PDA

View Full Version : I suck at BBQ!

CosmicPal
03-12-2005, 08:06 PM
Admittedly, I'm a pretty good cook. (Even made my own organic dog biscuits today that my friends seemed to be the most impressed with)...

Anyways- I have one freakin' problem- and it is ALWAYS with my ribs- nothing else. Just me BBQ'ing ribs. I always seem to freakin' make them too dry or burn them or both.

I tried a new recipe for some Japenese style BBQ marinade. The marinade was exceptional, but the recipe said to bake the ribs for an hour and a half- then marinade the ribs in room temperature for an hour and then grill the ribs for a HALF HOUR. You don't grill marinated meat for a HALF HOUR? Do you? Anyways, they of course burned because I was drinking and chatting with peeps....

Somebody Puhleeeeeeezeee tell me how to grill ribs without screwing it up every time!!! I beg of thee....

unlurking
03-12-2005, 08:17 PM
When u baked 'em, did u leave any water/beer/etc. in the oven?

As far as grilling, I'm thinkin' 5 - 7 minutes a side at most.

JimNasium
03-12-2005, 08:38 PM
Ribs and direct heat don't mix in my opinion.

BigVE
03-12-2005, 08:38 PM
What type of ribs? Were you using a gas/charcoal cooker, a smoker, or the oven? Makes a world of difference. AND, who the HECK would RUIN a perfectly good slab or ribs by making some JAPPED up recipe? THAT was your problem I think. ;)

CosmicPal
03-12-2005, 08:51 PM
What type of ribs? Were you using a gas/charcoal cooker, a smoker, or the oven? Makes a world of difference. AND, who the HECK would RUIN a perfectly good slab or ribs by making some JAPPED up recipe? THAT was your problem I think. ;)

As I mentioned, I baked them in aluminum foil for an hour and a half, and then grilled them over a gas grill until they burned.... :banghead:

Athis
03-12-2005, 09:07 PM