Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Royal Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2013, 07:50 AM  
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
What a Season
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $9681
Crazy Long Start Up Time

I have a 5 yr old Dell desktop that, as a whole, functions well. What's crazy are the boot/startup times. It takes on average 4 1/2 minutes between selecting a user and having a fully functional desktop. Most of that time is on a black screen.

I've run virus/malware/spyware scans. I've defragged and run disk cleaners and everything seems to be in good working order(considering the age of the machine). I have noticed that when you restart the machine it always wants to do a disk check.

I have recently replaced the power supply, and we do have some bulky games on this machine. Maybe 4 games combining for about 15-16 GB in size.

IS there anything I can do to get this thing to come to life more quickly?
Posts: 11,231
Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 02:37 PM   #16
hometeam hometeam is online now
Supporter
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $8991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaid View Post
No, it's not wrong. You uninstall and reinstall programs which changes and resets files. Some will remove a file you might need etc. So unless you're a grandma who just runs a computer as is and never connects to the internet, you will inevitably need to reload at some point. Ask any tech who's worth a shit and they'll tell you the same.
Yep, its wrong.

Sorry bro, I mean nothing by it, but your windows files do not 'inevitably' lose integrity or become corrupted or anything else. There is no accidental deletion of files upon removing programs that might cause slow startup.

And you never need to reload windows unless you have a problem.
Posts: 5,727
hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 07:05 PM   #17
Shaid Shaid is offline
Veteran
 
Shaid's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Casino cash: $6800
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometeam View Post
Yep, its wrong.

Sorry bro, I mean nothing by it, but your windows files do not 'inevitably' lose integrity or become corrupted or anything else. There is no accidental deletion of files upon removing programs that might cause slow startup.

And you never need to reload windows unless you have a problem.
No, it's not wrong.

I was a Technical Team Lead for a major computer manufacturer and have built my own PCs for 15 years. I got that promotion after being with the company for only 9 months. I'm really not trying to measure dicks here but I want to make it clear that I have an idea of what I'm talking about.

System files do get changed/replaced. The comments about no accidental removals/changes of system files is insane. You obviously don't remember the Myth II uninstaller fiasco that turned Bungie from an independent company to a Microsoft lackey. There's a slew of others but that's probably the most prominent example. Programmers make mistakes in their install/uninstall protocols all the time. Windows is much better now then they used to be about allowing the changes but it still happens. If it couldn't happen, no virus would ever work.

He also talks about needing to run a checkdisk on startup which could potentially point to bad sectors on his hard drive, another potential cause for system file corruption. A 5 year old PC very likely has bad sectors and very likely has some system files that have lost integrity. You can go into msconfig and edit the startup items or go directly into the run lines in the registry and make manual corrections that way but you are putting a band-aid on the problem. Why would Microsoft even have an option to Repair Windows on their disks if it couldn't happen?

The truth is it usually just depends on when you want to do a reload. I personally would choose to do it while I still had the option to back up files the easy way in windows and not wait until I no longer have that option.

That's my 2 cents, you can decide on what you choose to believe.
__________________
Posts: 1,706
Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 07:11 PM   #18
Old Dog Old Dog is offline
Supporter
 
Old Dog's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Central Kansas
Casino cash: $10709
Wouldn't simply upgrading the RAM help him quite a bit?
Posts: 9,387
Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.Old Dog is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 08:35 PM   #19
phisherman phisherman is offline
King Sandbagger
 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: The Summit, MO
Casino cash: $6600
Fish and I have a fair bit of experience ourselves. We're still talking about a machine that was built 5 years ago. Rebuild the box or get a new one. You know, diminishing returns and all...
Posts: 2,482
phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.phisherman would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 01:02 AM   #20
Vegas_Dave Vegas_Dave is offline
Veteran
 
Vegas_Dave's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Casino cash: $6556
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometeam View Post
If he wants to spend the money, the SSD will cure all that ails his startup woes.

I was just not too hot on suggesting spending the money on a computer that is already outdated.
See and my thought is that the ssd solves the immediate issue and when/if he upgrades system later, that ssd moves to the new computer. That was the justification I had when I put one in my 4 year old laptop.
__________________
Lastly,

Redrum_69:
Posts: 1,703
Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.Vegas_Dave is not part of the Right 53.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 08:59 AM   #21
jjjayb jjjayb is offline
Veteran
 
jjjayb's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Back in K.C. baby!!!!
Casino cash: $6673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaid View Post
No, it's not wrong. You uninstall and reinstall programs which changes and resets files. Some will remove a file you might need etc. So unless you're a grandma who just runs a computer as is and never connects to the internet, you will inevitably need to reload at some point. Ask any tech who's worth a shit and they'll tell you the same.
I'm a tech that's worth a shit, and I'll tell you, you absolutely don't need to reload windows. In fact, a tech that isn't worth a shit will tell you to do that because they are too lazy or can't figure out whatever problem is slowing you down.
Posts: 4,919
jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.jjjayb would the whole thing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:16 AM   #22
mikeyis4dcats. mikeyis4dcats. is offline
Scarlett Johansson's boytoy
 
mikeyis4dcats.'s Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Casino cash: $6973
a lot of techs will reload because they either don't know the cause of a problem or because they don't want to spend possibly more time tracking it down than putting on a new drive image. The average joe shouldn't need to re-install windows every 6 to 9 months, if you do, you should stay off the warez, porn, and freeware shit.
__________________
Originally Posted by KC_Connection
I am a pillowbiter.

