Posts: 8,525
Mosbonian has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:51 PM   #4
oaklandhater oaklandhater is offline
future chiefs fans
 
oaklandhater's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: oakland california
Casino cash: $12177
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmaddog View Post
Well, I broke down and bought a new computer....an ASUS.

So far it seems pretty nice...anyone ever bought an ASUS and can give me any pointers?

Also installed a new Wireless N Dual-Band Router....

mmaddog
********
I allways buy asus brand motherboards and video cards.


M4a78 plus crossfire 5770 asus
Posts: 2,397
oaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutoaklandhater is the dumbass Milkman is always talking about
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 10:49 AM   #5
kepp kepp is offline
MVP
 
kepp's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $197215
Quote:
Originally Posted by oaklandhater View Post
I allways buy asus brand motherboards and video cards.

M4a78 plus crossfire 5770 asus
I've always used ASUS MBs as well. Except this last time, I bought an MSI because of price...seems decent enough.
Posts: 9,374
kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 01:43 PM   #6
Mosbonian Mosbonian is offline
On Hiatus
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $940
How do I see what is off screen?

mmaddog
********
Posts: 8,525
Mosbonian has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:56 PM   #7
Mosbonian Mosbonian is offline
On Hiatus
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $940
Something new and interesting.....i fixed the problem i had with items being off-screen and not viewable.

Now for some reason, whenever I go to Yahoo and use the search function, Internet Explorer stops responding.

Any ideas?

mmaddog
********
Posts: 8,525
Mosbonian has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:20 PM   #8
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2119808
Download Firefox..... http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/
__________________
Posts: 25,394
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:25 PM   #9
Mosbonian Mosbonian is offline
On Hiatus
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $940
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC Fish View Post
That doesn't answer the question about why when I go to the search function it locks up...

mmaddog
********
Posts: 8,525
Mosbonian has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:26 PM   #10
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $443230
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmaddog View Post
How do I see what is off screen?

mmaddog
********
try

right click on desktop
Arrange Icons
auto arrange
Posts: 81,242
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:29 PM   #11
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2119808
What OS is it?

What version of IE is it?

Does it freeze when on the yahoo webpage, or the toolbar search box, or what?

Do you have the Yahoo toolbar installed?

And how does it lock up? Mouse pointer freeze? Entire OS or just IE?

That would give us a much better idea of what's goin on.
__________________
Posts: 25,394
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 06:32 PM   #12
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2119808
Also do you have the Phishing filter enabled, or some other site filtering application like McAfee Site Advisor?

Those can play hell with IE web searches.

Is it just Yahoo search?
__________________
Posts: 25,394
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 08:07 PM   #13
Mosbonian Mosbonian is offline
On Hiatus
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laz View Post
try

right click on desktop
Arrange Icons
auto arrange
Already took care of that.....it was my stupidity. I had both the regular cable and the HDMI cable hooked up to the monitor. For some reason that gave it the split screen mode.

mmaddog
********
Posts: 8,525
Mosbonian has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 08:11 PM   #14
Mosbonian Mosbonian is offline
On Hiatus
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $940
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC Fish View Post
What OS is it?

What version of IE is it?

Does it freeze when on the yahoo webpage, or the toolbar search box, or what?

Do you have the Yahoo toolbar installed?

And how does it lock up? Mouse pointer freeze? Entire OS or just IE?

That would give us a much better idea of what's goin on.
Windows 7

IE 8

It freezes when I try to click on the link of the item that I have searched for.

I type in Ipod Moving to a new computer and it gives me the results...when I try to click on the link that I want to go to, it freezes.

When I installed AVG, it asked it gave me their toolbar which I "x" ed out of.

When it freezes it's just IE...I can restart the computer without an issue, i just can't go anywhere with IE.

mmaddog
********
Posts: 8,525
Mosbonian has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 08:43 AM   #15
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2119808
Well it sounds like it's confined to IE. That's good.

I'd probably try to reset IE back to factory settings. But keep in mind that doing so would disable any add-ons or plugins you may have installed. Being a new computer, hopefully that isn't a problem.

To reset IE, click on Tools\Internet Options\Advanced tab\ and then look for the Reset button at the bottom. It will give you a warning message, and explain everything that would be reset. If you haven't customized IE much, it shouldn't be a problem.

If that doesn't fix it, I'd be sure to run a spyware and malware scan. I'd recommend Spybot, Malwarebytes Anti-malware, and Ad-Aware. That's a pretty good combination.

Let me know if that takes care of it........
__________________
Posts: 25,394
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.