Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Ed & Dave Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2013, 09:43 AM  
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
Winner
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $5530
Before I take my desktop for repair...

The story from my wife is that my son powered down our Dell studio desktop (using the power button)and it simply won't power up.

Any troubleshooting techniques I can use before I take it to a shop?
Posts: 10,697
Archie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby PiscitelliArchie F. Swin 's adopt a chief was Sabby Piscitelli
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 12:27 PM   #31
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $6020
Quote:
Originally Posted by durtyrute View Post
Hey fellas I need some cp help with my home build. The other day I went to turn it on and the fans and lights come on, but the screen is blank, and neither the mouse or the keyboard light up. I checked the mouse and keyboard with my old computer and they are fine. The monitor says its not getting any input, so I believe it is fine as well. I just built this about six months ago, is it possible that the motherboard is bad already? Is there a way to check without taking the whole thing apart?


PLEASE HEEEEEELLLLLP!!!
couple things

turn everything off, including main power switch on PSU and then unplug hard drive from Mobo. Try starting it up without a hard drive connected and see if it will go into the setup program(F10 or F1 button usually. It says it on screen during bootup).

That will eliminate the hard drive and software possibilities.


another thing

turn everything off again, pull mobo battery(looks like a watch battery)

Then hit the reset button on the mobo. Sometimes it a jumper switch. This will reset all the CPU and memory speed settings in case something got messed up.

put battery back and plug everything in and try to start it up
Posts: 81,873
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 05:07 PM   #32
hometeam hometeam is offline
MVP
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $5399
If its a hard drive it should still POST though.
Posts: 5,334
hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 10:08 PM   #33
durtyrute durtyrute is offline
Sho nuff
 
durtyrute's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chieftown USA
Casino cash: $5025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Laz View Post
couple things

turn everything off, including main power switch on PSU and then unplug hard drive from Mobo. Try starting it up without a hard drive connected and see if it will go into the setup program(F10 or F1 button usually. It says it on screen during bootup).

That will eliminate the hard drive and software possibilities.


another thing

turn everything off again, pull mobo battery(looks like a watch battery)

Then hit the reset button on the mobo. Sometimes it a jumper switch. This will reset all the CPU and memory speed settings in case something got messed up.

put battery back and plug everything in and try to start it up
I did that and it went to the boot screen. I have two hard drives one is a SSD. It only went to that screen with both of them unplugged. Am I going to lose all my shit?
__________________
ďAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." ~ Edmund Burke
Posts: 5,659
durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:47 AM   #34
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $6020
Quote:
Originally Posted by durtyrute View Post
I did that and it went to the boot screen. I have two hard drives one is a SSD. It only went to that screen with both of them unplugged. Am I going to lose all my shit?
so it started up without the hard drive? Did you make it into the Bios?

If so then it's either Hard drive mechanical failure or software corruption.

I supposed it could be bad memory that fails when it starts loading up windows.

Do you have an old hard drive you can stick in there to test it out?

You might also try putting the OS disk(windows?) into the DVD player and starting it up like that. Make sure the DVD player is the 1st boot option.
Posts: 81,873
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:53 AM   #35
Detoxing Detoxing is offline
Dyslexic Speed Reader
 
Detoxing's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego
Casino cash: $5380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Laz View Post
couple things

turn everything off, including main power switch on PSU and then unplug hard drive from Mobo. Try starting it up without a hard drive connected and see if it will go into the setup program(F10 or F1 button usually. It says it on screen during bootup).

That will eliminate the hard drive and software possibilities.


another thing

turn everything off again, pull mobo battery(looks like a watch battery)

Then hit the reset button on the mobo. Sometimes it a jumper switch. This will reset all the CPU and memory speed settings in case something got messed up.

put battery back and plug everything in and try to start it up
I wouldn't recommend a novice to **** around with jumpers unless he's going to take the time to read the manual for his mobo.

I did that once.....fried the mobo.....learned the hard way.
Posts: 19,031
Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.Detoxing has an IQ even higher than Frankie's.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 12:07 PM   #36
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $6020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Detoxing View Post
I wouldn't recommend a novice to **** around with jumpers unless he's going to take the time to read the manual for his mobo.

I did that once.....fried the mobo.....learned the hard way.
I don't know how much he understands or is familiar with ... just giving him suggestions.

If he doesn't understand then he should limit his choices.
Posts: 81,873
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 12:36 PM   #37
durtyrute durtyrute is offline
Sho nuff
 
durtyrute's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chieftown USA
Casino cash: $5025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Laz View Post
I don't know how much he understands or is familiar with ... just giving him suggestions.

If he doesn't understand then he should limit his choices.
I don't know anything about jumpers or any of that. I unplugged both harddrives and it went to the bios. The other computer I have is super duper old and the connections are not the same so I can't test with it.

I'll try using the dvd drive to boot it. I have class tonight so I can't do it until later on, but I will and I will keep you up to date.

Thank you very much for your help
__________________
ďAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." ~ Edmund Burke
Posts: 5,659
durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 12:43 PM   #38
srvy srvy is online now
Veteran
 
srvy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: KC
Casino cash: $5737
Ive had similar to that problem before both times was caused by a bum windows update.

