PDA

View Full Version : Reading The Paper This Morning...

CosmicPal
11-11-2006, 01:40 PM
and came across this article in the Denver Rocky Mountain News.

The Who at Shawnee Mission South High School in 1967!!!! The very high school I graduated from. I always heard that The Who played there in the late 60's but I never could find anything to validate it until now- in Denver!

http://www.rockymountainnews.com/drmn/music/article/0,2792,DRMN_54_5134579,00.html

Woo-Who! On a cold night in 1967, a smashing time was had by all
By Mark Brown, Rocky Mountain News
November 11, 2006

Rocky Mountain News staffer Mary Jane Blackman saw one of The Who's early North American concerts. This is her story:

It was a cold Friday night in 1967 when my date and I rolled into the parking lot of Shawnee Mission South High School in Overland Park, Kan.

We had come to the school, where I was a junior, for a concert. The opening acts were promising for the Nov. 17 show: The Buckinghams (who had hits with Kind of a Drag and Don't You Care) and Kansas City-area band Bobby Blue.

But the headliner highlighted the fact that we hadn't come for a typical sock hop: The Who was taking the gymnasium stage.

Of the roughly 3,500 Shawnee Mission District students there, I'm guessing few had ever heard of John Entwistle, Roger Daltrey, Keith Moon and Pete Townshend. But I had, thanks to Bob Martin, a fellow student.

Bob was a member of our neighborhood basement band, along with Jack "Denny" Allen and brothers Tim and Tom O'Brien. He was also a big music fan. After hearing about The Who, Bob had special-ordered the band's 45-rpm singles from England long before their release in the States.

I was a fairly seasoned concertgoer by my junior year, from The Beatles to The Byrds. I'd lounged poolside with Phil and Don Everly in my first two-piece bathing suit. I'd even danced to the music of The Kingsmen (Louie, Louie) at another high school concert.