PDA

View Full Version : I bought a beef chuck blade boneless steak.

Jenson71
06-16-2005, 06:51 PM
I want to cook it on top of the stove. In a pan. What temperature should I put the stove on? And do I have to put anything in the pan? Thank you, I'm a beginner.

Phobia
06-16-2005, 06:57 PM
Heh.

Put a burner on high. Place some real butter or olive oil in the pan - just enough to place a thin coat across the entire surface.

When the pan is damn hot (this means the oil is spitting at you), drop your steak in. Leave it for 30-45 secs. Flip it. If your stove is electric, reduce heat now. If it's gas, wait 30-45 secs. This process is called searing.

Flip it again with heat on medium. Let it cook 2 minutes. Flip last time for 2 minutes. Cut it - does it look good to you? Eat it.

If you want to, throw some pepper/lemon pepper on the meat before step #1. Don't salt until after cooking.

Jenson71
06-16-2005, 07:01 PM
Dang. That sounds complicated and dangerous. I was hoping for more of a "put stove on _____. Put on pan. Flip after 3 min. Take out after another 3 min"

Okay, I'll try yours.

Donger
06-16-2005, 07:01 PM
You can cook steaks on the stove?

Phobia
06-16-2005, 07:02 PM
You can do that if you want a piece of meat that tastes like a dried ass nugget.

Searing it will disguise the fact that you're a cheap bastard and won't buy a decent cut of meat. What did that hunk of beef run you, $.59 a pound?

Jenson71
You can cook steaks on the stove?

Don't make fun of me. There's a picture of a frying pan on the package.

Donger
Heh.

Put a burner on high. Place some real butter or olive oil in the pan - just enough to place a thin coat across the entire surface.

When the pan is damn hot (this means the oil is spitting at you), drop your steak in. Leave it for 30-45 secs. Flip it. If your stove is electric, reduce heat now. If it's gas, wait 30-45 secs. This process is called searing.