PDA

View Full Version : Misc Blast From the Past

The Rick
07-13-2010, 02:54 PM
Wow...just had my first old flame, "blast from the past" moment. Now I have an idea of what others talk about in similar situations...it's crazy.

Back when I was 18, right after I graduated high school, I moved with my parents to Sedalia, MO from another small town in Missouri. I got a job that summer and met a girl there.

Now I'd gone on dates with girls while in high school, but this girl was my first "adult" relationship. Again, I was 18...and she was 23, hot, and had her own apartment! I thought I was quite the stud at the time. We dated/"fooled around" for a few months before things eventually flamed out. I can't even remember why they did, but I know much of it was me looking for someone closer to my own age to hang out with. Looking back, I wish I could go back in time and smack my younger self around for being incredibly stupid. I mean, come on, I was a naive 18 year old and she was a hot, 23 year old with her own place!

I'm 33 now, so this was all about 15 years ago. I occasionally think back to her and the whole "first girlfriend" thing when something reminds me of it, but that's pretty rare. About 10 years ago, I moved here to Wisconsin with my fiance (who's now my wife). My parents still live in Sedalia and despite moving, I still try to keep up with what's going on back in my home town by occasionally checking out the local newspaper's web site.

Today, I go out and check the site and am looking around at some archived stories when BAM...there she is. I literally have not seen her in 15 years like I said, rarely even think much about that time, so it's a weird rush of memories coming back. She still looks alright, but now she's 38, which just seems old to me all of a sudden.

Just a really strange feeling.

Anyone else have stories like this?

ModSocks
07-13-2010, 02:57 PM