PDA

View Full Version : Money I Need Some Tax Advice

MTG#10
01-27-2009, 05:47 PM
Ive been doing my taxes with Turbo Tax for the last 4 years with no problems at all. We always file "married filing jointly" and claim our 3 children. We make too much to qualify for the EIC so that is a non-issue.

My wife came home from work today, and told me that three different ladies at her work claim they get more back by filing "married filing separate" (not separated).

So I run both scenarios through turbo Tax, and sure enough we would get back a little over $400 more federal, and $300 more state.

The way I did it though, was I claimed 2 of the 3 kids, all of the deductions (mortgage interest, property tax, etc.) and had my wife claim the 3rd child with no other deductions. Again, we dont qualify for the EIC, Im just using the kids for dependent deductions.

Is it legal to do it this way, or does one of us HAVE to claim all 3 kids?

If it matters, I make more than her.

Buck
01-27-2009, 05:50 PM
FWIW, My parents are divorced, and they alternated 2 Kids / 1 Kid every year.

Not sure if that matters in this situation.

The Franchise
01-27-2009, 05:52 PM
I wouldn't think it's illegal to do it.....if they give you the option.

BigVE
01-27-2009, 05:54 PM
From what I know of Turbotax (I've used it for years) I don't think they would even allow you to enter your info in a scenario that you didn't qualify for or was "illegal" per se.

MTG#10
01-27-2009, 05:55 PM
From what I know of Turbotax (I've used it for years) I don't think they would even allow you to enter your info in a scenario that you didn't qualify for or was "illegal" per se.

When you file "married filing separate" you have to file two different returns, one for you and one for your spouse. The program creates two different files that arent linked in any way, so there's no way the program would notice that to tell you if its legal or not.

BigVE
01-27-2009, 05:57 PM