PDA

View Full Version : Another Quinn Tidbit, For What It's Worth

KCGridironBeast
05-03-2007, 07:16 PM
I'm a student at USC and I'm in a sports related class this semester. A few weeks ago, Bill Rees, the director of player personnel for the Cleveland Browns, came in and talked to our class about what he does and sports business in general. He briefly discussed the Browns possible draft choices, but obviously didn't go into much detail. However, my professor said yesterday before our final that he talked with Rees a few days after the draft and Rees acknowledged that the Browns paid a high price for Quinn and that, according to Rees, he later talked with a "draft rep from the Chiefs" who said that if the Browns had talked to the Chiefs, they could have traded into the Chiefs' spot at 23 for less than they gave up to Dallas.

I know it sounds like one of those "friends of my girlfriend's cousin's uncle," but it's legit. Any thoughts on this? Apparently it sounds as if the Chiefs were definitely considering not drafting Quinn but rather wanted to capitalize on the potential to gain draft picks.

I apologize if this is old news or irrelevant, I haven't been checking the Planet lately.

Mr. Flopnuts
05-03-2007, 07:17 PM
I feel tons better now. :Lin:

noa
05-03-2007, 07:20 PM
We definitely wanted to stockpile on picks, so I wouldn't be surprised to find out this was true. Still, you never know if we would have even had the opportunity. If the Browns had decided to deal with us instead of the Cowboys, maybe the Ravens would have swooped in and pulled off a trade with Dallas to get Quinn instead.

hawkchief
05-03-2007, 07:50 PM
Carl would have fugged it up anyway. No matter.

Halfcan
05-03-2007, 08:26 PM
Browns are dumbasses!!

pikesome
05-03-2007, 08:31 PM
Browns are dumbasses!!

QFMFT

Rausch
05-03-2007, 08:37 PM