PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Warpaint Memories

Hammock Parties
05-12-2008, 02:32 PM
http://kan.scout.com/2/754096.html

It’s been two weeks since the NFL draft concluded. It’ll be another week before we get our first look at Herm Edwards’ Dirty Dozen in Chiefs uniforms at the team’s first mini-camp/OTA/tryout. So what do we do this week?

Sunday, after putting the finishing touches on the next magazine issue of Warpaint Illustrated, it dawned on me that I have a week off – a week to reflect, rest and re-charge my batteries. After reading Jason Whitlock’s most recent column, I found a cord of connection.

When OTAs start this year, Warpaint Illustrated will turn five years old. That’s hard to believe, really hard to fathom if you ask me. After reading some of the first articles I wrote five years ago, I have to admit they were painful. To be honest, they were brutal.

I’ve been a writer since the sixth grade – or as some of my critics claim, a wannabe writer. Regardless of the labels I’ve earned, the road to where Warpaint Illustrated is today has been a great one.

So join me as I take a walk down memory lane and reflect on the last five years covering the Kansas City Chiefs.

When Jon Miller from Hawkeye Nation and Insider.com founder Brian Kosar (Bernie’s brother) recruited yours truly to assist in launching the website and magazine, I jumped at the chance.

It wasn’t easy by any stretch, because I’d be accountable for my opinions. I’d be on the hook for my comments.

At first I wanted to be controversial like Whitlock, but I learned quickly in year two that wasn’t my path. I had a long chat with a member of the Chiefs organization, Lynn Stiles, who delivered some key advice.