PDA

View Full Version : Football 201

luv
07-27-2006, 02:00 AM
Hopefully, I graduated from Football 101 last year. Although, I'll probably still ask questions that I asked last year. Please just bear with me.

Let's start with some basics on the salary cap. What are some need-to-knows? Remember, I'm starting from scratch here.

Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Moooo
07-27-2006, 02:10 AM
No help here. All I know is a contract can say so much, but it doesn't mean they'll get that much (that isn't the case in baseball and I think basketball).

I'd say salary cap is like Football 501. That stuff is hard to keep up with.

Moooo

luv
07-27-2006, 02:12 AM
No help here. All I know is a contract can say so much, but it doesn't mean they'll get that much (that isn't the case in baseball and I think basketball).

I'd say salary cap is like Football 501. That stuff is hard to keep up with.

Moooo
I see. Well, I'm sure I'll think up other questions as I go along. I always do. :)

Mecca
07-27-2006, 02:14 AM
What exactly about the salary cap are you wanting to know?

luv
07-27-2006, 02:17 AM
What exactly about the salary cap are you wanting to know?
Well, it's the talk right now, as it usually is during training camp/preseason. How much is our cap, how much room have we made by releasing players, what's a standard/average contract worth, etc?

Mecca
07-27-2006, 02:19 AM
Well the truth is no one ever really knows exactly what the teams cap figure is do to restructures of contracts and things like that.

My guess is after Ty Law and the rookies are signed we'll be pretty damn close to the cap.

The cap this year is something like uh 90 million dollars I think. Don't quote me on that because I'm not exactly certain.

el borracho
07-27-2006, 02:42 AM