PDA

View Full Version : What should this offense stop doing, continue doing or try to do?

Kylo Ren
09-23-2007, 09:25 PM
For example.......

Stop:
1. throwing swing passes until Huard can pull his head out

Contine:
1. throwing downfield to Bowe and Gonzo

Try doing:
1. throw on 1st down more often

Rain Man
09-23-2007, 09:41 PM
I'm not a professional, but it seems pretty obvious to me that throwing on first down is a good idea. Other teams are completely selling out against the run.

We pass block better than we run block, and it's exacerbated by opponents swarming the line of scrimmage on 1st down. The second half of this game proved that we can pass the ball, so let's do it enough on 1st down that other teams have to start thinking about it.

Mecca
09-23-2007, 09:42 PM
Use a gameplan that is actually suited to beat the team they are playing?

They should have been spreading the field and throwing down field from the first snap against Minnesota....

ChiefsCountry
09-23-2007, 09:44 PM
They should have been spreading the field and throwing down field from the first snap against Minnesota....

How in the heck are you suppose to do that with Damon Huard?

Cjanz
09-23-2007, 09:45 PM
Well here's a crazy thought, but I think we should try PUTTING CROYLE IN.

Mecca
09-23-2007, 09:45 PM

Well that is a good point, but it's better than running for -2 yards every first down.

ChiefsCountry
09-23-2007, 09:48 PM
Well here's a crazy thought, but I think we should try PUTTING CROYLE IN.

:clap:

FloridaMan88
09-23-2007, 09:50 PM
Basically go back to the Al Saunders/Dick Vermeil style of offense. Go back to an aggressive approach that tries to score on every possession, takes shots downfield early and often and utilizes a diversified attack.

Cjanz
09-23-2007, 09:52 PM