Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The GET IN MAH BELLY! Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 07:25 PM  
CaliforniaChief CaliforniaChief is offline
Stanley Cup Champions!
 
CaliforniaChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: So Cal
Casino cash: $7727164
Transfering Applications from Mac-Mac

I've had a Mac Book for a long time, and it's crapping out. My employer got me a refurbished Mac Book with more capability (and now I can put Mavericks, etc on it and have.)

My question is this...is there any way I can transfer my 2008 Microsoft Office applications (Word, Excel, PP, and Entourage) from the old one to the new? I tried using bluetooth and seemed to do it but when I tried to open it got an error message.

Any help in doing this is greatly appreciated.
Posts: 12,027
CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.CaliforniaChief has parlayed a career as a truck driver into debt free trailer and jon boat ownership.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 07:46 AM   #2
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
How did you transfer it via Bluetooth?

You should be able to just straight copy a few folders, like via a USB stick or external HDD.

Off the top of my head, you should copy the app folders from:

/Applications/ <--- this is the actual application
~/Library/Preferences/ <--- these are your app specific prefs
~/Library/Saved Application State/ <--- this stores saved runtime state, might not be necessary

Those are really all you need. There's no God awful registry like Windows so not much else to do there.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 07:49 AM   #3
Rausch Rausch is offline
MVP
 
Rausch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Jefferson City, mo., USA
Casino cash: $1227593
Depends on if Mavericks even allows it.

I had 4 or 5 apps (Photoshop CS, CIV III, etc) it told me would not work in Mavericks when I was getting ready to upgrade.
__________________
Quote:
"He had no teeth, and he was slobbering all over himself. I'm thinking, 'You can have your money back, just get me out of here. Let me go be an accountant." I can't tell you how badly I wanted out of there."
Denver rookie QB John Elway, on Jack Lambert, after Lambert and the Steelers knocked Elway out of his first game as a pro (1983).
Quote:
Originally Posted by rico View Post
I wish I always ended up at gay bars.
Posts: 49,579
Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 07:50 AM   #4
Rausch Rausch is offline
MVP
 
Rausch's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Jefferson City, mo., USA
Casino cash: $1227593
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
How did you transfer it via Bluetooth?

You should be able to just straight copy a few folders, like via a USB stick or external HDD.

Off the top of my head, you should copy the app folders from:

/Applications/ <--- this is the actual application
~/Library/Preferences/ <--- these are your app specific prefs
~/Library/Saved Application State/ <--- this stores saved runtime state, might not be necessary

Those are really all you need. There's no God awful registry like Windows so not much else to do there.
Might not be able to.

Might have to save them as a disk image or DMG then open it on the new laptop.
__________________
Quote:
"He had no teeth, and he was slobbering all over himself. I'm thinking, 'You can have your money back, just get me out of here. Let me go be an accountant." I can't tell you how badly I wanted out of there."
Denver rookie QB John Elway, on Jack Lambert, after Lambert and the Steelers knocked Elway out of his first game as a pro (1983).
Quote:
Originally Posted by rico View Post
I wish I always ended up at gay bars.
Posts: 49,579
Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.Rausch is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 07:52 AM   #5
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rausch View Post
Depends on if Mavericks even allows it.

I had 4 or 5 apps (Photoshop CS, CIV III, etc) it told me would not work in Mavericks when I was getting ready to upgrade.
This is true. Some apps aren't universally compatible.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 07:53 AM   #6
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rausch View Post
Might not be able to.

Might have to save them as a disk image or DMG then open it on the new laptop.
That's really just packaging though. You could do it as a ZIP as well, they're processed essentially the same way.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:36 AM   #7
Ace Gunner Ace Gunner is offline
First Overall
 
Ace Gunner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kcmo
Casino cash: $11021583
sometimes you need to compress the file, then xfer that to the new puter. to do this, first copy the file to a new folder, then compress.

also, you need to be sure all the files in you apps list are included. typically, the icon is the whole app, but some apps hold a folder as well.

and there are times I used terminal to get this done. large files can be done this way. terminal has always been the most reliable way of xfer for me because it will build the new directories exactly.
__________________
two five
Posts: 10,383
Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:41 AM   #8
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Gunner View Post
terminal has always been the most reliable way of xfer for me because it will build the new directories exactly.
QFT

I believe the switch is -R (recursive)
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:36 AM   #9
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2118989
You guys are going about this all wrong. OS X has an app called Migration Assistant that is designed to do exactly what you're wanting here. You can find it in Applications\Utilities. You hook up one machine to the other and migrate Applications/Entire Accounts/Files/Settings/etc. from the old machine to the new. It's the easiest thing in the world compared to other OSes.

The only issue is how to go about connecting the two computers together, because there are several different methods to go about it. If you have firewire on both machines and have a firewire cable, this would be the easiest and fastest method by far. Simply boot the old one into Firewire mode by holding down the T key at startup, connect it to the new one, and run Migration Assistant. If you don't have firewire ports or cables, you can also do this across the network. Connect both to the same network, run migration assistant on the new one and follow the instructions.

