PDA

View Full Version : Home and Auto Siding: Steel, Vinyl, Aluminum?

Dartgod
04-10-2010, 02:58 PM
Thinking of putting on some siding rather than painting and I know nothing about it. What kind is best? Any siding contractors in KC that you would recommend? Enlighten me!

Bugeater
04-10-2010, 03:05 PM
I think steel is a thing of the past, and even aluminum is pretty rare anymore. They all have their drawbacks, steel will rust, aluminum will dent and vinyl will break, and they ALL will eventually oxidize and discolor. And if it gets damaged it cannot be repaired, and if you need to replace sections of it, it will be impossible to match the existing stuff once it's a few years old. If it was me I'd keep the wood, but I paint for a living so painting isn't that big of deal. My second choice would be aluminum because you can at least paint it 15-20 years down the road when it starts looking like crap. I would never own a house with vinyl on it.

jiveturkey
04-10-2010, 03:09 PM
Concrete!

http://www.jameshardie.com/homeowner/products_siding_hardieplankLapSiding.py

Bugeater
04-10-2010, 03:12 PM
Concrete!

That still has to be painted.

Dinny Bossa Nova
04-10-2010, 03:13 PM
Great thread!

Been wondering about this myself. Except for the KC contractor part. You mean there is more than just Phobs?

Dinny

LaChapelle
04-10-2010, 03:24 PM
The just fade or mildew(nasty) in our trailer park

Bugeater
04-10-2010, 03:25 PM
Oh, and one other thing to keep in mind, unless you're going to spend the money to wrap your windows, soffits, and fascia and replace your gutters, you're still going to have painting to do.

DeezNutz
04-10-2010, 03:27 PM
Paint.

Siding es no bueno.

BigMeatballDave
04-10-2010, 05:40 PM
Get the spray-on stuff.
Posted via Mobile Device

BigMeatballDave
04-10-2010, 05:48 PM
Isn't this fiber cement?Concrete!

Posted via Mobile Device

Phobia
04-10-2010, 06:16 PM