Home Mail MemberMap Chat (0) Wallpapers
Go Back   ChiefsPlanet > The Royal Lounge > Media Center

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2014, 10:31 PM  
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Home networking enthusiasts...anybody using a bleeding edge AC1900 router?

I'd be interested to know if anybody has any experiences they'd like to share.

I have now tried the Netgear R7000, Asus RT-AC68U, and the Linksys EA6900. Tomorrow, I'm going to test the Linksys WRT1900AC, the most expensive router in the group.

So anybody else take the plunge?
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 08:45 AM   #16
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saulbadguy View Post
I want to bring a router with me when travelling to extend my home network to my hotel room.
You can't do that with OpenVPN?

Certainly, the Asus has a ton of VPN features and for me it was really stable and fast. I just wasn't a fan of the FW. Then again, I'm not a big fan of DD-WRT either. Too many options just makes my head spin - I'm a minimalist.

Now that I think about it, DD-WRT might have the VPN features you need. Lots of people are having good luck running Kong's build on the Netgear R7000 and it is a performance beast too.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 09:55 AM   #17
JASONSAUTO JASONSAUTO is offline
Thigpen for HOF
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: mid missouri
Casino cash: $10789
You learn something everyday from he smaqe. My Internet ****ed up yesterday when the nurse was clocking out on the cordless phone... Now I know why, maybe.
Posted via Mobile Device
Posts: 29,148
JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:01 AM   #18
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
There are definitely 2.4Ghz cordless phones out there but 5.8Ghz is far more common these days...
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:04 AM   #19
JASONSAUTO JASONSAUTO is offline
Thigpen for HOF
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: mid missouri
Casino cash: $10789
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
There are definitely 2.4Ghz cordless phones out there but 5.8Ghz is far more common these days...
I know exactly shit about any of that.

She used the phone and I couldn't buy Netflix or surf, she hung up and Netflix started working and I could load pages. That's the extent of what I know about anything.


I push buttons on the screen and chiefs planet usually works, enough for me
Posted via Mobile Device
Posts: 29,148
JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:08 AM   #20
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by JASONSAUTO View Post
I know exactly shit about any of that.

She used the phone and I couldn't buy Netflix or surf, she hung up and Netflix started working and I could load pages. That's the extent of what I know about anything.


I push buttons on the screen and chiefs planet usually works, enough for me
Posted via Mobile Device
Definitely sounds like the phone was causing interference.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:09 AM   #21
JASONSAUTO JASONSAUTO is offline
Thigpen for HOF
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: mid missouri
Casino cash: $10789
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
Definitely sounds like the phone was causing interference.
See you taught me something today... My day is complete
Posted via Mobile Device
Posts: 29,148
JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.JASONSAUTO is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 11:51 AM   #22
hometeam hometeam is offline
Supporter
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $7771
So im searching for a new router to compliment my incoming gigabit internet, the r7000 seems to be a good choice for me. Any reason why I am wrong?
Posts: 5,615
hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 12:26 PM   #23
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometeam View Post
So im searching for a new router to compliment my incoming gigabit internet, the r7000 seems to be a good choice for me. Any reason why I am wrong?
With stock Netgear firmware, a lot of people are struggling to get it to be stable. Wireless dropouts seem to be a commonly-reported problem. I had an issue where the wireless and wired sides of the switch would just stop communicating with each other after a couple of days. Several others on the Netgear forums have similar issues. Basic layer 2 functionality is not a luxury, it's an expectation for any switch made in the last 25 years. Netgear failed pretty bad here.

The biggest deterrent though would be Netgear's support. They used to be the best. After 5 weeks of me basically doing all of their troubleshooting for them and them throwing darts at the problem, I finally gave up. That being said, if you like DD-WRT, people are saying great things about the R7000. It apparently is very stable with Kong's variant and performs almost as well.

However, if you have an appetite for "feature rich" firmware like DD-WRT, it might be worth your time to evaluate the Asus RT-AC68U. It's stable and fast, probably right on par with the R7000, and even though the stock firmware has a few minor bugs, Asus appears to be actively fixing them. In addition, RMerlin at Small Net Builder is sharing code with Asus and actively developing a 3rd-party firmware based on their code that focuses on stability and performance. He's doing a great job and has a veritable legion of happy followers.

