PDA

View Full Version : Do you have any soft sales tips for a newbie?

Mr. Flopnuts
04-23-2007, 09:34 PM
I'm opening my own business. This is the first time I've tried anything like this and I'm turning 30 on Thursday. It's exciting, scary, and daunting all at the same time. The line of business I'm going into requires me to sell my product to, of all people bar owners. This is a different kind of a group to begin with. While I have some very limited experience with it, and am very easy going when it comes to talking to people, I'm by no means a sales pro. I find myself uncomfortable when even talking to people about their money. Any tips, advice, or words of encouragement any of you can offer would be more appreciated than you know. Thanks in advance.

Dunit35
04-23-2007, 09:38 PM
All you have to do is sell yourself. If they like you, theres a good chance they will buy something from you.

Phobia
04-23-2007, 09:39 PM
You don't have to be their best friend. Relationships are good and make for a pleasant transaction but you have to show them how your product is going to put additional money in their pocket by bringing more people in the door and causing them to stay or saving time for the help. They aren't going to buy because you're easy to talk to and tell funny jokes.

Phobia
04-23-2007, 09:40 PM
All you have to do is sell yourself. If they like you, theres a good chance they will buy something from you.

We're talking about business owners - you could bring them world class hookers and take them golfing 365 days a year but that doesn't mean they're buying your crap.

Mr. Flopnuts
04-23-2007, 09:43 PM
You don't have to be their best friend. Relationships are good and make for a pleasant transaction but you have to show them how your product is going to put additional money in their pocket by bringing more people in the door and causing them to stay or saving time for the help. They aren't going to buy because you're easy to talk to and tell funny jokes.