Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2015, 03:47 PM  
go bowe go bowe is offline
Gonzo = Sexy Bitch
 
go bowe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $20966
damn comcast to hell, dirty hell...

okj, the title was an attention=grabber more than a serious thing, although it would be completely correct to say that many times over...

my son has a new x-1 infinity platform at his house that has a (one) modem as part of the setup...

he moved it to his room because the wireless signal was too weak to reach 25 feet through 3 plaster walls...

now his roommate whose room is in the front of the house can't access the wireless network anymore and wants to know what the best course of action would be (read cheapest)...

should he just call comcast to come out and fix the problem or is there a better easier solution?
Posts: 31,835
go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 03:59 PM
eDave
This message has been deleted by eDave.
Old 06-14-2015, 04:02 PM   #2
kcxiv kcxiv is offline
Joc Pederson
 
kcxiv's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Valley, Cali
Casino cash: $25682
Thats not a comcast problem. Thats a wifi having shit range problem. You need one of them wifi range extenders.
Posts: 25,768
kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 04:45 PM   #3
cabletech94 cabletech94 is offline
Everything is Awesome!!!!!
 
cabletech94's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Pitt
Casino cash: $14455
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcxiv View Post
Thats not a comcast problem. Thats a wifi having shit range problem. You need one of them wifi range extenders.
this.

those old walls with lathe and plaster and brick and shit are just the worst.
__________________
Originally Posted by Big Smoke
May as well laugh. Otherwise I will probably break shit.
Posts: 5,802
cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.cabletech94 is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 05:27 PM   #4
eDave eDave is offline
MVP
 
eDave's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Casino cash: $55077
Try changing your wireless channel. Too many people (routers) on the same channel bogs it. All surrounding routers are on the same (default) channel, most likely channel 1, same as you. There are 11 channels.

Also; repeater. Then centralize the router. Your son is a wifi whore.

Last edited by eDave; 06-14-2015 at 05:45 PM..
Posts: 7,982
eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 05:43 PM   #5
KCrockaholic KCrockaholic is online now
Sarcasm
 
KCrockaholic's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Olathe
Casino cash: $12360
Comcast is trash though.
Posts: 16,343
KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.KCrockaholic is blessed with 50/50 Hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 05:55 PM   #6
DaFace DaFace is offline
Version 3.0
 
DaFace's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Donkey Land
Casino cash: $20076
Quote:
Originally Posted by eDave View Post
Try changing your wireless channel. Too many people (routers) on the same channel bogs it. All surrounding routers are on the same (default) channel, most likely channel 1, same as you. There are 11 channels.

Also; repeater. Then centralize the router. Your son is a wifi whore.
While there are technically 11, only three of them should ever be used in the U.S. (1, 6, and 11).


Wifi reception issues are a big pain to deal with unfortunately. Depending on the situation, a repeater could help in whatever room is in between the room where the router currently is and where his roommate can't get reception. If the roommate happens to be using a desktop computer, a powerline network could be effective as well and would completely work around the wifi issues.
Posts: 29,262
DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 06:07 PM   #7
kcxiv kcxiv is offline
Joc Pederson
 
kcxiv's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Valley, Cali
Casino cash: $25682
Quote:
Originally Posted by KCrockaholic View Post
Comcast is trash though.
Its been rock solid where i live. 105 mb line sports package cable tv with showtime and HBO for 118 a month. That's not bad. Though one thing i will say you cant pause live tv on 2ndary boxes is crap.
Posts: 25,768
kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.kcxiv wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 06:14 PM   #8
eDave eDave is offline
MVP
 
eDave's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Casino cash: $55077
http://www.wikihow.com/Increase-the-Range-of-Your-Wifi
Posts: 7,982
eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.eDave 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 07:34 PM   #9
go bowe go bowe is offline
Gonzo = Sexy Bitch
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $20966
Quote:
Originally Posted by eDave View Post
Try changing your wireless channel. Too many people (routers) on the same channel bogs it. All surrounding routers are on the same (default) channel, most likely channel 1, same as you. There are 11 channels.

Also; repeater. Then centralize the router. Your son is a wifi whore.
yes, he's sold his soul for excellent reception and transfer speeds on his new toy...

the other 3 roommates are considering sedition and treason...
Posts: 31,835
go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 07:36 PM   #10
go bowe go bowe is offline
Gonzo = Sexy Bitch
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $20966
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaFace View Post
While there are technically 11, only three of them should ever be used in the U.S. (1, 6, and 11).


Wifi reception issues are a big pain to deal with unfortunately. Depending on the situation, a repeater could help in whatever room is in between the room where the router currently is and where his roommate can't get reception. If the roommate happens to be using a desktop computer, a powerline network could be effective as well and would completely work around the wifi issues.
power line network?

can that be done without much expense?

i'd love to stop screwing with their wifi issues...

yeah, the roommate has a desktop, an old compaq...
Posts: 31,835
go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 07:42 PM   #11
go bowe go bowe is offline
Gonzo = Sexy Bitch
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $20966
Quote:
Originally Posted by eDave View Post
good ideas there, thanks...
Posts: 31,835
go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 07:47 PM   #12
DaFace DaFace is offline
Version 3.0
 
DaFace's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Donkey Land
Casino cash: $20076
Quote:
Originally Posted by go bowe View Post
power line network?

can that be done without much expense?

i'd love to stop screwing with their wifi issues...

yeah, the roommate has a desktop, an old compaq...
These will essentially turn it into a big ethernet extension cord that runs through the electrical wiring of the house.

http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...dp/B00AWRUICG/
Posts: 29,262
DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.DaFace is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 08:11 PM   #13
Brainiac Brainiac is offline
MVP
 
Brainiac's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Casino cash: $17752
Quote:
Originally Posted by go bowe View Post
power line network?

can that be done without much expense?

i'd love to stop screwing with their wifi issues...

yeah, the roommate has a desktop, an old compaq...
Those power line adapters work great. When I first read about them I thought it sounded like a stupid idea. But I've used them for several years and they work perfectly. It's an easy way to get a wired network connection to an area of your house with poor wifi reception.
Posts: 5,172
Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.Brainiac threw an interception on a screen pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2015, 12:12 PM   #14
BigRichard BigRichard is online now
Buddy Christ is a Chiefs fan
 
BigRichard's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Casino cash: $16787
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaFace View Post
These will essentially turn it into a big ethernet extension cord that runs through the electrical wiring of the house.

http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-PA4...dp/B00AWRUICG/
If you have limited plug ins get one with a pass through...

http://www.amazon.com/Powerline-Giga...erline+adapter

As a couple have mentioned they work good. I installed a couple for a guy I do side work for that was having issues with his Wi Fi because of wireless security cameras screwing with the signal. Worked like a charm and he loves them.
__________________
"You know, they lay down with their ugly wives in front of their ugly children and just look at their loser lives and then they look at me and say, "I CAN'T PROCESS IT!" Well, no, and you never will. Stop trying. Just sit back and enjoy the show .... You know?"

Carlos Irwin Estevez
Posts: 3,564
BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.BigRichard Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 10:45 AM   #15
go bowe go bowe is offline
Gonzo = Sexy Bitch
 
go bowe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: independence
Casino cash: $20966
how do they work? do they pick up the wireless signal from the modem or do you have to plug one into to wired network and then plug another into the room needing the wifi reception?
Posts: 31,835
go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.go bowe has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.