Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2010, 11:55 PM  
Mecca Mecca is offline
Hockey Town
 
Mecca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Casino cash: $120083
Some help hooking 360 to big screen please

Ok bit of an issue here so maybe I can get some help from the resident experts on this.

I have a 50 inch Sony Wega HD TV, it didn't have a video game system hooked to it and now because of another TV addition it's going to become the gaming/movie TV.

Problem I can't seem to get the Xbox to work in HD on this tv it works in standard form but when I go to HD it's like impossible to get it to work it seems more heavily complicated than it has any right to be.

So if anyone has any experience with this and can help that would be nice.

Thanks in advance.

The most annoying part is there are plugs for video 2 down the side and I can't use them because only 3 of the 6 plugs can be active at a time and I need 5 of them for HD..I also love how in the direction book it uses a PS2 as an example so you only need 3 cables, the joys of having a TV from late 05.
Posts: 80,180
Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 12:02 AM   #2
BryanBusby BryanBusby is offline
MVP
 
BryanBusby's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Casino cash: $50760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mecca View Post
The most annoying part is there are plugs for video 2 down the side and I can't use them because only 3 of the 6 plugs can be active at a time and I need 5 of them for HD..I also love how in the direction book it uses a PS2 as an example so you only need 3 cables, the joys of having a TV from late 05.
Are you sure that's even a component input?
Posts: 5,983
BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 12:08 AM   #3
pr_capone pr_capone is offline
** *- -- -- *
 
pr_capone's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aguadilla
Casino cash: $162955095
1. which port is your video cable plugged into??



2. are your cables set to HDTV?



3. are you using just the red yellow and white (composite - standard def) or are you using the red blue green (component - h def) / red white cables?


Last edited by pr_capone; 06-06-2010 at 12:21 AM..
Posts: 18,345
pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.pr_capone is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 12:26 AM   #4
Mecca Mecca is offline
Hockey Town
 
Mecca's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Casino cash: $120083
Ok yes I have it plugged into the AV I had it hooked in HD on my 32 inch, it works when it's on TV not when it's switched to HD.

I'm trying to use the 5 cables but it won't work like that yet it works when I go to 3, because I can switch my video 2 for those 3 plugs to work.

When I did the 5 I had a very blurry picture. A friend of mine was telling me it's more annoying to hook on a big TV.
Posts: 80,180
Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 12:59 AM   #5
Miles Miles is online now
MVP
 
Miles's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Casino cash: $1851
You will need to component (5 cables) to send the signal since the standard yellow one won't do it.

Maybe check the settings on your 360?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/906663

Sounds like it may be an older TV, but does it have an HDMI input?
Posts: 12,140
Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:13 AM   #6
Mecca Mecca is offline
Hockey Town
 
Mecca's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Casino cash: $120083
I have 1 HDMI but my Xbox doesnt have one as my 360 wasn't purchased in the past year...

I know I hooked up the 5 cables, I know how to hook it I had it done on another TV it just doesn't seem to be working for some reason. I either get no picture or a very blurry one.

It's like for some reason the TV doesn't want to read the cables. Or maybe I'm a retard and plugging them in wrong after hooking a cable box and dvd player to it in about 30 seconds...
Posts: 80,180
Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:17 AM   #7
Miles Miles is online now
MVP
 
Miles's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Casino cash: $1851
That's odd. Sorry, I got nothing then.
Posts: 12,140
Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:21 AM   #8
Mecca Mecca is offline
Hockey Town
 
Mecca's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Casino cash: $120083
It's very strange, a friend of mine was telling me sometimes they can be harder to hook on bigger TV's or some such. Plus having like 7 different videos to cycle through probably doesn't help...

The thing is I have an entire line of HD stuff open it should work.
Posts: 80,180
Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:30 AM   #9
BryanBusby BryanBusby is offline
MVP
 
BryanBusby's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Casino cash: $50760
Oh shit, I completely forgot MS made those cables for the 360. Your original post wasn't making any ****ing sense until then haha

I think if you were just plugging them in wrong, you'd either get a picture with odd coloring or just none at all.

Have you tried hooking anything else that takes component cables to it to see if it does the same thing?
Posts: 5,983
BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:32 AM   #10
Miles Miles is online now
MVP
 
Miles's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Casino cash: $1851
You might try hooking it up to another HDTV using the component cables to troubleshoot whether you might have a bad cable.
Posts: 12,140
Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:34 AM   #11
Miles Miles is online now
MVP
 
Miles's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Casino cash: $1851
The only other thing I can think of is to double check that you don't have the audio red cable transposed with the video red.
Posts: 12,140
Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:41 AM   #12
Mecca Mecca is offline
Hockey Town
 
Mecca's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Casino cash: $120083
I hooked my HD cable through both and it worked both times, just station the video station it was on...

If anyone wants to specifically know what kind of TV it is it's a Sony Grand Wega 50 inch LCD projection.
Posts: 80,180
Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:49 AM   #13
Miles Miles is online now
MVP
 
Miles's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Casino cash: $1851
If your cable works though the same component input you are trying for your 360 then that should rule out the TV or its settings as the problem. Sounds like something isn't working right with your 360 or more likely the component cable.
Posts: 12,140
Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Miles must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:58 AM   #14
Mecca Mecca is offline
Hockey Town
 
Mecca's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Casino cash: $120083
Which also makes no sense as it was played on an HD 32 inch earlier today.
Posts: 80,180
Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.Mecca has just been standing around suckin' on a big ol' chili dog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 01:59 AM   #15
BryanBusby BryanBusby is offline
MVP
 
BryanBusby's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Casino cash: $50760
Try the 360 on the new TV and see if you still have the issue. If yes, try and get a hold of another set of cables to test out with.

E: oh, yeah that's pretty messed up. Do you have another set of component plugins to test on that specific tv?
Posts: 5,983
BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BryanBusby Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.