If you have a Windows repair or startup disk pop it in and reboot thru dvd drive you may have to f10 into bios and set to boot cd 1st. then reboot and let windows repair load and select repair startup. Let it do its thing if it in the end asks you to roll back to a time it last worked and you dont want do that reboot again. Then F 8 as it starts up see if you can get into a safe mode boot up with networking. Go to control panel delete software select show windows updates. Remove any win updates that may have occurred on the day that you lost computing. Then run your virus scanner and also use a good Malware remover such as Malwarebytes its fee. Then try and reboot.

Also if its HDMI check the cable to see if its slipped out or better yet change it out with a known working cable

Also, I failed to mention on all your reboots dc the power for a minute or so .
Posts: 1,425
srvy has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 01:14 PM   #39
durtyrute durtyrute is offline
Sho nuff
 
durtyrute's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chieftown USA
Casino cash: $5025
Quote:
Originally Posted by srvy View Post
Ive had similar to that problem before both times was caused by a bum windows update.

If you have a Windows repair or startup disk pop it in and reboot thru dvd drive you may have to f10 into bios and set to boot cd 1st. then reboot and let windows repair load and select repair startup. Let it do its thing if it in the end asks you to roll back to a time it last worked and you dont want do that reboot again. Then F 8 as it starts up see if you can get into a safe mode boot up with networking. Go to control panel delete software select show windows updates. Remove any win updates that may have occurred on the day that you lost computing. Then run your virus scanner and also use a good Malware remover such as Malwarebytes its fee. Then try and reboot.

Also if its HDMI check the cable to see if its slipped out or better yet change it out with a known working cable

Also, I failed to mention on all your reboots dc the power for a minute or so .
I will try that also, thank you.

Edit: I just remembered seeing an update right before I powered down last time. I will check both recommendations tonight. Thank you guys again
__________________
ďAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." ~ Edmund Burke

Last edited by durtyrute; 12-03-2013 at 01:31 PM..
Posts: 5,659
durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:21 PM   #40
Mr. Laz Mr. Laz is offline
Don't Tease Me
 
Mr. Laz's Avatar
 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: KS
Casino cash: $6020
Quote:
Originally Posted by durtyrute View Post
I don't know anything about jumpers or any of that. I unplugged both harddrives and it went to the bios. The other computer I have is super duper old and the connections are not the same so I can't test with it.

I'll try using the dvd drive to boot it. I have class tonight so I can't do it until later on, but I will and I will keep you up to date.

Thank you very much for your help
sure ... just trying to find out whether it's Hardware or Software problem.

It's good that it boots to bios
Posts: 81,873
Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.Mr. Laz is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:27 PM   #41
loochy loochy is offline
That's what she said.
 
loochy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: TECKSIS
Casino cash: $5954
Does the computer beep at all when you turn it on?

Many times the number, frequency, and length of the beeps are codes for certain types of errors.
__________________
Please note that any racist, sexist, or otherwise outrageous opinions expressed in this post have been made for comedic or trolling purposes only and are not the actual opinions of loochy or any affiliated entities. Reader discretion is advised.

Quote:
Originally Posted by big nasty kcnut View Post
yeah i may be a retard but I'll be the one banging your girlfriend when you're out with your friends.
Posts: 18,243
loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.loochy is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 02:28 PM   #42
durtyrute durtyrute is offline
Sho nuff
 
durtyrute's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chieftown USA
Casino cash: $5025
Quote:
Originally Posted by loochy View Post
Does the computer beep at all when you turn it on?

Many times the number, frequency, and length of the beeps are codes for certain types of errors.
No beeps
__________________
ďAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." ~ Edmund Burke
Posts: 5,659
durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 09:59 PM   #43
durtyrute durtyrute is offline
Sho nuff
 
durtyrute's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chieftown USA
Casino cash: $5025
I put the boot disk in and started the repair, but then I realized I didn't plug in the hard drive. Then I plugged in the hard drive, but it wouldn't let me do the repair just the install. I chose install and it went a few screens then said i need to restart without the disc. I did that and it started working!! I went and got malwarebytes and it picked up a couple threats. I tried to unistall the updates but nothing happened.

Thank you guys so much for helping me with this. I'm not sure how it just started working, but thank you. I'm running a full scan now before bed.

Thanks again
__________________
ďAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." ~ Edmund Burke
Posts: 5,659
durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2013, 11:08 PM   #44
srvy srvy is online now
Veteran
 
srvy's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: KC
Casino cash: $5737
Happy to hear that whatever ya did fixed it.
Posts: 1,425
srvy has disabled reputation
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 06:21 AM   #45
durtyrute durtyrute is offline
Sho nuff
 
durtyrute's Avatar
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chieftown USA
Casino cash: $5025
Quote:
Originally Posted by srvy View Post
Happy to hear that whatever ya did fixed it.
Thank you, you guys are nothing short of awesome.

__________________
ďAll that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." ~ Edmund Burke
Posts: 5,659
durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.durtyrute wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.