Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Asterix Inn > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2014, 10:25 PM  
The Bad Guy The Bad Guy is offline
Scott Pioli
 
The Bad Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Copacobana
Casino cash: $9634
Any recommendations for a new wireless router?

My 2 year old linksys is performing horribly and I've grown tired of it.

I want a router that's fast. I've got about 6 devices attached to my wireless. I've been getting 46 download on my desktop that's wired and my phone has been getting 6 download on the wifi signal. My wife's laptop is around a 4.

I was looking at some Asus routers. They look intense, but I never want wireless speed to be an issue ever again.

Can anyone recommend one that's going to give me the least amount of drop off from a wired signal?

Thanks in advance.
Posts: 22,396
The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 10:43 PM   #2
'Hamas' Jenkins 'Hamas' Jenkins is offline
The Beast
 
'Hamas' Jenkins's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Casino cash: $28254
Wireless AC will give you the least amount of drop off, but to utilize its full potential you'll need wireless AC adapters as well. Should you not want to upgrade everything, a dual band Wireless N router should significantly improve your speeds while not requiring much extra cost.
Posts: 61,170
'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.'Hamas' Jenkins is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2014, 11:15 PM   #3
The Bad Guy The Bad Guy is offline
Scott Pioli
 
The Bad Guy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Copacobana
Casino cash: $9634
I saw that about Wireless AC. I went ahead and purchased a previous version Apple Time Capsule. I have thousands of pics on my mac laptop that I really don't use anymore but also having the piece of mind that they are backed up sold me.

My brother has the newest model and swears by it. I got the previous model for about 100 off.
__________________
Posts: 22,396
The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.The Bad Guy 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 07:00 AM   #4
ragedogg69 ragedogg69 is offline
Oh yeah..... you like that
 
ragedogg69's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Casino cash: $10961
I picked this up when it was on sale for $20. The software on it is garbage, but I installed dd-wrt on it and it became awesome. I highly recommend it. Rarely need to reset it, and able to block cox from sending me to bad servers when watching youtube.

Belkin F7D8302 Play N600 Wireless Dual-Band N Router, up to 300Mbps
__________________
“You think Denver has the greatest fans? Well, they aren’t.” -- Jake Plummer


Don't believe me? http://deadspin.com/sports/nfl/plummer-asks-the-world-who-wants-some-131609.php
Posts: 1,516
ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.ragedogg69 must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 07:47 AM   #5
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8834
I was using an N300 Netgear WNDR3700v2 since 2010. One of the best wireless routers ever made. Unfortunately, mine started to die a couple of weeks ago.

I don't have any 802.11ac devices (and don't plan on buying any in the near future) so I decided to forego the cost of an AC router and stayed with the previous N generation.

The highest-reviewed router I could find was the N900 Asus NT-R66U. There are alternate firmwares available that are supported by the Small Net Builder community. HIGHLY configurable but probably not geared towards a non-techie. A LOT of configuration options that should probably never be touched.

However, the 3-antenna setup was VERY touchy - just a half-inch here or there and the signal could move considerably. It took me a long time to get it right where I wanted it coverage-wise.

And then the packet loss started. I ended up having to RMA it. After thinking about it, I had such good luck with my previous router (I've been a Netgear consumer beta tester for 4 years) that I just went ahead and got another Netgear. When I bought the 3700, it was cutting edge and had a few bugs but the performance was top-of-the-line.

So I ended up getting a new AC1900 Netgear R7000 yesterday. Right out of the box, I noticed a huge improvement over both the Asus and the old Netgear in terms of signal quality and strength. The 2.4Ghz radio is about 10% stronger and the 5Ghz radio is a good 20% stronger. I can actually get a 5Ghz signal in my office at the the far end of the house now (with the router centrally located).

The only issue with the R7000 is that it will run you around $200.
Posts: 61,900
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 07:57 AM   #6
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8834
I should say if anybody needs more detail, I'm certainly willing to provide. I just didn't want to make an already-way-too-long post even longer.
Posts: 61,900
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:11 AM   #7
Buehler445 Buehler445 is offline
Supporter
 
Buehler445's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Scott City KS
Casino cash: $29259
My buddy bought one recently that looked pretty neat. It would allow you to prioritize bandwidth by device or application. So if you ran Netflix through your TV, you could prioritize that, and keep the picture better if other users are consuming bandwidth. It was pretty cool, but he shortly thereafter got ATT Uverse so he returned it.

