PDA

View Full Version : Need Career Advice From The Older, More Experienced Folk

The Rick
04-11-2006, 09:41 AM
Here's the story, I'll keep it concise:

I'm 28 (almost 29) years old, married, with a nearly 3 year old daughter. I currently work for county government doing IT work and make about 55k per year. I don't like my current role here, don't enjoy coming to work, and think that I'm underpaid in comparison to others here.

In July, if I stay with what I'm doing, I'm scheduled to get a raise to 65k. That's option #1.

Option #2 is that I applied for another position at the same county. It's more of a system administration role which I'm interested in. I think I'll like it more than what I'm doing now. There's the potential for a leadership aspect of this position in the future. Guaranteed to make 65k and maybe up to 70k.

Option #3 is with a small web development company. Something far different from government work. My background is in small business and I miss that kind of environment. I perceive lots of potential with this company including leadership (I'd be their first local developer...in the past it's been all offshore), but nothing guaranteed. I really enjoy what this company is all about. They're passionate about what they do and seem to have fun...things you won't find in government work. I expect to receive a formal offer from them soon, but have a feeling that it's going to be slightly less than the 65k that I could make. They recognize the disparity here and have stated that they would like to improve that salary within a year.

So, which option do I choose? Obviously, you can't beat the benefits, security, etc. of government work. However, the intangibles (environment, passion, pace, etc.) leave something to be desired.

No matter what I decide, there will be a significant raise from what I'm getting now.