Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2013, 09:43 AM  
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
Blue Ballz
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $65068
Before I take my desktop for repair...

The story from my wife is that my son powered down our Dell studio desktop (using the power button)and it simply won't power up.

Any troubleshooting techniques I can use before I take it to a shop?
Posts: 10,277
Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:58 PM   #16
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
Blue Ballz
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $65068
here's the ac cord and green light.
__________________
"No Two People Will Do It The Same, You got It Down...When You Appear to Be In Pain!"
Posts: 10,277
Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:11 PM   #17
loochy loochy is online now
That's what she said.
 
loochy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: TECKSIS
Casino cash: $440826915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie F. Swin View Post
here's the ac cord and green light.
ok, so psu has power and is operational. that's good.

take the cover off of the case and see if any leds are lit on the motherboard
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by big nasty kcnut View Post
yeah i may be a retard but I'll be the one banging your girlfriend when you're out with your friends.
Posts: 16,958
loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:13 PM   #18
hometeam hometeam is offline
Veteran
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $2043237
Quote:
Originally Posted by loochy View Post
ok, so psu has power and is operational. that's good.

take the cover off of the case and see if any leds are lit on the motherboard
Just because the light is on does not mean the PSU is functioning correctly.

In fact more often than not, a dead PSU will still light up the mobo but just wont POST.



OP, when you open the case up there will be a watch battery in there somewhere.

Pull it out for 30 seconds, then put it back. Then try pressing the front power button. This will clear your BIOS back to stock.
Posts: 4,478
hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:29 PM   #19
Fish Fish is online now
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2113055
Yeah, that light simply means the power supply is getting voltage. Not necessarily providing voltage to the mobo. Still possible that the power supply is dead.

But my guess is that the mobo is kaput...
__________________
Posts: 24,536
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:30 PM   #20
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
Blue Ballz
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $65068
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometeam View Post
.

Pull it out for 30 seconds, then put it back. Then try pressing the front power button. This will clear your BIOS back to stock.
no joy...


Would the motherboard have any say about what components get power (fans, CD-ROM)?
__________________
"No Two People Will Do It The Same, You got It Down...When You Appear to Be In Pain!"
Posts: 10,277
Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:42 PM   #21
Fish Fish is online now
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2113055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie F. Swin View Post
no joy...


Would the motherboard have any say about what components get power (fans, CD-ROM)?
It depends. Some case fans plug directly into the power supply and would work despite a broken motherboard. But everything plugged into the motherboard would be completely dead if it is in fact the mobo that's at fault.
__________________
Posts: 24,536
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:51 PM   #22
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
Blue Ballz
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $65068


The psu appears to have a fan built in (my novice eye). It's not running.
__________________
"No Two People Will Do It The Same, You got It Down...When You Appear to Be In Pain!"
Posts: 10,277
Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 03:56 PM   #23
Fish Fish is online now
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2113055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie F. Swin View Post
The psu appears to have a fan built in (my novice eye). It's not running.
Yeah. But it won't run without the computer being on with everything working. So that doesn't really mean anything.

See if you can find the cluster of wires from the power supply to the motherboard. Looks like this:



Unplug that for a few minutes, and plug it back in. Then try to power it up. Sometimes I've seen that work...
__________________
Posts: 24,536
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:02 PM   #24
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
Blue Ballz
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $65068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish View Post
Yeah. But it won't run without the computer being on with everything working. So that doesn't really mean anything.

See if you can find the cluster of wires from the power supply to the motherboard. Looks like this:



Unplug that for a few minutes, and plug it back in. Then try to power it up. Sometimes I've seen that work...

GAH! it looks like its wedged underneath my CD ROM
__________________
"No Two People Will Do It The Same, You got It Down...When You Appear to Be In Pain!"
Posts: 10,277
Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:03 PM   #25
Fish Fish is online now
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2113055
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie F. Swin View Post
GAH! it looks like its wedged underneath my CD ROM
Well it likely won't be a magical fix, so don't put too much effort into it. But I've seen it happen before.....
__________________
Posts: 24,536
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 04:11 PM   #26
hometeam hometeam is offline
Veteran
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $2043237
In this case, I think it is more and more likely its the power supply.

If not, its the mobo.

If its the mobo, forget the POS dell, buy a new computer. If you take it in to get fixed it will come away as what you could pay for a 'brand name' computer
Posts: 4,478
hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 07:23 AM   #27
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
Blue Ballz
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $65068
Well fellas, turns out it was the power supply. Got one from ebay for $25 and now she's up and runnin'!

CP comes through again!
__________________
"No Two People Will Do It The Same, You got It Down...When You Appear to Be In Pain!"
Posts: 10,277
Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.Archie F. Swin would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2013, 07:54 AM   #28
hometeam hometeam is offline
Veteran
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $2043237
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometeam View Post
with PC, one symptom can be caused by a ton of issues.

Straight up no power after working fine? Likely the power supply


switch it out with a known working one, if it comes on and works correctly, order you a cheap power supply and call it good. You can get a power supply that will last several years in the 25ish dollar range. If you want a nice one, plan on spending 60-80. In your case, some pre-built dell? Go with the cheapy :P

Be a ton cheaper than taking it in.

If you where local I would do it for you
Post #2. I love being right.
Posts: 4,478
hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 09:29 AM   #29
durtyrute durtyrute is offline
Sho nuff
 
durtyrute's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chieftown USA
Casino cash: $994908
Hey fellas I need some cp help with my home build. The other day I went to turn it on and the fans and lights come on, but the screen is blank, and neither the mouse or the keyboard light up. I checked the mouse and keyboard with my old computer and they are fine. The monitor says its not getting any input, so I believe it is fine as well. I just built this about six months ago, is it possible that the motherboard is bad already? Is there a way to check without taking the whole thing apart?


PLEASE HEEEEEELLLLLP!!!
__________________
ďAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." ~ Edmund Burke
Posts: 5,600
durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 12:00 PM   #30
hometeam hometeam is offline
Veteran
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $2043237
Quote:
Originally Posted by durtyrute View Post
Hey fellas I need some cp help with my home build. The other day I went to turn it on and the fans and lights come on, but the screen is blank, and neither the mouse or the keyboard light up. I checked the mouse and keyboard with my old computer and they are fine. The monitor says its not getting any input, so I believe it is fine as well. I just built this about six months ago, is it possible that the motherboard is bad already? Is there a way to check without taking the whole thing apart?


PLEASE HEEEEEELLLLLP!!!
Power supply :/

its possible the mobo is bad, but switch the power supply out for a known working one and see what happens, my money is that it boots up and works fine.

Before you do that, try resetting the BIOS as well, pull the little battery out of the mobo for a few seconds. Then replace it.
Posts: 4,478
hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.hometeam threw an interception on a screen pass.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.