Sorry for the lack of detail, but prior to him buying that, I hadn't even thought of prioritization of bandwidth even possible, so I thought I would share that it's out there if you are interested.
Posts: 24,629
Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.Buehler445 is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:19 AM   #8
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buehler445 View Post
My buddy bought one recently that looked pretty neat. It would allow you to prioritize bandwidth by device or application. So if you ran Netflix through your TV, you could prioritize that, and keep the picture better if other users are consuming bandwidth. It was pretty cool, but he shortly thereafter got ATT Uverse so he returned it.

Sorry for the lack of detail, but prior to him buying that, I hadn't even thought of prioritization of bandwidth even possible, so I thought I would share that it's out there if you are interested.
All current gen SOHO routers do prioritization to some extent.

Some or more configurable than others, though. And without the granular level of detail that you get in an enterprise class device, it's often better to leave QoS turned off.
Posts: 61,900
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 02:58 PM   #9
kepp kepp is offline
MVP
 
kepp's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $13638
Bumping this for some suggestions. I'm getting Google Fiber installed next week and need to get a good wireless-N router that will handle 1 gbps. Any suggestions?

@htismaqe - That Netgear R7000 looks nice, but its getting average reviews on newegg. How has it held up for you?

Last edited by kepp; 02-27-2015 at 03:04 PM..
Posts: 10,521
kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 03:09 PM   #10
DaneMcCloud DaneMcCloud is offline
Band
 
DaneMcCloud's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The 'Wood
Casino cash: $23877
I've had a Netgear AC1450 for the past eight months and it's the best router I've purchased.

I also have a TP Link wireless extender that works wonders.
Posts: 51,967
DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 03:14 PM   #11
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $15638
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepp View Post
Bumping this for some suggestions. I'm getting Google Fiber installed next week and need to get a good wireless-N router that will handle 1 gbps. Any suggestions?

@htismaqe - That Netgear R7000 looks nice, but its getting average reviews on newegg. How has it held up for you?
Know that your Google Fiber Network box that will be installed with your service has dual-band MIMO n wireless capabilities. Speed-wise its a ****ing beast that outperforms most routers. Plus 4 Gigabit LAN ports.

There's no reason to buy an additional router, unless you need advanced router-specific functions like domain blacklisting. It does all the basic stuff like IP reservation, port forwarding, etc.
__________________
Posts: 26,731
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 03:31 PM   #12
DaneMcCloud DaneMcCloud is offline
Band
 
DaneMcCloud's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The 'Wood
Casino cash: $23877
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish View Post
Know that your Google Fiber Network box that will be installed with your service has dual-band MIMO n wireless capabilities. Speed-wise its a ****ing beast that outperforms most routers. Plus 4 Gigabit LAN ports.
I cannot wait until fiber is available where I live. It's either Time Warner Cable or ATT DSL. We had the DSL service for five years, which awful, like 96kps, then TWC put in lines and switched.

It's "fine" but I'd great prefer fiber.
Posts: 51,967
DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaneMcCloud is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 03:47 PM   #13
kepp kepp is offline
MVP
 
kepp's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $13638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish View Post
Know that your Google Fiber Network box that will be installed with your service has dual-band MIMO n wireless capabilities. Speed-wise its a ****ing beast that outperforms most routers. Plus 4 Gigabit LAN ports.

There's no reason to buy an additional router, unless you need advanced router-specific functions like domain blacklisting. It does all the basic stuff like IP reservation, port forwarding, etc.
So it is. The confirmation email they sent me made it sound like it wasn't. It had a whole section on upgrading your wireless router to get 1gbps speeds.
Posts: 10,521
kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.kepp wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 03:50 PM   #14
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $15638
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepp View Post
So it is. The confirmation email they sent me made it sound like it wasn't. It had a whole section on upgrading your wireless router to get 1gbps speeds.
The Google Network Box is the only device that will work plugged into the Fiberjack. So they have to...
__________________
Posts: 26,731
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 07:17 AM   #15
DaveNull DaveNull is offline
Veteran
 
DaveNull's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Villa Straylight
Casino cash: $10350
Since moving to my new house, I haven't plugged in my Airport Extreme. The Google Fiber network hardware...especially the second generation stuff...is really good.

You'll also be able to plug stuff into the TV boxes to give wired networking to other devices. I've got a microcell plugged into one TV box and I hard lined the PS4.
Posts: 1,528
DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.DaveNull would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.