Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2011, 11:43 AM  
rockymtnchief rockymtnchief is offline
Supporter
 
rockymtnchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Crazys of Montana
Casino cash: $1031158829
Wireless router

Need some help here.

I've troubleshot many wireless routers over the years in homes and business and figured them all out, though I don't claim to be a genious. I've found phones, wireless cameras, bad routers, etc... blocking the wireless signals.

Now I have trouble in my own home I can't figure out. My wireless works fine for hours...and then just disappears. The router is 20' away, nothing in between it and my laptop, no close neighbors, it works fine plugged into an ethernet port, no 2.4 phones, etc... I've tried 3 different brands of routers and the same issue. The SSID won't show on the 3 different laptops or my smartphone when the problem pops up. Everything disappears for 30-60 minutes...and poof...works fine for a few hours. It never happens at the same time of day or for the same amount of time.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
Posts: 4,222
rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 11:47 AM   #2
BCD BCD is offline
Blank
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: My Kenworth
Casino cash: $10199788
That's very strange. The Wi-Fi at work blanks out every now and again, but nothing like this.
Posts: 49,290
BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.BCD has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:00 PM   #3
QuikSsurfer QuikSsurfer is offline
Got swag?
 
QuikSsurfer's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Madison, MS
Casino cash: $106899
What kind of router is it?
Are the computers/laptops all set to have windows manage their wireless connection?
__________________
Posts: 11,738
QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.QuikSsurfer has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 01:31 PM   #4
rockymtnchief rockymtnchief is offline
Supporter
 
rockymtnchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Crazys of Montana
Casino cash: $1031158829
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikSsurfer View Post
What kind of router is it?
Are the computers/laptops all set to have windows manage their wireless connection?
Currently, I have the Zoom set up. It's wireless to one laptop which is managed by Windows.

When troubleshooting with the other laptops, I didn't have the wireless managed by Windows. Still no luck there.
Posts: 4,222
rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:02 PM   #5
kepp kepp is offline
MVP
 
kepp's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $194706
Does the connection still drop if you're hard wired to the router?
Posts: 9,169
kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.kepp Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:08 PM   #6
rockymtnchief rockymtnchief is offline
Supporter
 
rockymtnchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Crazys of Montana
Casino cash: $1031158829
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepp View Post
Does the connection still drop if you're hard wired to the router?
No...I wish it did. Then I'd know what to troubleshoot. The whole SSID just disappears. Even my smartphone can't find it.
Posts: 4,222
rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:30 PM   #7
RippedmyFlesh RippedmyFlesh is offline
Veteran
 
RippedmyFlesh's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York
Casino cash: $864269
What model you using? Need more info to help. You have dsl? Tried another channel?
Posts: 2,812
RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:03 PM   #8
rockymtnchief rockymtnchief is offline
Supporter
 
rockymtnchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Crazys of Montana
Casino cash: $1031158829
Currently using a Zoom router and I've tried different channels on all the routers (Zoom, Netgear, Linksys). It's DSL less than 800' from the CO. The DSL is fine. My desk top never loses link, just the wireless from time to time at random times of the day.
Posts: 4,222
rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:26 PM   #9
bevischief bevischief is offline
....
 
bevischief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota
Casino cash: $1018282502
Do you live in a rural area? I use to have problems till I had the power company install a surge protector on their side. I lost a TV and a PC power supply and had funny problems till they did it.
__________________
Posts: 23,543
bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:44 PM   #10
rockymtnchief rockymtnchief is offline
Supporter
 
rockymtnchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Crazys of Montana
Casino cash: $1031158829
Quote:
Originally Posted by bevischief View Post
Do you live in a rural area? I use to have problems till I had the power company install a surge protector on their side. I lost a TV and a PC power supply and had funny problems till they did it.
I live in downtown Big Timber Montana. I had the power guy check everything after a pick-up drove through the front of the house a few weeks ago. New tap, meter and ground.
Posts: 4,222
rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:54 PM   #11
RippedmyFlesh RippedmyFlesh is offline
Veteran
 
RippedmyFlesh's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York
Casino cash: $864269
No close neighbors? My next step would be changing security.Turn it off completely for a while.With no one close by at least you don't have to worry about free loaders on an unsecured network.
Posts: 2,812
RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.RippedmyFlesh would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:58 PM   #12
bevischief bevischief is offline
....
 
bevischief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota
Casino cash: $1018282502
Try directly connecting to the router to see if you still have the same problem. Being in down town no telling what is in the walls to disrupt the signal.
__________________
Posts: 23,543
bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 08:12 PM   #13
rockymtnchief rockymtnchief is offline
Supporter
 
rockymtnchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: The Crazys of Montana
Casino cash: $1031158829
Quote:
Originally Posted by RippedmyFlesh View Post
No close neighbors? My next step would be changing security.Turn it off completely for a while.With no one close by at least you don't have to worry about free loaders on an unsecured network.
I ran it without security on the other two routers with the same trouble.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bevischief View Post
Try directly connecting to the router to see if you still have the same problem. Being in down town no telling what is in the walls to disrupt the signal.
Did that and it works fine. I thought about it being something in the walls, but there's nothing else running in the house when it happens. There's no walls in between the laptop and router. It also seems to work with any appliance running. It just quits when it feels like it.

I'm to the point of just installing a jack closer and see if that helps. It shouldn't make a difference, but I did it once for a subscriber and it worked.
Posts: 4,222
rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.rockymtnchief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 08:16 PM   #14
bevischief bevischief is offline
....
 
bevischief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota
Casino cash: $1018282502
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockymtnchief View Post
I ran it without security on the other two routers with the same trouble.



Did that and it works fine. I thought about it being something in the walls, but there's nothing else running in the house when it happens. There's no walls in between the laptop and router. It also seems to work with any appliance running. It just quits when it feels like it.

I'm to the point of just installing a jack closer and see if that helps. It shouldn't make a difference, but I did it once for a subscriber and it worked.
How old is the building that you live in?
__________________
Posts: 23,543
bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 08:17 PM   #15
bevischief bevischief is offline
....
 
bevischief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Dakota
Casino cash: $1018282502
Also who is the provider of your internet? Is it cable, DSL... etc?
__________________
Posts: 23,543
bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.bevischief has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.