Home Mail Chat Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > Lonewolf Ed Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 12:02 AM  
JOhn JOhn is offline
El' Barto
 
JOhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Casino cash: $5000
Auto Wiring/dash lights issue

OK, I bought a 98 Pontiac Grand Am Friday for around town and decent gas mileage. Anyway When I got it the stock stereo didn't work, but other than that everything else worked fine, including all the lights ect....

I installed a new stereo on Saturday and while doing so I found that one of the 2 power wires to the stereo was not working, the one with a constant power. The other that went to the ignition worked fine.

I ran a new power wire and finished installing the stereo and all worked fine. Until last night when I went to drive to the store and had no back lighting to the dash, including the instrument panel and heat/ac ect.

I do have tail lights and all the other lights work including all the warning dash lights. I checked all the fuses and can't find any that are burnt out or even look remotely bad. Though I did go ahead and replace the one that said INST on the assumption that maybe it was bad.....still no luck.

Ideas on why all the back lighting is not working?
Posts: 25,464
JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:04 AM   #2
Bugeater Bugeater is offline
Ain't nothin' gonna stop us
 
Bugeater's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pigsknuckle
Casino cash: $4770000
Sorry, but everything GM sucks ass. I know because I read it on Chiefsplanet.com.
__________________
What is the allowed size of a Signature?
ChiefsPlanet has some very generous guidelines, 200 pixels tall by 650 pixels wide is more than enough screen real estate for you to express your individuality. That dimension includes your graphics AND any witty text you want to share. If you go over this amount, you may lose your ability to have a signature.
Posts: 59,106
Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:07 AM   #3
Chiefspants Chiefspants is offline
Good as New
 
Chiefspants's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Casino cash: $14754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugeater View Post
Sorry, but everything GM sucks ass. I know because I read it on Chiefsplanet.com.
THEY TOOK OUR MONEY.

inb4 calls to move to DC.
Posts: 8,993
Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.Chiefspants is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:08 AM   #4
Bugeater Bugeater is offline
Ain't nothin' gonna stop us
 
Bugeater's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pigsknuckle
Casino cash: $4770000
Ok, now for my serious answer. There actually should've been a 3rd power wire that controlled the lighting on the factory stereo, and that is part of your dash lighting system. You probably ****ed something up with that.
__________________
What is the allowed size of a Signature?
ChiefsPlanet has some very generous guidelines, 200 pixels tall by 650 pixels wide is more than enough screen real estate for you to express your individuality. That dimension includes your graphics AND any witty text you want to share. If you go over this amount, you may lose your ability to have a signature.
Posts: 59,106
Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.Bugeater is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:16 AM   #5
JOhn JOhn is offline
El' Barto
 
JOhn's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugeater View Post
Ok, now for my serious answer. There actually should've been a 3rd power wire that controlled the lighting on the factory stereo, and that is part of your dash lighting system. You probably ****ed something up with that.
Not sure, I know that I used the adapter plugs to hook the new stereo up, so any unused power wire would not be exposed or anything....I think that makes sense....so not sure how it could ground out?

I didn't really know there were 3 power wires?

My new one only has 2, 1 constant/ 1 ignition power.

Now that I think about it, there were no un accounted wires
Posts: 25,464
JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:17 AM   #6
JOhn JOhn is offline
El' Barto
 
JOhn's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugeater View Post
Sorry, but everything GM sucks ass. I know because I read it on Chiefsplanet.com.
Oh and probably since the no longer make that line....

My defense first and probably last (since they no longer exist) Pontiac I have ever owned
Posts: 25,464
JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:21 AM   #7
Jewish Rabbi Jewish Rabbi is offline
What's up braj?
 
Jewish Rabbi's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Casino cash: $3100
Older Grand Ams crap out hard. Good luck...
Posts: 3,998
Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:21 AM   #8
JOhn JOhn is offline
El' Barto
 
JOhn's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOhn View Post
Not sure, I know that I used the adapter plugs to hook the new stereo up, so any unused power wire would not be exposed or anything....I think that makes sense....so not sure how it could ground out?

I didn't really know there were 3 power wires?

My new one only has 2, 1 constant/ 1 ignition power.

Now that I think about it, there were no un accounted wires
LIGHTBULB!!!

the power wire I replaced, could control the dim function on the dash/factory stereo...

Since I replaced it and did not go through the dimmer switch on the dash.....

Could that be it?
Posts: 25,464
JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:22 AM   #9
JOhn JOhn is offline
El' Barto
 
JOhn's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jewish Rabbi View Post
Older Grand Ams crap out hard. Good luck...
Well considering I paid next to nothing for it and it has reasonably low mileage, I'll take my chances

Oh thanks for your input
Posts: 25,464
JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:26 AM   #10
Jewish Rabbi Jewish Rabbi is offline
What's up braj?
 
Jewish Rabbi's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Casino cash: $3100
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOhn View Post
Well considering I paid next to nothing for it and it has reasonably low mileage, I'll take my chances

Oh thanks for your input
Hope it works out for you, I really liked mine. Unfortunately, once you start having problems, everything is going to go.
Posts: 3,998
Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.Jewish Rabbi wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:30 AM   #11
Phobia
Guest
 

Casino cash: $
You couldn't just install a boombox?
Posts: n/a
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:32 AM   #12
JOhn JOhn is offline
El' Barto
 
JOhn's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
You couldn't just install a boombox?
Do they even still make those?

There so 80's
Posts: 25,464
JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:34 AM   #13
Phobia
Guest
 

Casino cash: $
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOhn View Post
Do they even still make those?

There so 80's
Yeah. Just like you... and Grand Ams.
Posts: n/a
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 01:10 AM   #14
JOhn JOhn is offline
El' Barto
 
JOhn's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cody, Wyoming
Casino cash: $5000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phobia View Post
Yeah. Just like you... and Grand Ams.
Posts: 25,464
JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.JOhn would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 01:12 AM   #15
Phobia
Guest
 

Casino cash: $
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOhn View Post
And me.
Posts: n/a
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
Arlington Texas Process Servers
Arlington Texas Process Servers
Covering Arlington, Fort Worth, Grand Prairie and surrounding communities.
Tarrant County, Texas and Johnson County, Texas.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.