PDA

View Full Version : Ugh. Taxes.

beach tribe
02-16-2008, 09:54 PM
16,300 on my 1099.

Anybody know what they are gonna gouge me for percentage wise? A lot of my income they will never know about, but have about 31,000 documented(w-2, 1099).

Give me your guesstamets please and thank you.

Bugeater
02-16-2008, 10:00 PM
You get to make deductions.

SLAG
02-16-2008, 10:01 PM
RePost

eazyb81
02-16-2008, 10:03 PM
Stupid IRS, I despise paying taxes.

beach tribe
02-16-2008, 10:22 PM

Me too, but I'm too scared not to.

I don't want'em lookin too hard.

Lord Bestyle
02-16-2008, 10:23 PM
Been there. This was a huge shock after my first year of contract work. Figure that about 13% is going to the SSA and about 4% to Medicare in the form of self-employment tax - I'm no tax pro but if I remember right you can probably expect to pay about 25 or 30% of your 1099. Sorry, man.

Like GoBo said, find some legit deductions and take them. The real trick is to not let it happen again the next year. The IRS let me make monthly payments to get it squared up. Then I hired an accountant who made sure that didn't happen again.

Hope that helps a little bit.

beach tribe
02-16-2008, 10:38 PM
Been there. This was a huge shock after my first year of contract work. Figure that about 13% is going to the SSA and about 4% to Medicare in the form of self-employment tax - I'm no tax pro but if I remember right you can probably expect to pay about 25 or 30% of your 1099. Sorry, man.

Like GoBo said, find some legit deductions and take them. The real trick is to not let it happen again the next year. The IRS let me make monthly payments to get it squared up. Then I hired an accountant who made sure that didn't happen again.

Hope that helps a little bit.
It helps, and ouch, it hurts.
I'll get it taken care of. I'll be saying **** you and pretending to punch a man in a suit wearing an IRS name tag..........as I write a check to him for 4500 dollars.

Amnorix
02-16-2008, 11:09 PM
16,300 on my 1099.