Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2013, 07:41 PM  
Sure-Oz Sure-Oz is offline
Stay positive, don't give up
 
Sure-Oz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Casino cash: $9262
Router issue-At&t uverse internet

Just got Uverse internet installed friday. It got installed downstairs right behind a 60" big screen tv with the wires and everything on the wall. it's a wife router/modem in one. Our last internet 'dsl' router/modem was in the middle of the house and upstairs but now this is directly behind the tv. Can this cause issue with signals?

Signal strength is full in most the house but sometimes clicking a site it just sits on 'waiting for website to reply' and then loads after maybe a minute. Other times its instant. I can literally be on another tab and load a site fast and the other one is still waiting to load the next page. Im trying easy going pages like yahoo or gmail and still the same. I checked internet speeds and it's download rate avgs about 8mbs a sec usually which is higher than the dsl we had before that worked fine which was around 3mb.

Not sure why the 'lag' when clicking sites at times.

Ideas? I am thinking of calling a tech to get this figured out

Last edited by Sure-Oz; 07-31-2013 at 07:58 PM..
Posts: 40,494
Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 03:38 PM   #16
listopencil listopencil is offline
sic semper tyrannis
 
listopencil's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In Partibus Infidelium
Casino cash: $13283
I found this. Might help if you have the NVG510:

http://www.ron-berman.com/2011/11/24...u-verse-users/
__________________
"As I walked out the door toward the gate that would lead to my freedom, I knew if I didn't leave my bitterness and hatred behind I'd still be in prison."


Posts: 29,087
listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.listopencil is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 04:58 PM   #17
asdf asdf is offline
Starter
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: KCMO
Casino cash: $7656
I had a similar issue and it was caused by my providers laggy dns servers. Once I hard set my router to use google's dns servers (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) that initial lag before page loading went away. A different way of trying it would be to change your local computers network settings to use the google dns servers instead of the DHCP assigned servers...
Posts: 193
asdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking aboutasdf is the dumbass Milkman is always talking about
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 06:23 PM   #18
Sure-Oz Sure-Oz is offline
Stay positive, don't give up
 
Sure-Oz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Casino cash: $9262
Quote:
Originally Posted by listopencil View Post
Oh, hey, do you use the Motorola NVG510?
I dont, it's some at&t 5031nv at&t router...i'm baffled and have scheduled a tech to come.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
Sure-Oz could ****ing track anyone in the country via Twitter. Dude makes me scared to leave the house.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
.
Sure-Oz in this mother****er. Resident Tweet master and maligned Royals fan.
Posts: 40,494
Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:14 AM   #19
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $10848
I always advise to never go with the ISP providers router. You're paying $8/month for a router that cost them $20-25 total. They are always complete junk and they just rape the customer with the monthly rent fee.
__________________
Posts: 26,182
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:27 AM   #20
TambaBerry TambaBerry is offline
Veteran
 
TambaBerry's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Casino cash: $11939
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sure-Oz View Post
-56 dbm whatever that means.

Saw no packets lost at all or errors when logging into the router.

I'm clueless
That is way to high you want to be between -9 and 9 closer to zero is better. Your signal strength is to high.
Posts: 3,083
TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.TambaBerry wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 09:35 AM   #21
Aspengc8 Aspengc8 is offline
Veteran
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Casino cash: $7750
Does this happen all the time, or just when accessing certain sites?

If your speed test is good, and your not seeing interface errors, AT&T could be having internal routing issues or DNS issues, hence the 'lag' your getting resolving the host name.
Posts: 1,185
Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.Aspengc8 would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 11:12 AM   #22
morphius morphius is offline
World's finest morphius
 
morphius's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Casino cash: $7638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish View Post
I always advise to never go with the ISP providers router. You're paying $8/month for a router that cost them $20-25 total. They are always complete junk and they just rape the customer with the monthly rent fee.
AT&T's router also controls the TV's, so you can't really go off the shelf.
__________________
Herm Edwards neutering offenses one QB at a time.
Posts: 24,646
morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.morphius would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:02 PM   #23
Sure-Oz Sure-Oz is offline
Stay positive, don't give up
 
Sure-Oz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Casino cash: $9262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspengc8 View Post
Does this happen all the time, or just when accessing certain sites?

If your speed test is good, and your not seeing interface errors, AT&T could be having internal routing issues or DNS issues, hence the 'lag' your getting resolving the host name.
Happens randomly, any site. Chiefsplanet, slickdeals whatever...hell right now im downloading games about 750mb a piece in about 8 min so speed isnt the issue. PS3 disconnects randomly, not sure why and same with the websites waiting for reply like someone pushed the pause button.

