PDA

View Full Version : Let's Recap, Shall we?

MahiMike
01-13-2006, 09:05 AM
Step back 5 years...

DV and AS are hired to "do something" about the offense.

Carl says, "we always have a good defense here so don't worry about that. I'll take care of it."

DV and AS say, "we're cool with that." and fairly quickly build the best offense in the NFL - let alone the best one this team will EVER see.

So now it's all great. We're AVERAGING 37 points per game! Sweet!
One small problem. We're losing 37-39.

DV and AS say, "Dammit Carl! Where's the D?"

Carl says, "I know! We'll get Gunny back!"

"But what about the players?", they ask as they scratch their heads.

"Aw, Gunny will whip these pansies into shape. He'll take care of it."

"Ok but remember, our guys are getting old and peaking at the same time."

Skip to 2005 and the offense is still scoring twice as many points as any previous Chiefs regime. And...they're still losing games because of the D.

"I'm a lame duck coach and you'll never give me what you promised!", says DV to Carl.

"Don't worry. I have the perfect replacement for you.", snickers Carl.

"Well great because no one but Al deserves it more than him. Besides it's the ONLY way you'll get this average group of athletes to keep scoring.", says DV.

January 9, 2006. Herm Edwards is announced as the next head coach of the Chiefs. An offensive era has ended. Al Saunders has been snubbed and treated like a leaper in the NFL community. "Well if their own GM won't hire him...", stated one insider.

January 11, 2006. Herm Edwards says he'll retain the coordinator on the side of the ball that has cost them the Super Bowl 5 years running. Brilliant!

Skip to January, 2007...

(Boomer Esiason announcing) "Today's wildcard matchup is between the AFC West champs, the Oakland Raiders vs New England. In an amazing turnaround on offense, head coach Al Saunders has done a 180 with this team. His old team, the Chiefs finished 8-8, losing half those games by field goals."