PDA

View Full Version : NFT: Help me pick a side project with self employment potential

KC Jones
11-17-2004, 01:06 PM
I'm sick of giving away the fruits of my labor to what I consider poorly managed organizations. So, I'm trying to pick between several side projects that will (hopefully) eventually blossom into self-employment.

My current situation is that I'm a contract programmer operating under a crappy recruiting and staffing firm. I'm also the sole provider for my family, so going from employee to owner is a huge risk. I have some money saved up, but only enough to cover about 3 months worth of pre-tax salary. Certainly not enough for serious seed money. So whatever I do it's going to be an evening and weekend project until it shows enough profit that I can drop my day job (if ever).

Here's a list of known considerations with the different options:

1) J2ME Gaming - There's already plenty of competition in this field. However nobody has anything close to the feature set for the games I have in mind. As a bonus it would be a fun hobby even if I made little or no money on it. I would need help for the artwork though.

2) State Software System - IMO this one has the biggest money making opportunity and would be a damn nice market once established. However I think the barrier to entry will be huge. States are going to want to work with large established firms that have and will be around forever. Getting the contacts within the state and building their confidence in the system would be extremely difficult. However once one state was landed - you could really leverage that relationship to go get another state on board.