PDA

View Full Version : Home and Auto Building new deck..need advice on bid!!

petegz28
05-21-2008, 12:15 PM
I am looking to replace my current 10x10 deck with a 12x14 deck. All CCA. I have a current bid of $2400 + materials. That includes tear down and haul away of my old deck and building 9 stairs.

Is this a fair bid?

ChiTown
05-21-2008, 12:15 PM
In before Phobia

seclark
05-21-2008, 12:17 PM
In before Phobia

he probably hasn't stopped shaking yet.
sec

Phobia
05-21-2008, 12:18 PM
Are you doing it on the downlow or doing permits and inspections?

Phobia
05-21-2008, 12:18 PM
In before Phobia

Heh. I'm not too good at decks though.

Deberg_1990
05-21-2008, 12:20 PM
Heh. I'm not too good at decks though.

What are you good at? Installing toilets? :)

petegz28
05-21-2008, 12:21 PM
Are you doing it on the downlow or doing permits and inspections?

down low

DeezNutz
05-21-2008, 12:23 PM
Why the minimal size increase since you're anticipating spending some decent money to begin with?

Phobia
05-21-2008, 12:24 PM
What are you good at? Installing toilets? :)

Nah - actually I didn't start getting business from the Planet until after we did Brian's deck:

http://i29.tinypic.com/21ki90i.jpg
http://i28.tinypic.com/314pliq.jpg

petegz28
05-21-2008, 12:24 PM
Why the minimal size increase since you're anticipating spending some decent money to begin with?

oh i dont know i dont want to make it too big. It was $600 more to go to a 16x14...

plus my current deck is in bad shape and needs to go...

DeezNutz
05-21-2008, 12:27 PM
oh i dont know i dont want to make it too big. It was $600 more to go to a 16x14...

plus my current deck is in bad shape and needs to go...

Cool.

I was guessing it was a replace job more than anything else. Maybe it's just me, but the difference between say $3000 and $3500 isn't enough not to get exactly what one wants.

petegz28
05-21-2008, 12:28 PM
Cool.