PDA

View Full Version : Music Legal Advice - Statute of Limitations...

Vegas_Dave
05-03-2008, 02:06 PM
My company sells musical instruments. We have a customer (long time good customer) who brought in his old handmade professional flute that he wants to sell. The flute will likely fetch $6,000+.

The manufacturer's website features the ability for anyone to look up the serial number. Well, this flute was stolen in 1973 according to company records.

Now we (myself and the customer) are doing the right thing and are contacting the manufacturer (as they ask this in the stolen notice).

My question is what legally could happen. I would think that a flute stolen 35 years ago has likely had the statute of limitations run out by now.

Any ideas???

kstater
05-03-2008, 02:14 PM
Skin flute?

kstater
05-03-2008, 02:15 PM
But seriously, I'm not a lawyer, but I would agree that as far as criminal charges are concerned, it's probably past time. But I would think that the company that produced the flute might have cause to get it back.

alanm
05-03-2008, 02:28 PM
My company sells musical instruments. We have a customer (long time good customer) who brought in his old handmade professional flute that he wants to sell. The flute will likely fetch $6,000+.

The manufacturer's website features the ability for anyone to look up the serial number. Well, this flute was stolen in 1973 according to company records.

Now we (myself and the customer) are doing the right thing and are contacting the manufacturer (as they ask this in the stolen notice).

My question is what legally could happen. I would think that a flute stolen 35 years ago has likely had the statute of limitations run out by now.

Any ideas???