PDA

View Full Version : NFBT: High School Students Required To Do Homework Over Summer Vacation?

The Rick
01-20-2005, 09:41 AM
http://www.jsonline.com/news/metro/jan05/294687.asp

Just saw this in our local news here in Milwaukee. Basically, a parent has filed a lawsuit against the school because teachers at the school are giving out homework assignments over the summer. These homework assignments are required to be completed and are actually graded.

WTF? Does this happen all over the place? I graduated from high school 10 years ago and we weren't given homework over the summer vacation. While I'm not sure filing a lawsuit is the correct way to approach this (I think there are too many frivolous lawsuits as it is), I can certainly understand why.

Has anyone heard of anything like this before? I know there's at least one teacher here...is this common?

Mr. Kotter
01-20-2005, 09:45 AM
http://www.jsonline.com/news/metro/jan05/294687.asp....
Has anyone heard of anything like this before? I know there's at least one teacher here...is this common?

It's not common. If you sign up for Advaced Placement or Honors type courses, then you should expect that sort of thing. As a teacher though, I don't think it should be "required" of average students, no.

Fat Elvis
01-20-2005, 10:04 AM
My daughter goes to school year round. I don't see what the big deal would be. If anything, it keeps the mind from getting mushy during that three month hiatus.

cdcox
01-20-2005, 10:52 AM
My daugther attends a parochial school and she has a summer reading list (3-4 books) and required service hours. Discussion and written assignments based on the reading list take place when they return to school. I don't have any problem with this policy, personally. In fact anything that K-12 can do to improve student education is a-okay in my book.

Ultra Peanut
01-20-2005, 11:02 AM
That's dumbolicious.

NewChief
01-20-2005, 11:17 AM