PDA

View Full Version : 1/16/1994: KC-28 HOU-20

TinyEvel
11-19-2005, 01:07 AM
Many people ask why I, a Los Angeles native and resident, am a KC fan.

Well, I never grew up watching football. My dad would rather watch JEOPARDY than any sport. But when I graduated college and was thrown into an office chock full of Dockers-wearing, cigar-smokin' NFL freaks, I had to get involved. So I turned on the TV to watch some football.
I saw the AFC divisional playoff game, KC vs. Houston.
The KC quarterback was Joe Montana, whom I recognized as the SF guy who won those bunch of Superbowls.
So, I started rooting for his team.
Well "we" upset the Oilers, in a really great game, to advance to the AFC championships.

The spirit and excitement the Chiefs showed on the field that day to upset the Oilers instantly drew me to the team. The next day I was at my local Champs Sports buying the red KC cap which I still wear (much to my wife's dismay, it's a bit cruddy after all these years, but it smells like....victory). And I've been treated to exciting games (when I can get them) ever since.

So, this weekend will be an especially sweet victory for me.
Though not an upset, it will be a reminder why, twelve years ago, I donned the red cap and haven't turned back. And never will.

--tinyE

ChiefsFanatic
11-19-2005, 01:10 AM
Cool.

DenverChief
11-19-2005, 01:33 AM
awesome thanks for sharing:) While I don't remember the first game I watched I remember it was the '90 season and DeBerg at the helm, broken pinky finger and all...that man was a helluva QB too bad we couldn't have given him more talent to work with (J.J. Birden, Emile Harry, Keith Cash)

greg63
11-19-2005, 01:41 AM

Well, I never grew up watching football. My dad would rather watch JEOPARDY than any sport. But when I graduated college and was thrown into an office chock full of Dockers-wearing, cigar-smokin' NFL freaks, I had to get involved. So I turned on the TV to watch some football.