PDA

View Full Version : Food and Drink Smoker Advice

Bill Lundberg
10-15-2010, 03:19 PM
A little over a year ago I bought a Brinkman Gourmet Electric smoker to tinker with Smoking BBQ. My intention was to go cheap and see if it kept my interest before upgrading to a better smoker.

Well, it kept my interest and I'm ready to upgrade. I'm not able to spend more than $500 at this point but was wondering what is the best value for my $$ at this point. I think I'd like to go charcoal from here on out.

What do the BBQ Guru's recommend for a solid smoker with a price tag under $500?

I've heard nothing but good things about the Weber Smokey Mountain. A friend has a pellet smoker that he thoroughly enjoys, but I don't know if I could find one of those in the price range.

ModSocks
10-15-2010, 03:31 PM
IMO, an expensive smoker isn't neccessary. If you make great food with a cheap one, stick to your cheap one.

But, i'm a noob and I smoke w/ a Charcoal grill...so...

Bill Lundberg
10-15-2010, 03:35 PM
IMO, an expensive smoker isn't neccessary. If you make great food with a cheap one, stick to your cheap one.

But, i'm a noob and I smoke w/ a Charcoal grill...so...

While I agree, the ability to hold a steady and consistent temperature is important. Mine isn't really doing so, it's tough to get it to 225-250 and damn near impossible to keep it there. It's got way too wide a gap where the lid fits the barrel.

Fire Me Boy!
10-15-2010, 03:43 PM
I don't know what the brand is, but I got a smoker with a firebox for about $250. The thing is rock solid and holds a good temp. I got it at Sam's, and it's like quarter-inch steel. I also use a couple 12-sq-in patio stones in the bottom for heat retention.

You don't need to spend a ton to find something good.

Stewie
10-15-2010, 03:58 PM