PDA

View Full Version : If you were coaching the AFC in the Pro-Bowl when would you have pulled Manning?

Chiefs Express
02-13-2006, 08:45 AM
I'd have pulled him soon after interception #2 or immediately after #3.
But then I think Manning is much overrated.

NewChief
02-13-2006, 08:48 AM
Shanahan's plan was faulty from the get go. The NFCs use of QBs was much smarter. They played each QB for a quarter, leaving them the 4th Quarter to play whichever one gave them the best chance of winning. The rat backed himself into a corner by not putting McNair in until the 4th Quarter, which forced him to play him that entire quarter.

Hoover
02-13-2006, 08:49 AM
Well its not a real game, so I would have done it this way.

1st Qtr - Mannng
2nd Qtr - Green
3rd Qtr - Green for 2 possesions
McNair dor the rest of the game, same would hold true for the running backs.

jspchief
02-13-2006, 08:50 AM
If I was a pro bowl coach, I'd have a predetermined number of minutes the guy was going to play, regardless of how he played. I wouldn't pull him out mid-drive if those minutes had expired.

Benching a player due to performance in the Pro Bowl is silly, and begs for a media shitstorm.

I do think Manning should not have received an entire half, but I guess if you want to be technical, he was the only AFC QB that actually got voted in, while the other two got in due to injury to other QBs.

Bob Dole
02-13-2006, 08:53 AM
Bob Dole thought Shanarat's Little League approach adequately served to illustrate his genious.

Garcia Bronco
02-13-2006, 08:56 AM
I would have played Manning for the first half...and Green for the second half.....McNair didn't even get their until wednesday.

Bob Dole
02-13-2006, 08:58 AM
I would have played Manning for the first half...and Green for the second half.....McNair didn't even get their until wednesday.

And missed out on his valuable contributions the first two series he played?

No way.

jspchief
02-13-2006, 09:02 AM