This page will pretty much tell you everything you need to know: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4413

Let me know if you have any questions....
__________________
Posts: 25,288
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:47 AM   #10
Fish Fish is offline
Missing Dick Curl
 
Fish's Avatar
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Casino cash: $2118989
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
How did you transfer it via Bluetooth?

You should be able to just straight copy a few folders, like via a USB stick or external HDD.

Off the top of my head, you should copy the app folders from:

/Applications/ <--- this is the actual application
~/Library/Preferences/ <--- these are your app specific prefs
~/Library/Saved Application State/ <--- this stores saved runtime state, might not be necessary

Those are really all you need. There's no God awful registry like Windows so not much else to do there.
FYI... if you simply wanted to move Office and nothing else, you could technically do this. But you're leaving out some stuff needed for it to work.

Essentially, you can go to this page, and for each step instead of removing you'd just copy the item to the same place on the new system.

For Office 2011: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2398768
For Office 2008: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2500821

But that said, if you do it that way, you're very likely going to create some permissions issues. So at the very least you should run a permissions repair once you've moved everything. It would work though.
__________________
Posts: 25,288
Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.Fish is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 08:24 AM   #11
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish View Post
You guys are going about this all wrong. OS X has an app called Migration Assistant that is designed to do exactly what you're wanting here. You can find it in Applications\Utilities. You hook up one machine to the other and migrate Applications/Entire Accounts/Files/Settings/etc. from the old machine to the new. It's the easiest thing in the world compared to other OSes.

The only issue is how to go about connecting the two computers together, because there are several different methods to go about it. If you have firewire on both machines and have a firewire cable, this would be the easiest and fastest method by far. Simply boot the old one into Firewire mode by holding down the T key at startup, connect it to the new one, and run Migration Assistant. If you don't have firewire ports or cables, you can also do this across the network. Connect both to the same network, run migration assistant on the new one and follow the instructions.

This page will pretty much tell you everything you need to know: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4413

Let me know if you have any questions....
Yeah, DUH.

I'm an idiot.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 08:25 AM   #12
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish View Post
FYI... if you simply wanted to move Office and nothing else, you could technically do this. But you're leaving out some stuff needed for it to work.

Essentially, you can go to this page, and for each step instead of removing you'd just copy the item to the same place on the new system.

For Office 2011: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2398768
For Office 2008: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2500821

But that said, if you do it that way, you're very likely going to create some permissions issues. So at the very least you should run a permissions repair once you've moved everything. It would work though.
Yeah, for most applications, what I said would work (repairing permissions not withstanding, GOOD POINT btw).

But Office is a Microsoft app. It only stands to reason that it takes OSX's simplicity and ****s it all up.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 03:11 PM   #13
Ace Gunner Ace Gunner is offline
First Overall
 
Ace Gunner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kcmo
Casino cash: $11021583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish View Post
You guys are going about this all wrong. OS X has an app called Migration Assistant that is designed to do exactly what you're wanting here. You can find it in Applications\Utilities. You hook up one machine to the other and migrate Applications/Entire Accounts/Files/Settings/etc. from the old machine to the new. It's the easiest thing in the world compared to other OSes.

The only issue is how to go about connecting the two computers together, because there are several different methods to go about it. If you have firewire on both machines and have a firewire cable, this would be the easiest and fastest method by far. Simply boot the old one into Firewire mode by holding down the T key at startup, connect it to the new one, and run Migration Assistant. If you don't have firewire ports or cables, you can also do this across the network. Connect both to the same network, run migration assistant on the new one and follow the instructions.

This page will pretty much tell you everything you need to know: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4413

Let me know if you have any questions....
good post.

I use command K to get all my puters talking to each other. I often handle files of 4gb or larger going to disk BU, and I had a hard time getting xfers that large across until I looked at some info on the net that spoke on FAT32 difficulties and how to get around this using terminal.
__________________
two five
Posts: 10,383
Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 03:14 PM   #14
Ace Gunner Ace Gunner is offline
First Overall
 
Ace Gunner's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: kcmo
Casino cash: $11021583
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
Yeah, for most applications, what I said would work (repairing permissions not withstanding, GOOD POINT btw).

But Office is a Microsoft app. It only stands to reason that it takes OSX's simplicity and ****s it all up.
yep
__________________
two five
Posts: 10,383
Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.Ace Gunner is too fat/Omaha.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2013, 04:16 PM   #15
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
Ask JASON about Tony's cock...
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $1091623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace Gunner View Post
good post.

I use command K to get all my puters talking to each other. I often handle files of 4gb or larger going to disk BU, and I had a hard time getting xfers that large across until I looked at some info on the net that spoke on FAT32 difficulties and how to get around this using terminal.
FAT32 filesystems can't support individual files over 4GiB. Doesn't have anything to do with the file transfer.
Posts: 60,525
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.