PDA

View Full Version : Antifreeze ripoff

Skip Towne
11-30-2004, 04:23 PM
I just went to the land of all things that sell for less to get antifreeze for the van. There were two types of Prestone in nearly identical jugs. One was $7.98 and the other was $7.27. Upon further inspection, I found the cheaper one was "Pre-diluted" and "Ready to Use". Pre-diluted? I've been buying antifreeze for 40 years and have never heard of such a thing. Who wants to pay $3.50 for them to put 2 quarts of water in the jug? I think I've seen it all now.

Saulbadguy
11-30-2004, 04:25 PM
Its supply and demand, Skip. You taught me about that, I think.

Skip Towne
11-30-2004, 04:26 PM
Its supply and demand, Skip. You taught me about that, I think.
There's a shortage of water?

Saulbadguy
11-30-2004, 04:28 PM
There's a shortage of water?
Damn Liberal media will have ya believin anything these days.

Mr. Kotter
11-30-2004, 04:30 PM
It's for those who can't drink it straight.

You should try it on "the rocks." :)

Eleazar
11-30-2004, 04:36 PM
You can spread it out between more of the neighborhood mutts' water dishes that way.

Rain Man
11-30-2004, 04:39 PM
Pre-diluted? That sounds quite handy.

Rain Man
11-30-2004, 04:41 PM
Unrelated story: In my college chemistry class, one of our big test problems was to figure out the freezing point of antifreeze in different concentrations. It turns out that pure antifreeze freezes faster than diluted antifreeze, and there's a certain antifreeze/water ratio that's best. I mentioned this to my dad, who sells cars and thus uses a lot of antifreeze, and he said, "Sometimes you just can't believe all that science stuff." I thought it was kind of funny.

I also learned later that a very fine film of rust can actually strengthen some metals. True story. My dad didn't believe me on that, either.

Skip Towne
11-30-2004, 04:42 PM
Pre-diluted? That sounds quite handy.