Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Royal Lounge

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2012, 10:26 AM  
InChiefsHell InChiefsHell is offline
Rockin' yer FACE OFF!
 
InChiefsHell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Casino cash: $9116
Guitar amp plays friggin radio...

Don't know if anyone else has this problem or if there's anything that can be done about it. My basement seems to be a great place to receive AM radio signals. My last amp would pick up AM radio sometimes, faintly. But the new Line6 Spider IV has it blaring, to the point where I can't really even play sometimes. I have what I thought was a decent cable, but maybe that's the problem. It just never did it this badly with my last amp. Anyway, when I turn on to jam it's like a total Spinal Tap Air Force Gig moment...drives me nuts!! Any ideas, or do I need to just buy another house...?
Posts: 13,111
InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.InChiefsHell threw an interception on a screen pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:35 AM   #2
okcchief okcchief is offline
MVP
 
okcchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Casino cash: $7350
I have that same amp and don't have that problem. It must be location.
Posts: 5,126
okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.okcchief Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:40 AM   #3
Radar Chief Radar Chief is offline
Wearing ballistic dog goggles.
 
Radar Chief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: In the box.
Casino cash: $7332
Quote:
Originally Posted by InChiefsHell View Post
Don't know if anyone else has this problem or if there's anything that can be done about it. My basement seems to be a great place to receive AM radio signals. My last amp would pick up AM radio sometimes, faintly. But the new Line6 Spider IV has it blaring, to the point where I can't really even play sometimes. I have what I thought was a decent cable, but maybe that's the problem. It just never did it this badly with my last amp. Anyway, when I turn on to jam it's like a total Spinal Tap Air Force Gig moment...drives me nuts!! Any ideas, or do I need to just buy another house...?
I know nothing about your amp but from an RF perspective the best way to eliminate interference is a proper ground.
__________________
Like "Cool Hand" Luke I'm busting rocks.

__/|_/[___]
|/ \\_| ---OllllO
_( ))~-( ))-0--))
Posts: 22,570
Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:46 AM   #4
Radar Chief Radar Chief is offline
Wearing ballistic dog goggles.
 
Radar Chief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: In the box.
Casino cash: $7332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radar Chief View Post
I know nothing about your amp but from an RF perspective the best way to eliminate interference is a proper ground.
If youíve got a good ground to the outlet running your amp you can try some clip on ferrite beads like these.

http://www.camera2000.com/en/2-lots-...d-ferrite.html

Try them on your power cord, pickup cord, even move them around and see if you can choke the interference off where its coming in.
At least these are the first steps I go through when working on an RFI issue.
__________________
Like "Cool Hand" Luke I'm busting rocks.

__/|_/[___]
|/ \\_| ---OllllO
_( ))~-( ))-0--))
Posts: 22,570
Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:47 AM   #5
L.A. Chieffan L.A. Chieffan is offline
PLAY GOOD FOOTBALL
 
L.A. Chieffan's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: American Gardens Building
Casino cash: $8778
ground loop isolater from radioshack? like twenty bucks
Posts: 15,662
L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.L.A. Chieffan is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:53 AM   #6
Garcia Bronco Garcia Bronco is offline
No Keys, No Problem
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Denver
Casino cash: $6777
Quote:
Originally Posted by InChiefsHell View Post
Don't know if anyone else has this problem or if there's anything that can be done about it. My basement seems to be a great place to receive AM radio signals. My last amp would pick up AM radio sometimes, faintly. But the new Line6 Spider IV has it blaring, to the point where I can't really even play sometimes. I have what I thought was a decent cable, but maybe that's the problem. It just never did it this badly with my last amp. Anyway, when I turn on to jam it's like a total Spinal Tap Air Force Gig moment...drives me nuts!! Any ideas, or do I need to just buy another house...?
You need to ground you amp so it doesn't pick up the radio signal.
Posts: 22,259
Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Garcia Bronco Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:16 AM   #7
notorious notorious is offline
I Lay Wood for a Living
 
notorious's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Who knows?
Casino cash: $12586
My subwoofer in my old apartment 15 years ago picked up police transmissions.


I had an old black and white TV when I was 11-12 that could pick up telephone conversations.