Posts: 9,724
mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.mikeyis4dcats. Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:37 AM   #23
hometeam hometeam is online now
Supporter
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $8991
Stick with hometeam. I know my shit.
Posts: 5,727
hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:48 AM   #24
jspchief jspchief is offline
BAMF
 
jspchief's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Your Face
Casino cash: $6790
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjayb View Post
I'm a tech that's worth a shit, and I'll tell you, you absolutely don't need to reload windows. In fact, a tech that isn't worth a shit will tell you to do that because they are too lazy or can't figure out whatever problem is slowing you down.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyis4dcats. View Post
a lot of techs will reload because they either don't know the cause of a problem or because they don't want to spend possibly more time tracking it down than putting on a new drive image. The average joe shouldn't need to re-install windows every 6 to 9 months, if you do, you should stay off the warez, porn, and freeware shit.
This was my first thought. Sounds like someone that takes the lazy route for diagnosis.
__________________
Courage is not the absence of fear but rather the judgment that something is more important than fear.
The brave may not live forever but the cautious do not live at all.
Posts: 24,074
jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.jspchief wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 09:57 AM   #25
Shaid Shaid is offline
Veteran
 
Shaid's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Casino cash: $6800
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyis4dcats. View Post
a lot of techs will reload because they either don't know the cause of a problem or because they don't want to spend possibly more time tracking it down than putting on a new drive image.
This is unfortunately very true and has always been the case. I know someone who works for Best Buy and they basically instruct them to do just that so they'll reload people on extremely simple problems. We're talking about 5 years of junk here though and the delay at the beginning sound more serious than simple startup items.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyis4dcats. View Post
The average joe shouldn't need to re-install windows every 6 to 9 months, if you do, you should stay off the warez, porn, and freeware shit.
I do it because I like a nice clean install, I just do. I don't download freeware and porn shit which causes problems for lots of people. But I use cracks and torrents and am constantly uninstalling and reinstalling games, changing things, trying out new programs or modding them, etc. For me, a reload is simply something I can do while watching a movie so it's a piece of cake. I have a 1TB drive for backing up items and a 4TB drive for media, etc. I like to save. I wouldn't recommend an average person do it too often but at 3 or more years I think most people start seeing some issues, especially because that's around when you start to see hard drives start failing on people more often. That's when you should have at the very least a backup stategy.

I spoke to a business owner once who was still on a 3.1 system and kept their financial info on it and it finally just lost it's hard drive after working for over 10 years. He didn't have anything backed up. I keep items tidily backed up and I like fresh installs.

I will admit that my last fresh reload was around 2 years instead but that's really just because I had done some pretty big modding on a few programs and didn't feel like redoing it just for the fresh reload. I finally did once I bought a new SSD.
__________________
Posts: 1,706
Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 10:59 AM   #26
notorious notorious is offline
I Lay Wood for a Living
 
notorious's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Who knows?
Casino cash: $12933
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaid View Post
I spoke to a business owner once who was still on a 3.1 system and kept their financial info on it and it finally just lost it's hard drive after working for over 10 years. He didn't have anything backed up.
.
That guy must be a colossal dipshit.
Posts: 31,498
notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.notorious is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:58 PM   #27
Shaid Shaid is offline
Veteran
 
Shaid's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Casino cash: $6800
Quote:
Originally Posted by notorious View Post
That guy must be a colossal dipshit.
yep
__________________
Posts: 1,706
Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.Shaid wants to die in a aids tree fire.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 01:21 PM   #28
Archie F. Swin Archie F. Swin is offline
What a Season
 
Archie F. Swin's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas
Casino cash: $9681
Wow. i didn't follow up on this thread. Thanks for all the advice guys.

For now, I'm not gonna throw money at it. Seems pointless if the machine is stable and does its job as a web browser.

You know what they say:"If your car is making a weird noise, just turn the radio up". I do really appreciate all the insight. Its nice to know what exactly is going on inside this magic machine.
__________________
"No Two People Will Do It The Same, You got It Down...When You Appear to Be In Pain!"
Posts: 11,231
Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.Archie F. Swin Forgot to Remove His Claytex and Got Toxic Shock Syndrome.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.