PDA

View Full Version : Chiefs Chiefs, Johnson both have incentive to make marriage work

C-Mac
11-04-2009, 08:51 AM
Chiefs, Johnson both have incentive to make marriage work (http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/story/12467385)
Nov. 3, 2009
By Charley Casserly
CBS Sports

As Larry Johnson sits out his one-game, unpaid suspension with the Kansas City Chiefs, I thought I would give you my thoughts on the why of the penalty and the why of the settlement.

Many times in my 16-year career as a general manager, I had to deal with suspensions, grievances and potential settlements. You end up having many discussions with lawyers from your team and the NFL about how to handle discipline and possible suspensions.

Johnson made comments regarding his dad, a coach at Penn State, and Todd Haley, his coach at Kansas City. Among them: "My father played for the Redskins briefly. My coach played golf." He also reportedly used a homosexual slur to a reporter and made disparaging comments about the fans.

For the totality of his actions the Chiefs suspended Johnson for conduct detrimental to the team. The suspension was for two weeks, the bye week and a game against the Jacksonville Jaguars. He is paid $267,000 per week, plus a roster bonus of $62,500 for each game he is active.

His comments about Haley are technically accurate and would be hard to justify a suspension, but my interpretation would have been that they were disparaging to the coach. His other comments clearly are not appropriate.

The problem you have when you go to suspend a player is the NFLPA will always argue, with some success, that all discipline must be progressive. In other words, first a warning, then a fine, then progressive fines before you suspend a player.