PDA

View Full Version : Lawn advice

10-10-2007, 04:20 PM
Do we have any lawn experts on here? I have been fighting my yard for 2 years to get grass growing and am having ZERO results. I even paid a lawn company this year for fertilizing and insect/weed control. The weeds were down but the lawn itself looks even worse than it did this time last year.

I have so many bare areas I can't even keep seed around because mother nature always pulls his practical joke on me by sending a downpour the day after I seed and washing it all away.

I don't want a perfect lawn just a decent lawn.

KCFalcon59
10-10-2007, 04:25 PM
Have you gotten your soil tested. Might needs some nutrients. Maybe it has too much. Maybe a new layer of topsoil. Or you could try this:

chiefscraze
10-10-2007, 04:29 PM
Check the PH of the soil, then adjust accordingly. Also, if you have really poor soil you will need to use a lot more fertilizer than what you would normally want to apply because it may leach out of the soil faster.

Bugeater
10-10-2007, 04:40 PM
Asphalt.

FalseStart
10-10-2007, 04:48 PM
:LOL:

Extra Point
10-10-2007, 04:57 PM
Besides asphalt, Throw down 10 lbs lime per 5,000 sq ft. Rent an aerator, and do it to it. Put down grub killer, wait until week. Put down winterizer fertilizer, keeping the lawn semi-damp for at least 10 days. (Will be too cold, too soon, to plant seed, so don't even think about it.)

Seed the first weekend in April, with fertilizer that's does NOT have weed killer. Wait six weeks, throw down weed and feed. Throw down greening fertilizer the last weekend in July.

Reseed on Labor Day, and put down seeding fertilizer with the seed. Keep the lawn wet for 7 days.

Make damned sure you don't put down too much fertilizer, and make sure God or you throw 1/2" water on it at least once a week, unless otherwise specified!

If you don't want to put in the work, then live with a crummy lawn!

FalseStart
10-10-2007, 04:59 PM