As for the router my room is next door to where it is.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
Sure-Oz could ****ing track anyone in the country via Twitter. Dude makes me scared to leave the house.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
.
Sure-Oz in this mother****er. Resident Tweet master and maligned Royals fan.
Posts: 40,494
Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:03 PM   #24
Sure-Oz Sure-Oz is offline
Stay positive, don't give up
 
Sure-Oz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Casino cash: $9262
I had a tech over the phone say he ran tests and then said nothing was off with it...and blames my settings or how many devices are connected. Funny, the at&t 1.5 mb dsl i had before had 12 devices connected and never had an issue other than it was slow internet for gaming or downloading games. reg browsing was fast

Regardless someone has to take a look, speed isnt the issue its teh damn annoying lag, which i dont understand
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
Sure-Oz could ****ing track anyone in the country via Twitter. Dude makes me scared to leave the house.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
.
Sure-Oz in this mother****er. Resident Tweet master and maligned Royals fan.
Posts: 40,494
Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:21 PM   #25
Sure-Oz Sure-Oz is offline
Stay positive, don't give up
 
Sure-Oz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Casino cash: $9262
Anyone that installs or works with this shit does 'sending a fresh signal' to my router/modem actually do anything? that is what the tech did over the phone..now the tech is going to access some channel on my router and make 'changes' hope this does it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
Sure-Oz could ****ing track anyone in the country via Twitter. Dude makes me scared to leave the house.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
.
Sure-Oz in this mother****er. Resident Tweet master and maligned Royals fan.
Posts: 40,494
Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 05:59 PM   #26
TribalElder TribalElder is offline
Alex Smith is a Bitch
 
TribalElder's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Disappointed in da Chiefs
Casino cash: $27767
the Uverse wifi modem router combo 2 wire is a piece of shit. I would suggest getting a wifi router and disabling the wireless in the 2wire modem. I couldn't get anything to connect to it and they blast out 400mw by default as I recall. The problem is they channel hop depending on spectrum availability and if your neighborhood is wifi'd up your hosed.

get a dedicated wireless router and setup WPA2
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcpasco View Post
All us Mizzou fans knows how this ends
Quote:
Originally Posted by petegz28 View Post
holy **** that was a bullshit call
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoman View Post
Being the resident Tacoman, I feel obligated to point out that TribalElder knows what's up.
Posts: 12,306
TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.TribalElder is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:45 AM   #27
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $10848
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphius View Post
AT&T's router also controls the TV's, so you can't really go off the shelf.
Not sure i understand what you mean by it controlling the TVs. Surely there is a way to use your own, and if not that's a load of BS...
__________________
Posts: 26,182
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:50 AM   #28
Sure-Oz Sure-Oz is offline
Stay positive, don't give up
 
Sure-Oz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO
Casino cash: $9262
Maybe its a dns thing with the router? do you change the these settings below in the router maybe?

https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/?csw=1

This is straight up pissing me off.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
Sure-Oz could ****ing track anyone in the country via Twitter. Dude makes me scared to leave the house.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeezNutz View Post
.
Sure-Oz in this mother****er. Resident Tweet master and maligned Royals fan.
Posts: 40,494
Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Sure-Oz Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 12:30 PM   #29
nstygma nstygma is offline
Veteran
 
nstygma's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location:
Casino cash: $7622
you need to isolate.
are you using a laptop? disable the wifi on your laptop and use an ethernet cable to plug directly in to the router. browse for a while and see if you have the same problems. if not, it truly a wireless issue. also, see if you have the issue over wifi while sitting next to the router to see if its a distance issue.
this will let you know if you need to relocate or replace it, or maybe add your own router to the center of the house and hook it into the uverse router with a separate ethernet line.
__________________
you've heard that voice so long you believe it to be you
Posts: 2,231
nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.nstygma Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 12:48 PM   #30
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $10848
Quote:
Originally Posted by nstygma View Post
you need to isolate.
are you using a laptop? disable the wifi on your laptop and use an ethernet cable to plug directly in to the router. browse for a while and see if you have the same problems. if not, it truly a wireless issue. also, see if you have the issue over wifi while sitting next to the router to see if its a distance issue.
this will let you know if you need to relocate or replace it, or maybe add your own router to the center of the house and hook it into the uverse router with a separate ethernet line.
This is good advice. Also be sure to test multiple different devices. If you have more than one laptop or a tablet, test them side by side.
__________________
Posts: 26,182
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.