For me, I'm 100% sold on the Linksys. No, it doesn't have the same breadth of features. But I've pushed well over a terabit of disk images to my NAS over the last 24 hours without a single hiccup. That's something I was never able to do with the Netgear (and never tried to do with the Asus because I never got that far). It's simple, easy, and straightforward. It just works.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 07:38 PM   #24
hometeam hometeam is offline
Supporter
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $7771
The reason I was thinking of the r7000 is just because it had a higher WAN to LAN throughput than the ASUS, albeit not by a lot. I still have a month or two until i get switched on, so Ill have to dig a little more about them both.
Posts: 5,615
hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 07:50 PM   #25
TribalElder TribalElder is offline
Central Missouri Mules!
 
TribalElder's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: National Champions
Casino cash: $11484
Go asus

Linksys wps cannot be disabled even if it's disabled unless they fixed that
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcpasco View Post
All us Mizzou fans knows how this ends
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustShack View Post
KU fans get butt hurt easily.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoman View Post
Being the resident Tacoman, I feel obligated to point out that TribalElder knows what's up.
Posts: 9,670
TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 06:09 AM   #26
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by hometeam View Post
The reason I was thinking of the r7000 is just because it had a higher WAN to LAN throughput than the ASUS, albeit not by a lot. I still have a month or two until i get switched on, so Ill have to dig a little more about them both.
I wouldn't go with the R7000. I just thought of that - right now DD-WRT is the only stable option and DD-WRT doesn't have hardware acceleration yet. That means the WAN port is capped at about 300Mbps.

If you need near-GigE WAN performance, go with the Asus.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 06:10 AM   #27
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by TribalElder View Post
Go asus

Linksys wps cannot be disabled even if it's disabled unless they fixed that
I got WPS disabled and it disabled.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:36 AM   #28
TribalElder TribalElder is offline
Central Missouri Mules!
 
TribalElder's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: National Champions
Casino cash: $11484
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
I got WPS disabled and it disabled.
Did you double check it with reaver?

Edit, they might have fixed the firmware now

Cisco (Linksys) – Some Vulnerable – Product List – E4200V1 & WRT320N WPS Disable Hack – Turning off WPS does not really turn it off. E1200 v2, E1500, E3200, E4200 V1 firmware fix released March 2012.
http://www.safegadget.com/72/major-w...ility-wps-bug/


Not sure on the ddwrt
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcpasco View Post
All us Mizzou fans knows how this ends
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustShack View Post
KU fans get butt hurt easily.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacoman View Post
Being the resident Tacoman, I feel obligated to point out that TribalElder knows what's up.
Posts: 9,670
TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.TribalElder has enough rep power to blowy ou to bits.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 08:47 AM   #29
hometeam hometeam is offline
Supporter
 
hometeam's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Jefferson City
Casino cash: $7771
Quote:
Originally Posted by htismaqe View Post
I wouldn't go with the R7000. I just thought of that - right now DD-WRT is the only stable option and DD-WRT doesn't have hardware acceleration yet. That means the WAN port is capped at about 300Mbps.

If you need near-GigE WAN performance, go with the Asus.
Really???

Was listed as 930mbps WAN through on a comparison, with every other router listed as less. But yes, im paying for gig internet and I want to be sure I can harness THE POWAAAAaaa
Posts: 5,615
hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.hometeam 's phone was tapped by Scott Pioli.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 11:44 AM   #30
htismaqe htismaqe is offline
What? What?
 
htismaqe's Avatar
 

Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Chiefsplanet
Casino cash: $8084
Quote:
Originally Posted by TribalElder View Post
Did you double check it with reaver?

Edit, they might have fixed the firmware now

Cisco (Linksys) Some Vulnerable Product List E4200V1 & WRT320N WPS Disable Hack Turning off WPS does not really turn it off. E1200 v2, E1500, E3200, E4200 V1 firmware fix released March 2012.
http://www.safegadget.com/72/major-w...ility-wps-bug/


Not sure on the ddwrt
Yeah, those routers run an older firmware.

I'm running the WRT1900AC with the Smart Wifi GUI that ships on the EA-series routers like the EA6500 and EA6900.
Posts: 61,766
htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.htismaqe is obviously part of the inner Circle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:30 AM.


This is a test for a client's site.
A new website that shows member-created construction site listings that need fill or have excess fill. Dirt Monkey @ https://DirtMonkey.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.