Weird shit can happen if you have coiled up wire (voice coil) and a moving diaphram.
Posts: 31,449
notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:17 AM   #8
otherstar otherstar is offline
Starter
 
otherstar's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX area
Casino cash: $6340
I used to have that problem with the Line 6 I had, and my Fender solid state amp as well (and we live in an older house with some ground issues). Once I went to tube amps, I've not had the problem.
Posts: 552
otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.otherstar would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:18 AM   #9
Ace Gunner Ace Gunner is offline
First Overall
 
Ace Gunner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kcmo
Casino cash: $5127
Quote:
Originally Posted by InChiefsHell View Post
Don't know if anyone else has this problem or if there's anything that can be done about it. My basement seems to be a great place to receive AM radio signals. My last amp would pick up AM radio sometimes, faintly. But the new Line6 Spider IV has it blaring, to the point where I can't really even play sometimes. I have what I thought was a decent cable, but maybe that's the problem. It just never did it this badly with my last amp. Anyway, when I turn on to jam it's like a total Spinal Tap Air Force Gig moment...drives me nuts!! Any ideas, or do I need to just buy another house...?
you need to redo your ground post. put a new one in and run 14ga to your outlets, get rid of the originals.
__________________
The Greatest
Posts: 10,389
Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:19 AM   #10
Kerberos Kerberos is offline
Chiefs Baby
 
Kerberos's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Henderson, NV
Casino cash: $5200
EVH 5150 amp
__________________
____________________________________________


She aint a hoe if you don't get laid, and it aint a show if I don't get paid-- Everlast
Posts: 5,622
Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.Kerberos must have mowed badgirl's lawn.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 11:21 AM   #11
Vegas_Dave Vegas_Dave is offline
Veteran
 
Vegas_Dave's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Casino cash: $6456
Quote:
Originally Posted by InChiefsHell View Post
Don't know if anyone else has this problem or if there's anything that can be done about it. My basement seems to be a great place to receive AM radio signals. My last amp would pick up AM radio sometimes, faintly. But the new Line6 Spider IV has it blaring, to the point where I can't really even play sometimes. I have what I thought was a decent cable, but maybe that's the problem. It just never did it this badly with my last amp. Anyway, when I turn on to jam it's like a total Spinal Tap Air Force Gig moment...drives me nuts!! Any ideas, or do I need to just buy another house...?
Not sure if you have received any answer yet but perhaps its your ground...

Seriously, do people even read what is posted before posting?
__________________
Lastly,

Redrum_69:
Posts: 1,703
Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:03 PM   #12
Radar Chief Radar Chief is offline
Wearing ballistic dog goggles.
 
Radar Chief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: In the box.
Casino cash: $7332
Quote:
Originally Posted by notorious View Post
My subwoofer in my old apartment 15 years ago picked up police transmissions.


I had an old black and white TV when I was 11-12 that could pick up telephone conversations.

Weird shit can happen if you have coiled up wire (voice coil) and a moving diaphram.
In my old house we had a neighbor that was a HAM guy, had a big, for a residential area, tower for short wave and Iíd pick up his transmissions on my stereo. Not loud though and it was a one sided conversation since I couldnít hear who he was talking too.
__________________
Like "Cool Hand" Luke I'm busting rocks.

__/|_/[___]
|/ \\_| ---OllllO
_( ))~-( ))-0--))
Posts: 22,570
Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:05 PM   #13
Radar Chief Radar Chief is offline
Wearing ballistic dog goggles.
 
Radar Chief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: In the box.
Casino cash: $7332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas_Dave View Post
Not sure if you have received any answer yet but perhaps its your ground...

Seriously, do people even read what is posted before posting?
I donít know if itís been mentioned yet but it could be the ground line.
__________________
Like "Cool Hand" Luke I'm busting rocks.

__/|_/[___]
|/ \\_| ---OllllO
_( ))~-( ))-0--))
Posts: 22,570
Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.Radar Chief is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:08 PM   #14
Rain Man Rain Man is online now
No known superpowers
 
Rain Man's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In A World Few See
Casino cash: $6436
VARSITY
Having read all of the previous posts, my guess would be that you need a ground.
__________________
Welcome to NFL Sunday! At 11:00 see Peyton Manning flip off the top rope and clothesline Clay Matthews! At 2:00 Drew Brees will hit Terrell Suggs with a chair! Buy your Andrew Luck jersey and let's get reeeeeady to rummmmmble!
Posts: 77,367
Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rain Man is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 12:16 PM   #15
JD10367 JD10367 is offline
Snowciopath
 
JD10367's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: RI
Casino cash: $5524
I have no help. Aside from maybe trying a ground wire.

I just wanted to hear this.

Posts: 11,325
JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.JD10367 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.